We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The check in almost ruined the trip!”
Review of Madonna Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Madonna Inn
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The check in almost ruined the trip!”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

My boyfriend and I came to the Madonna Inn the day after Valentine's Day. We are not familiar with the area and were a bit lost so we called the hotel to ask for a little help. The first time we called the girl rudely told my boyfriend she didn't know what street we were on and hung up on him. The second time he asked for driving directions she stated they didn't have driving directions! Really? No directions to your hotel. When we got there you would have expected a place that gets most of it's revenue from people coming from outside the area, to have welcomed their guests with plenty of information about the inn because most likely guests don't know about hotel. Well the same girl who told us she couldn't help us get to the property, also just gave us our keys didn't welcome us, didn't tell us about any of the spa or restaurant times, nor any other amenities provided by the Madonna Inn. Due to that check in experience my boyfriend and I were going to check out the next day we were not impressed by a place that markets it self as a get away for couples, it seemed to us more like a motel. Then when we got to the room due to the fact the girl at check in did not tell us anything I called to ask about room service, it was her again. When I asked it was like I was bothering her with questions, she shortly answered and hung up. I went to bed very upset my boyfriend had put down such a large Deposit for such a poor experience. The next day really turned around the food is amazing, Sue in the wine market was nice, knowledgable and actually showed the kind of service we paid for. Kelsey and Danielle really did a wonderful job in the spa and the steakhouse server at our dinner was superb. Basically the girl at check in should either consider a new career path or spend a day learning about hospitality because she is a terrible reflection of a wonderful hotel. If I was a front desk manager I would be worried about leaving that girl alone, she almost lost a customer for the Madonna Inn.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenHooton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe_Forgette, Front Office Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear guest. We value all our guests’ comments and appreciate your feedback which have been forwarded to the appropriate departments. We do apologize that your stay was less the memorable as the service you experienced is not up to The Madonna Inn standard. However, we are thrilled that you were able to experience our Steakhouse, Spa and Wine Cellar. We do hope that you will join us again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    709
    505
    214
    81
    63
See reviews for
433
737
27
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Huge, funky rooms, excellent parking and amenities. Excellent for couples!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mm83si
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Hueneme, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2012

The Modonna Inn is one of those places you put on the "I need to do that at least once" list. The rooms were very nice but needed some updating. The pillows were not pillows just a bunch of hard balls. (I think maybe original from opening day).And the beds are very hard. But we enjoyed the unique styles of the rooms. But what ever you do DO NOT EAT AT THE RESTAURANT! Way over priced for what you get. I have no problem payed good money for quality food but the steaks were full of grissel with no flaver and they were out of most of their cakes which is what we had heard so much about. The food was cold and looked like something my 12 year old daughter could make better. The worst part is we had to wait a long time and pay to much for this food and service. I think they decorate the resaurant so crazy so that you don't notice how bad your food is.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toomuch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
141 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

The Madonna Inn is well worth a visit, if only to browse the shop, or have a look around the Inn which is a unique experience - apparently the gents toilets are worth a look!! We stayed in the Captains Bridge room which was again really unique if not a little too dark. We had dinner in the restaurant which was excellent and great value for money. Note that the Inn is not really close to the town centre, so if you plan to eat in town then you need a car or a taxi. We also enjoyed the spa which is above the Inn, it is very clean and the pool very refreshing on a warm day. If you are passing through I would recommend that you stop for a night.

Room Tip: Browse the Madonna Inn web site as they show what each room looks like
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

An amazingly gratorious hotel. The staff were very friendly, courteous and helpful. Although not able to book the room we really really wanted (as you have to nominate a few rooms) the hotel did book us into our first choice which was Yahoo, the cowboy room. It was truly brilliant, complete with a starry starry ceiling.

A hotel like no other, it is way over the top, but what a great place to stay in the land of excess. It may not be everybody's cup of tea but if you like the look of the hotel (and the website shows photos of every room it has) you will not be disappointed.

We ate in the restaurant and it was very enjoyable, i swear Barbara Cartland was hiding round the corner of every pillar, smiling.

Room Tip: Have a look at their website, the rooms are all photographed and well worth spending time looking fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garagedweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
3.4 km away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,366 reviews
3.3 km away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
610 reviews
3.0 km away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
826 reviews
3.5 km away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
381 reviews
0.9 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#10 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madonna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madonna Inn

Property: Madonna Inn
Address: 100 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5489
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madonna Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Madonna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madonna Hotel San Luis Obispo
Madonna Inn San Luis Obispo
Madonna San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing