We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (700)
Filter reviews
700 results
Traveller rating
378
210
74
26
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
378
210
74
26
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscountry houseoreoslouie's restaurantwine and cheeseadirondack chairsstate streetcalifornia bistrocrackersoreo cookiecookies and milktwo blockscontinental breakfastthe main househard boiled eggsyogurtthe main draggrounds are beautiful
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 700 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2018

I love this place. Big rooms, comfortable bed, great service, old-school charm. My only issue was lugging my heavy suitcase up the stairs. There is a bellman but he was busy. I enjoyed my stay here very much and would return any time.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018

This place was perfect for a girls get away! Room was really clean and bathroom was spotless! Loved having our own patio! The charming yard with chairs and a secret garden, gazebo and outdoor setting. Coffee and tea and water all day and night also a nice light breakfast. A short walk to State street where you can eat, shop or take in a movie. About 5 minute drive to the beach. And for those whom still smoke a space is available in the back.

Room Tip: We picked the smallest and least expensive one .
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018

We stayed at the Upham Hotel, Sta. Barbara, and loved it. It's very centrally located, allowing us to park the car and walk or take the shuttle all over the city. There's lots of parking on the hotel grounds and it's free. The hotel itself is lovely with a beautiful garden and grounds. The room was very comfortable, with great air conditioning (it was over 100 outside but cool in the room). The room was nicely appointed, including t.v. & wifi. The hotel personnel were very gracious. We will definitely stay there next time we visit Sta. Barbara.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BevCab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018

The Upham is very well situated... just 2 blocks to State Street (the main street of Santa Barbara)... it is cottage-like, clean and welcoming... it is a great choice !!! We certainly will return...There is a happy hour with cheese, wine and lemonade... the breakfast is complete with bagels, scones, coffee cakes and danish pastries as well as oatmeal... all beautifully presented.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank alesquire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

The Upham is a stylish rambling inn with classic architecture, delightful outdoor seating areas and beautifully kept grounds. Located uptown two blocks back from State Street, the hotel exudes a classic old school CA ambience. Staff go out of their way to make guests welcome and the hotel serves a great continental breakfast and organizes a fun happy hour with local wines each afternoon. Parking is tight, but sufficient. The property is 2 miles back from the beach so a bit of a hike... but a very nice one!

Room Tip: upstairs in main building is lovely
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AKDut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews