We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (390)
Filter reviews
390 results
Traveller rating
167
163
38
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
163
38
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews valet parking state street great location quiet hours historic hotel historic elevator heart of downtown boutique style within walking distance continental breakfast beautiful lobby central location an older hotel shops and restaurants valet service main street comfortable bed
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 390 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Excellent location to stay to enjoy all of Santa Barbara. Centrally located and near all restaurants and shops, beach, and an incredible playground for children. The room was clean and we had a cot for our daughter. Everyone was comfortable and enjoyed the complimentary breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSB, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you for staying with us Lisa and for your review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our central location and breakfast. Please come stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

We paid over $ 300 for a room and when we got there, the lady in the front desk was very rude, talking on the phone while ignoring us. Once we were able to get her attention, we learnt that the room was not ready. We made the reservation at least 2 months ago and the service we got wasn't at all what we expected for the price that we paid.

Moreover, once we got into the room, we noticed that the room was very small and the closet was super small too. I have pictures to prove this.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Romie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSB, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear Romie – Thank you for your comments. We agree that all of our guests deserve a warm welcome and I apologize that you didn’t receive one when you arrived. We will be sure to share your observations in our ongoing training. Our historic hotel has a variety of room rates and sizes. We hope you will give us another chance to give you the great service you deserve. If you return feel free to message me and refer to this review and I’ll make sure you’re upgraded to the best room available. Please email me at jjacobs@hotelsantabarbara.com. Best, Jennie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

An older hotel with a Mission style set in the heart of State street and surrounded by shops, restaurants, cafes and bars. You escape the hustle and bustle as you enter the ornate Spanish style lobby. Checking in is a breeze, and the valet, Justin, is very helpful. Rooms are on the small side, only to be expected in an older property, but clean, tasteful and with very comfortable beds. You are also nicely insulated from the hustle and bustle of the street. The only negatives I have are that the included breakfast is a bit limited and there is no pool. I'd stay again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSB, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear Marc,
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad that you enjoyed our hotel, location, and the service. Please come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

Nice room, good service in general specially the valet, clean, it worth it! Also is very close both to beach and downtown ... so you don't need to use the car. Don't think twice , if the price by night is lower than $250...

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jorge D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSB, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Hello Jorge D! Thank you so much for your feedback. We will be sure to let the valet know you appreciated their service. And we agree! Hotel SB is a great place to stay if travel car free! (we are within walking distance to the Amtrak station as well!) We hope to have you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Like many others we chose this hotel for its excellent location. The room was quite good with decent furnishings, drawers and wardrobe and fridge but nowhere to put our two rather large suitcases so we had to put them on the floor. The robes were nice, the room had good lighting but a miserable outlook of the roof area of an adjacent building with large air conditioning units and aerials. The bathroom was rather cramped and old fashioned but fairly functional.

The continental breakfast served in the lobby area was surprisingly good with extras such as yoghurt available on request.

We found the valet parking, whilst efficient and fairly priced for Santa Barbara far less convenient than traditional hotel car parks, but a fair deal for a city centre. Our room air conditioning did not work properly either too hot or too cold and we should have told the hotel about it at the time.

The antique elevator was very slow and we only used it once to take our cases up to our room. When we checked out it was out of order but the valet parking man very kindly came up and took our large cases down for us.

In general we were happy with our choice of hotel taking into consideration the wonderful location and the price but little things seemed penny pinching like providing one keurig pod per person per day and charging $1 for each additional pod, and the hotel could certainly use some updating, especially the bathrooms..

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Bob-a-JobSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSB, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Thank you. As an independent operator of this downtown property we appreciate your thoughtful comments which are very helpful as we work to create the best guest experience. We’re excited to share that we are currently in the design phase for updated guest bathrooms! We hope you’ll enjoy the changes next time you visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews