We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (390)
Filter reviews
390 results
Traveller rating
167
163
38
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
163
38
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews valet parking state street great location quiet hours historic hotel historic elevator heart of downtown boutique style within walking distance continental breakfast beautiful lobby central location an older hotel shops and restaurants valet service main street comfortable bed
Filter
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 390 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2016

The Santa Barbara is a charming hotel centrally located in downtown on State Street. Easy walking distance to the pier and shopping. The hotel is clean and accommodating with a wonderful staff. The free continental breakfast is a perfect way to start a busy day. Acoustics made the hotel a tad noisy at times, but all in all we were very satisfied with the choice we made as we tend to stay in only 4-5 star hotels as a seasoned traveler.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2016

As a senior couple who reached Santa Barbara by Amtrak, we were pleased by the easy walk to the hotel (about five blocks), by the comprehensible TV system (not geared mainly to selling movies), by the wide choice of restaurants nearby, by the continuing availability of coffee in the lobby, and also by the intriguing historic photos of Santa Barbara in rooms and along corridors. In all, the hotel seemed more centered on guest convenience than profit-center efficiency, a welcome emphasis.

Room Tip: I've read that rooms facing the parking lot are quieter than rooms facing State Street. We had one of the former, and it was quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Palmer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2016

Hotel Santa Barbara was a wonderful experience. I was in Santa Barbara for a couple days doing business and chose this hotel because of the location and decent reviews. It exceeded my expectations. The building was beautiful and had great decor and very polite staff. The guest room was a little small but very clean and comfortable. Valet parking was affordable with nice service. Complimentary continental breakfast featuring nice pastries/fruits/cereals and coffee.

Right outside the building is plenty of shops and restaurants, including historic State St.

I can't wait to return to Santa Barbara again soon and will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2016 via mobile

Perfect location in downtown Santa Barbara within walking distance of shops, restaurants and bars. Valet parking also available. Nice and quiet rooms despite central location. Highly recommendable for couples who want to be in the centre of Santa Barbara.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank evabY3993DD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2016

We are fairly regular visitors to SB. There are not a lot of "chain" hotels in SB, like Westins, Ritz Carlton's, JW Marriott's, etc. Mostly boutique type hotels. The Four Seasons is always out of the question because it's just too much, usually around $1,000/night. The Fess Parker was a disaster. We did like the Kimpton Canary very much but at $500 night, that's too much. We noticed the Hotel SB walking by on State Street (Starbucks on the ground floor) and we decided to give it a try. $250/night and good, almost as good as the Canary but half the price. Given that we don't spend much time in the room when we visit SB, it was more than adequate.

Very comfortable bed and nicely appointed but a little rough around the edges. But that is to be expected in old buildings. The bathroom was small but workable. We didn't hear any noise from adjoining rooms or rooms above or below us. There is an elevator but we used the stairs. Parking is right behind the hotel and the internet was free and worked well.

Hotel SB is in the middle of the downtown part of the city, with all of the shopping and the wharf a 10 minute walk away.

So, for an affordable stay in Santa Barbara, I can recommend this hotel. When we go back, we might try some of the other boutique hotels (not the Hotel Indigo - right next to the train tracks). But this hotel is definitely on the list for future stays.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank CirruslyAloft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews