We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant surprise at a great price!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sands Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sands Inn & Suites
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise at a great price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

My grown daughter and I spent one night here while visiting my younger daughter at Cal Poly. We were very happy with our stay. We had a King suite upstairs called the President's Suite.:) Quite spacious! Huge bedroom with a sliding door. Decent sized living room with a wet bar. It's pet friendly, too!

The pool area is very nice and inviting. We sat out there before dinner since it was a gorgeous day.

The front staff is so friendly and helpful. The one thing they admitted needed fixing is the WiFi. Unfortunately, I was not able to get it on my iPad except down near the office, but then it disappeared. I hope they fix that soon! I really do like my Facebook! :)

The breakfast room and patio were wonderful. They served a nice more-than-continental breakfast which included some hot items, as well as the usual fruit, cereal, scones, coffee, etc. I didn't care for the Sunny Delight-type "juice", though. :) I prefer real orange or grape.

All in all, if I could continue to get a room of this caliber for a low rate, I will definitely stay again! It's a little hidden gem close to everything! Just get that WiFi fixed, please! :)

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to the pool area. Ours was upstairs at the end next to a service station, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2leashes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    98
    58
    18
    19
See reviews for
86
94
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

This hotel was well placed for us as a stopover on a Coast drive, staff were friendly and the motel style layout was acceptable for us. The rooms are quite large and comfortable. i would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonr78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
687 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Easy to find with a lot of great small eating places nearby, and wonderful help from the people at the reception desk to find them. Best seafood chowder in California is about 100 yards down the road.

Room Tip: Didn't need to ask - were very happy with the one we got
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Narziss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

Stayed here based on reviews, and we were not disapointed.The room was very clean and well maintained. The front staff that we had contact with was young and very helpful and knowledgeable. We hope to stay again !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1cinderella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

The Sands Inn & Suites gets a Very Good rating from us because of the service, the price, and the location. It is clean, the staff is very helpful, the pool and spa were terrific, and the ease of getting everywhere we wanted to go was great (Pismo, Avila, Morro, Cayucos, etc.). Hotel prices in the ocean-front towns were too high for our 5-day trip. Staying at the Sands in San Luis was a much more reasonable option, especially with the free breakfast, free DVDs, and because we were able to take advantage of a special rate offer. If you want a reasonably priced, family friendly place, you'll like the Sands.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DancinB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.3 km away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.2 km away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.0 km away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
0.1 km away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#15 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.1 km away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Inn & Suites

Property: Sands Inn & Suites
Address: 1930 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2616
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sands Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Sands Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Inn And Suites
Sands Hotel San Luis Obispo
Sands San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing