We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique style hotel - perfect location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Santa Barbara
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2016

The Hotel Santa Barbara is located in the heart of downtown. Beautiful, bright, updated rooms in a historic building situated within walking distance of many shops and restaurants. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Good choices at the complimentary breakfast. As a woman traveling solo, I research the area of hotels for safety and convenience. After looking at other hotel choices in Santa Barbara, I am happy I made the decision to stay at the Hotel SB.

Stayed: February 2016
Thank Scooter530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

160 - 164 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2016

The Santa Barbara is a charming hotel centrally located in downtown on State Street. Easy walking distance to the pier and shopping. The hotel is clean and accommodating with a wonderful staff. The free continental breakfast is a perfect way to start a busy day. Acoustics made the hotel a tad noisy at times, but all in all we were very satisfied with the choice we made as we tend to stay in only 4-5 star hotels as a seasoned traveler.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2016

As a senior couple who reached Santa Barbara by Amtrak, we were pleased by the easy walk to the hotel (about five blocks), by the comprehensible TV system (not geared mainly to selling movies), by the wide choice of restaurants nearby, by the continuing availability of coffee in the lobby, and also by the intriguing historic photos of Santa Barbara in rooms and along corridors. In all, the hotel seemed more centered on guest convenience than profit-center efficiency, a welcome emphasis.

Room Tip: I've read that rooms facing the parking lot are quieter than rooms facing State Street. We had o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Palmer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2016

Hotel Santa Barbara was a wonderful experience. I was in Santa Barbara for a couple days doing business and chose this hotel because of the location and decent reviews. It exceeded my expectations. The building was beautiful and had great decor and very polite staff. The guest room was a little small but very clean and comfortable. Valet parking was affordable with nice service. Complimentary continental breakfast featuring nice pastries/fruits/cereals and coffee.

Right outside the building is plenty of shops and restaurants, including historic State St.

I can't wait to return to Santa Barbara again soon and will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2016 via mobile

Perfect location in downtown Santa Barbara within walking distance of shops, restaurants and bars. Valet parking also available. Nice and quiet rooms despite central location. Highly recommendable for couples who want to be in the centre of Santa Barbara.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Eva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.9 km away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
505 reviews
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
2.3 km away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,102 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
#28 of 52 in Santa Barbara
519 reviews
0.7 km away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Barbara

Address: 533 State St, corner of State and Cota Streets, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-1601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range: €157 - €252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Barbara 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Santa Barbara, where the atmosphere is alive and the options are endless. Be our guest and discover the personal service and incomparable downtown location that is Hotel Santa Barbara. Experience world-class shopping, fine dining, theaters, galleries, entertainment, great beaches, and so much more...all within walking distance of our front doors. Downtown Santa Barbara beckons from this beautifully restored Spanish/Mediterranean-style hotel mingling historic charm and contemporary comfort. Valet Parking (overnight fee) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing