We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and Fine” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn San Simeon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quality Inn San Simeon
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Affordable and Fine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

The Quality Inn San Simeon is your standard chain motel. The room is average size, clean, and has a comfortable bed, small refrigerator and microwave. Guests can also eat a small complimentary breakfast buffet every morning. The motel is located a few miles down the road from Hearst Castle, but there is not much else around the area except for some other hotels right along the same strip of highway. We were only doing a one night stay after touring the castle, so it met our needs. We would recommend it to anyone whose situation is similar.

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RItraveler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    72
    74
    33
    34
See reviews for
82
107
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, CA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

This motel is a budget option for this area. It is located across Highway 1 away from the ocean and is an old (though remodeled) property. A few upper story rooms have ocean views, if you look across the parking lot, rooftops, highway, and power lines. If you want a romantic inn with fireplace and homebaked goodies, this isn't it. If you want to spend your money on something other than housing, this could be a decent choice. The breakfast was pretty low end, with hard fruit and stale store muffins. We checked it out and went elsewhere. We were two minutes from Moonstone Beach in Cambria and about five minutes from downtown Cambria, where we spent most of our time. Not much to do in San Simeon after you've seen Hearst Castle, but Cambria is charming, with lots of art galleries, restaurants, shops, and the glorious boardwalk at Moonstone Beach.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trvlwhenican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Nothing special about this motel but the location, near Hearst Castle, is very convenient. We chose it as having the best facilities and being the cheapest of the bunch at the same location. The bonus was the on site restaurant which was excellent!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Selva Beach
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

We originally discovered the Quality Inn at San Simeon when they were the El Rey Garden Inn, advertised in Sunset magazine. We first went there for our fifth wedding anniversary (31 years ago). We stay there often because we like a jacuzzi bathtub for my Fibromyalgia symptoms. We've always stayed in their king deluxe room with an in-room jacuzzi bathtub and separate room with double fireplace. A couple of years ago they gutted this room when they started renovations on the hotel and we stayed in the room next door which has a larger than normal jacuzzi bathtub in the bathroom and is big enough for the two of us. This year for our 36th anniversary we elected to stay in the newly renovated king deluxe room. We like the suite because I go to bed much earlier than my husband and he could stay up and watch TV in the other room (although this TV remote was missing).

The decor isn't that special even though it is now pretty, dark wood and has newer dressers, nice tile floors and new shower and toilet (loud noisy flush) components. The bed was very firm so I was glad I brought my mattress topper. The bed linens were clean and adequate but not top end like some hotels we've stayed at. There is no fan in the room but all rooms have a sliding door that opens to the outside cool air. There is a fountain at the end of the center courtyard which is very nice to listen to and sit beside. The TVs are not newer but at least large enough and there are no DVD players or IPOD hookups anywhere. The in-room jacuzzi is huge, could fit about four people comfortably so we float around a lot. The overflow cover fell off into the tub and was gross inside and we couldn't put it back on. However, the water was hot and plentiful, there are lots of towels (nicely displayed) and complimentary soaps and conditioners.

The continental breakfast is similar to many hotels, cold cereal, oatmeal packets, waffle maker, toast, bagels and sweet rolls. The only fruit were green hard apples (no bananas or fruit salad mix). No protein of any form except the cream cheese (they have in years past had hard-boiled eggs at least). Coffee, tea, orange and apple juice, milk to drink.

They have a very small inside room which was not large enough to hold all the guests trying to eat, when it's nice weather they can host it outside by the outside jacuzzi and pool, but there are trays and you can take your food outside or to your room, which we elected to do. There are microwaves and refrigerators in the rooms and a coffee maker (even though our room for the price had no sugar packets or stirring utensils).

There is a vending machine in the hallway with a few snacks, but there is also a store within walking distance for other snacks and drinks. It's also only five miles away from Cambria where there are plenty of stores and great restaurants. There is a restaurant next door (we declined as my husband does not like seafood) and there are many more just across the street (actually the highway so drive instead of walking). Many restaurants take reservations in Cambria so call and check first or you might not get into choice as it is a busy small town.

This was October and the local businesses had scarecrows out everywhere, but not your typical scarecrows. These were tailored to their business (dentists, cheerleaders, teacher, nuns and priest, along with the usual scarecrow type figures, and all have a blackbird theme). Fun to drive up and down the streets and check them all out. It was fun and festive.

Would we stay here again? Yes. Would we prefer a bit more for the money? Yes, we have stayed at other places for the same price and had better commodities. They are very pleasant, and I always recommend you call the hotel directly to get the best prices.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schmidtmba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

This is a good basic hotel. The rooms were clean and tidy, the shower had plenty of hot water - although the toilet had a hair trigger flush mechanism which was a bit scary at first.
We ate dinner in the restaurant attached. Good food, reasonable prices and nice wine. Friendly staff.

HOWEVER: As we were getting ready to check out a housekeeper knocked briefly on the door and walked straight in before I had a chance to respond. I notified reception when we checked out and was told they are supposed to knock and wait, but this didn't happen. This is completely unacceptable! Receptionist did not really seem to care but got annoyed when I said I would put it on tripadvisor.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frothygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.2 km away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,539 reviews
0.2 km away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#3 of 10 in San Simeon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
0.2 km away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#8 of 10 in San Simeon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Days Inn San Simeon
Days Inn San Simeon
#7 of 10 in San Simeon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
3.9 km away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#12 of 12 in Cambria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
4.5 km away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn San Simeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn San Simeon

Property: Quality Inn San Simeon
Address: 9260 Castillo Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9748 (Formerly El Rey Garden Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn San Simeon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Quality Inn San Simeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn San Simeon Hotel San Simeon
San Simeon Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing