We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel excellence”
Review of Montecito Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Montecito Inn
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2017

Unlike American large chain hotels, the Montecito Inn and its staff make the guest feel the quality experience
of the hospitality industry. Living part time in Europe I only stay in high level boutique hotels and the Montecito Inn is certainly in the same league. I look forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KathleenFanoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 244 of 1,104 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2017

This hotel was the best I stayed in during my road trip. Beautiful atmosphere and the hotel was quiet and relaxing with great amenities! The staff was very friendly and helpful regarding recommendations on things to do in the area!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank keleishaw2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

i hope that the front desk has friendlier people, they were not rude but they didn't smile or greet us like we are accustomed to. I just came back from a trip to Georgia and South Carolina and the staff at the hotels were very friendly,they made you feel so welcomed

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

I've been staying here for over 20+ years. This is where a lot of my rockstar buddies and I would meet and have family get togethers, drinks and what not. Heck, who doesn't want to stay in Charlie Chaplin's old house? I know I do.

I was bummed this trip to find out that the bar and restaurant were closed. They're such an integral part of the hotel. No biggy though because right across the street is Los Arroyos which is some of the best Mexican food around. Across from them at a diagonal is The Honor Bar. You can't go wrong with a Hillstone restaurant. Just a few feet from Honor Bar is Jeannine's American Bakery, which is the best spot in town for breakfast.

I tend to stay away from State Street and what not because that' all touristy stuff but the wife has never been so I showed her around. Currently State Street from the Wharf to 101 Fwy is under construction so it's not great right now. This is May 2017. That doesn't mean you can't still go.

The rooms have been remodeled since I was last here. They look great and the bed, pillows and everything else in the room was spot on. Love it.

The pool at the Inn is still as good as ever but the Inn is going through some remodeling right now. So bring your patience. Other than that the staff is on it and a delight. It's a winner every time.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stef S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

This is a mixed review because I stayed in a regular room my first night and upgraded to a luxury room the second night. The regular rooms have an odd smell of cleaning solution, are noisy (you can hear everything through the walls), and in my opinion are not a good value for the price you pay.
I highly recommend their luxury rooms though, there were absolutely no complaints, large clean rooms, definitely a good value for the price.
Overall, despite the differences in the rooms, the staff was amazing, very friendly, accommodating, and helpful. I will definitely be going back to stay in a luxury room again.
P.S. The cafe was closed during our stay, which was kind of a bummer, hopefully they get it up and running soon, would have been nice to be able to order room service.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
4.9 km away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
505 reviews
5.7 km away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,102 reviews
5.3 km away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 km away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
173 reviews
5.2 km away
Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Santa Barbara
#25 of 52 in Santa Barbara
342 reviews
6.3 km away
The Upham Hotel & Country House
The Upham Hotel & Country House
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montecito Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecito Inn

Address: 1295 Coast Village Rd., Santa Barbara, CA 93108-2791
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#18 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: €123 - €327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Montecito Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
January 10, 2018: Due to flash flooding as a result of the Thomas Fire, the Montecito area is in a state of emergency, and the hotel is currently evacuated. The Montecito Inn was built in 1928 by screen legend Charlie Chaplin as an escape to paradise for his closest friends. Enriched with influences reminiscent of early Santa Barbara, guest rooms are a reflection of the Montecito Inn's proud history and tradition. Bedrooms decorated with classic patterns and furnishings in warm earth tones and bathrooms adorned with hand-painted ceramic tile create an elegant ambiance. The Montecito Inn offers the perfect blend of classic style, comfort, convenience, and personalized service. Wake up in the morning to a continental breakfast served in the hotel's restaurant, the Montecito Cafe, or have it delivered to your door. Enjoy lunch and dinner at the Montecito Cafe, a local favorite, which boasts an exquisite California Nouveau cuisine. Other fine dining is also available only a walk away. Relax by the pool and Jacuzzi, or walk only 2.5 Blocks to the beach. Also enjoy the day in Montecito, one of America's most beautiful seaside communities, with boutique shopping. Featuring 61 Elegant Guest Rooms & Luxury Suites, the Montecito Inn offers all of the quality, service and elegance that Santa Barbara has to offer. Our staff is waiting to help satisfy your every desire. Today, the escape is yours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Montecito Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecito Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing