We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet comfort with dinner BBQ= GREAT VALUE”
Review of Rose Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rose Garden Inn
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Madera, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet comfort with dinner BBQ= GREAT VALUE”
Reviewed 20 May 2011

Great night's sleep in a quiet hotel. They even have BBQ. My husband and I gave up on another cheap hotel nearby because of the noise (I'm a light sleeper), but Rose Garden has always been quiet. We go to SLO once a month, so it's important to get a clean, quiet room that is reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjpres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    116
    74
    48
    45
See reviews for
141
106
18
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
santa monica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2011

Room and bathroom were both large and clean. Bed was comfortable with clean sheets and blankets. Amenities included referigerator, microwave, plasma television. Enjoyed our stay very much and the dinner that was provided on Thursday night was excellent -- tri tip. Service personnel were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again and recommend hotel to friends.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donna_brittenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coto de
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

I stayed here overnight on my way north and found this inn to be a great bargain. While it's true that it isn't a luxury hotel, it served its purpose very well. The staff was friendly and welcoming, and the room was clean and comfortable. I needed a safe place to spend the night, and I found it at the Rose Garden. Additionally, it's located next to a restaurant, Margie's, (and a Starbucks isn't far down the road), making my early morning exit quick and easy. I didn't need any bells and whistles and at a price of $50/night, I got everything I needed. It's conveniently located just off the 101 so traffic noise can be an issue if you're a light sleeper. I brought my trusty earplugs and slept like a baby.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dartorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, Ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2011

The first room we checked in to reeked of Pledge (it was still on all the surfaces) after an hour of airing the room out we were still having difficulty being in the room. The second room was an improvement, the new odor was now BBQ smoke flavor. The lone chair was badly stained and torn. Carpets were old and dingy. The blackout curtains let in the light where they were worn. The electrical outlets were loose and frustrating. The shower heads were similar to those in a campground - it ferociously spit all over me. There were not enough blankets on the beds. The neighbor across the hall pounded on their door non stop sometime between 1 and 4 a.m. One stairwell smelled of skunk, the other smelled of mildew. I'm embarassed to say that I stayed a second night.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelover2230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachfrontinAvila, Public Relations Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Thank you for posting your comments about our property. In response to your concerns, we always provide extra blankets and towels in the closets of our guest rooms. If you need even more then that, the front desk is always happy to provide those. Also, we uphold a strict noise policy. After 11pm, we ask our guests to respect our other patrons and lower their noise. If there was a problem, there is a staff member in the lobby 24 hours a day, and they could have handled this in order to make your stay more comfortable. We hope you will still consider the Rose Garden Inn for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Luis Obispo hotels

Newhall, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

We decided to stay in SLO after an afternoon of wine tasting in Paseo Robles. Since we just wanted a quick bed to sleep in for the night we pricelined a room... $50 including tax for the night. We were expecting a run down, smelly, loud, crap hole but the Rose Garden is actually pretty nice (for what it is). The room was decent size with microwave, refrig., nice TV and furnishings. The house keeping staff obviously went out of their way to make sure we knew it was clean. Ya know how sometimes housekeeping staff people make fans out of the washcloths and then tuck them into the towels for a cute little display? Well... we laughed when we saw that they made the fan/tuck display on the towels, bath rug, kleenex and both TP rolls. It might have been the best budget hotel I've ever stayed at. Front desk staff were friendly and quick!
Keep in mind it is budget... the beds are pretty firm... but well worth the price for a quick stop in SLO. :)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darkdivine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
5.9 km away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#16 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
265 reviews
6.1 km away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
381 reviews
5.6 km away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
826 reviews
6.0 km away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,366 reviews
5.9 km away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Garden Inn

Property: Rose Garden Inn
Address: 1585 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-7205
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rose Garden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Garden Inn is a San Luis Obispo hotel, located off beautiful Highway 101. It is a favorite among Cal Poly University families, with easy access to Pismo Beach, Avila Beach, Oceano Dunes and Hearst Castle. Guests are welcome to enjoy the beautiful gardens, heated pool and the areas largest spa with multiple waterfalls. The rooms are tastefully decorated, spacious, and equipped with the business and family traveler in mind. Free coffee, wireless Internet and a very friendly staff is here to make your stay more comfortable. Rose Garden Inn is just a short drive to scenic Hwy 1, Paso Robles Wine country, and Big Sur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Rose Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Garden Inn - San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Rose Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing