We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing French Toast!! Best I Have Ever had!”

Theresa & Johnny's Comfort Food
Ranked #6 of 256 Restaurants in San Rafael
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

If you see a line, WAIT!!We were on a Road Trip, we decided to stop in San Rafael for brunch. While waiting to be seated, a woman told us "you must order the French Toast". I took her advice, (I normally would make a healthier choice)...the fat, carbs and calories were well worth it and I would do it again! Grateful, I do not live close by!!! I would be there too much. It is the best! Staff is friendly, helpful and they crank the food out. This is one of those rare places, where everything looked great and you HAVE TO TRY THE FRENCH TOAST! It is Texas Toast with an egg batter and deep fried..decadent

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank Greta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2017

And good lunch too. Love the coffee, grits, eggs, pancakes, you name it! The atmosphere is funky and fun, and the staff is great. There can be long waits on weekends but I would rather wait then eat anyplace else. Cash on,y, but they have an ATM.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cphym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Lots of kitsch-y stuff on the walls, that's kind of their thing. I've always found the food to be mediocre, used to go every weekend when I was trying really hard to like this place (weekend breakfast is a long tradition of mine). Their menu feels like they just have no idea what's going on - fried chicken & waffles, but the fried chicken is extra extra extra crispy. "Grits" that are really just drippy oatmeal with a slice of american cheese on top. Etc, etc.

Also, don't bother going if you're thinking about going on your own. They try to put all parties of 1 at their counter, regardless of how empty the restaurant is. Pro Tip: If you're taller than 5'5" you don't want to sit at their counter. If you refuse the counter (which you'll have to say four or five times) expect to be seated after any larger group that comes in, whether or not they got there before you. Also expect them to be irritated at you the whole time.

Just a big pass. Take the time to drive to Bogie's cafe one exit north, or pop over to Lundy's a few blocks west. Go to Johnny Donuts for award-winning donuts. Just don't spend your money here.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dgunderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Unique atmosphere...interesting decor...small yet spacious somehow! Inviting and homey with great servers. Not the healthiest options knocked it down a star for me...but...that's a personal preference! Excellent teas! A long standing and beloved spot.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank Joan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016

We drive down from Santa Rosa just to eat here. Every thing we have tried has been excellent. The portions are huge. The specials are always interesting, a new twist on the familiar. Come hungry!

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Theresa & Johnny's Comfort Food also viewed

San Rafael, Marin County
San Rafael, Marin County
 
San Rafael, Marin County
San Rafael, Marin County
 

Been to Theresa & Johnny's Comfort Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing