We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Perfection”
Review of Simpson House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Simpson House Inn
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I think the Simpson House is still perfect, after all these years. I usually stay in the most modest room in the Inn, with the bathroom across the hall (belonging to the visitor in that room only). Since I read the reviews I can think of two improvements needed; one is better lighting for reading in the bed or the room. The other is that one item of the hors d'oevres was less than tasty. I've never had the pleasure of saying any one place was absolutely perfect (well, maybe one), but the Simpson House comes the closest for gracious, lovely, comfortable, guest-oriented hospitality with delicious food and accommodations I have ever enjoyed. It is refined, quiet, tasteful, and the veranda and grounds are beautiful and peaceful. I will return again and again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

424 - 428 of 579 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2012

There was a time when the Simpson House was perfect. The rooms where charming, the cocktail hour & breakfast were amazing and although quite pricy, well worth it. We went back time and again for a very special weekend away.
When my husbands big birthday was coming around our daughter flew in from N.Y. and we all met at the S.H. They put us in small rooms, hiked up the prices and cocktail hour was just okay. Going vegetarian did not improve the food but had it lacking in taste. We asked if we could be upgraded & they said no. Okay, but we noticed the place was pretty empty. Now we know way.
It was so elegant, now it's just an overpriced place to stay.

Room Tip: The better rooms will cost you more than they used to but the cabin style are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ZOE236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simpsonhouseinn121, Manager at Simpson House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2012

These guests should have been OFFERED an upgrade. If circumstances do not permit a full complimentary upgrade then we are happy to offer one at a nominal charge subject to availability.
After staying in the more spacious Carriage House at a special rate we understand that the accommodations in the Victorian Estate Home would seem small and pricey.
We have been an vegetarian Inn since we opened in 1985.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We've stayed at many B&Bs but this was far and away the best. Service, food, surroundings and the staff were above and beyond. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the cottages. Surprisingly very spacious. Hard to believe you're not out in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobbyGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Weather Vane room at the Simpson House March 23-25, 2012 and it changed our minds about our future travel plans: we will look for B&Bs instead of hotels in the future. We got so much for our travel dollar: free WiFi, gourmet breakfast, daily wine & treats, nightly desserts, a welcome bottle of local wine, beautiful grounds and great location. Our room had a wood burning fireplace, skylights, large screen TV with DVR & NetFlix. We've stayed at 5 star hotels (not cheap) and still were nickel & dimed for WiFi, breakfast, to use the on-site fitness center! Unbelievable!! Not for us anymore. Thanks Simpson House for a great weekend!!

Room Tip: Weather Vane Room is upstairs in the old Carriage House and has been completely redone: insulated, n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoCalGirlSouthBay_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Recently we stayed at the Simpson House Inn.
The staff is excellent. The gardens are lovely.
The food is average.
We were disappointed overall for the price we paid.
Our room was not very bright during the day.
A bright security light came in through the shutters which made sleeping less comfortable.
The sofa and chair needed to have their cushions re-stuffed.
It was a BIG anniversary for us and so we had high expectations of what a $555 (including tax) room per night would be like. When I booked I mentioned it was our Big Anniversary.
We have stayed at several B & B's over the years and had many wonderful experiences.
We will opt for a nice hotel next time we stay in the Santa Barbara area.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs will have more sunlight. Our room was rather dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank C E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simpsonhouseinn121, Manager at Simpson House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2012

We truly appreciate our guests who post reviews. Not so glowing reviews keep us on our toes!! It is our opportunity to assess how we can improve each & every guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.1 km away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,281 reviews
1.1 km away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,104 reviews
2.5 km away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#20 of 52 in Santa Barbara
509 reviews
1.2 km away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,075 reviews
3.5 km away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpson House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpson House Inn

Address: 121 E Arrellaga St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-1903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: €275 - €450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Simpson House Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your Simpson House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simpson House Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing