We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveller rating
17
52
87
63
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
52
87
63
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviews travel lodge four nights non smoking would stay here again one night stay countertop stopover
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 288 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2018

This property is not for us, and probably not for you. Unlike the description or the pictures provided on the internet, the location entrance is directly across the street from the freeway, and is adjacent to a gas station and several auto mechanic repair bays, with homeless people about. The hotel is two stories on a small and narrow lot stuffed with approximately 30 rooms and barely adequate parking. Our room was tiny, the towels were old, the sinks and shower tubs and furnishings were old, and the cover sheet at the base of the bed was stained. When we first arrived, the water to our room had been shut off for repairs, and remained off for over two hours. As a result, we were late in getting ready for a rehearsal dinner that evening.

Breakfast was a joke. No dining area. Juice machine did not work. Found some coffee down the street.

Our second night was worse. We returned from a wedding around 10:30 p.m. Around 11:00 pm, we heard a loud commotion coming from a small area outside and across from the manager's office. We waited an hour and then called the manager. He stated that he was aware of the loud noise, that he had already received complaints and talked to the guests, and that there was nothing else he could do. If we wanted to call the police, that was ok with him. Called the police at around 1:00 am. The loud commotion finally subsided shortly after 2:00 am.

A hotel room next to the freeway with poor management and tiny rooms in disrepair for $142 per night is not what was represented in the description or in the photos on the internet, and is not for us. Never again.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank alfredr65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge by Wyndham San Rafael, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Hi Alfred, We are sorry that you were disappointed with our hotel, and that it did not meet your expectations. It appears that our hotel was not particularly suitable for your accommodation requirements. We appreciate your review, many thanks, and we are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us more. Best wishes, Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

The hotel was okay... the air conditioning did not work all that well, and the room was small. It was clean and everything one would need was there. The check-in was not the friendliest. It is close to everything - San Rafael and 101.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge by Wyndham San Rafael, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Hi Charles, Thank you for your feedback; we are pleased that in the main, our hotel was suitable for your needs and met your expectations. Providing a clean room is a priority for us, and we are pleased that the standard of cleanliness that we maintain was so evident to you. We appreciate your comments, and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel when you are next in town. Best wishes, Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

I originally booked this hotel because of the Wyndham name association and needed to stay someplace with my daughter after a long day of travel. Don't let the name fool you!

We arrived at 9:30pm and was not allowed in the lobby to check in. The management addresses the safety of the hotel, but yet will not let a mom/daughter into the lobby to check in, instead we stood in the driveway (while cars squeezed by us )checking into our overwhelmingly musty room. When we asked for another room we were given another without issue, but the second room was just as disappointing.

We stayed for 30 minutes. The main reason we left was the concern for our safety - no lobby at 9:30 pm?! Even the management doesn't trust the location. Room doors open directly to an extremely small parking lot with a lot of cross traffic through the parking lot.

It is overpriced and under managed. No money is put back into maintenance of the property at all. Unfortunately I did not take any photos as I was immediately on my phone trying to book another hotel.

Safe travels.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge by Wyndham San Rafael, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Hi Amanda, We appreciate your candid and detailed feedback, many thanks. We are very sorry that you were so unhappy with your room, and that you did not feel that it was appropriate for your needs. We appreciate your review, many thanks, and we are sorry that you chose not to stay with us. Best wishes, Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

I see from some reviews that people have commented on the rudness of the lady on the front desk.....I got that impression too when we checked in but if you take the time to chat with her you will find she actually has a sense of humour and is kind and helpful. We enjoyed our 2 day stay, Wifi was great, so much better than the hit and miss Wifi in many other motels. Surprisingly quiet with its closeness to the freeway, well priced, bed was comfortable, room and property clean and well maintained, good shower...breakfast is basic but in saying that its pretty much the same as many places we have stayed charging twice the price....I would stay here again.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camaronz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge by Wyndham San Rafael, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2018

Hi Camaron, Thank you for your candid feedback, we are pleased that you noticed the sense of humor that our front desk team member has. We are pleased to have hosted you so successfully on this occasion, and we hope to do so many more times in the future. Best wishes, Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

A reasonably priced motel in pleasant San Rafael, rooms are clean, it is difficult to find a parking spot near the premises, staff was not very friendly, but considered the late night arrival, acceptable. Location near 101 highway, quite noisy but acceptable

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank delta595959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge by Wyndham San Rafael, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently, and for taking the time to leave your review - we are happy that you report having a pleasant stay with us. We are known for our professional and friendly staff, as well as the fantastic service that we offer our guests, and we are very disappointed that this aspect of your stay was somewhat unsatisfactory for you. We will ensure that our team are aware of your comments, and that they endeavor to ensure that each guest has the positive experience that we aim to provide. Thank you for your constructive feedback, we appreciate your comments, and we hope to welcome you back when you are next in town. Best wishes, Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews