We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, excellent service; but nothing to make it stand out as a "fine dining establishment”
Review of Koberl At Blue

Koberl At Blue
Ranked #21 of 329 Restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 27 May 2016

My wife was given a gift certificate to Koberl at Blue for Christmas, so we decided to come here to celebrate our anniversary. We had a very pleasant and relaxing evening. The restaurant has a warm atmosphere and decor, and was certainly buzzing (perhaps a little noisy in the bar and downstairs area) on the Thursday night we ate there. We sat upstairs in the back, so it was relatively quiet, and we were able to hear ourselves talk. The service was excellent: attentive without hovering, friendly without too much personal chit-chat. For starters my wife had the potstickers- large portion; good but nothing special. I had the carpaccio which was excellent. We are not huge eaters and could probably have split either of the appetizers. To follow, she had the crispy filet salmon and I had the duck breast. The salmon was beautifully cooked but overall the dish was somewhat bland. The duck was also beautifully cooked (large portion) but the accompanying hash rather starchy, and the port-pomegranate sauce rather salty and without much depth. Nothing on the dessert menu sounded especially good, and we certainly weren't hungry, so we passed. Including a nice bottle of Claiborne and Churchill pinot, the bill came to about $140 excluding tip. I'm glad we ate there, as we have been wanting to try it for quite some time, but even more glad that that the gift certificate reduced our actual cost to $40 plus tip. Overall I'd say the food was very good but nothing special or adventurous, so we probably will not go again.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JKTiffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 78 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2016 via mobile

Short and sweet, this place delivers. The old SLO Library is it's home, beautiful wood everywhere.

Came here for an anniversary and thoroughly enjoyed the staff and the food. Very attentive, willing to do whatever you needed to make your experience enjoyable and memorable.

What impressed us most was our server: very engaging, knowledgeable and witty. Fast forward 6 weeks and we returned to be greeted and served by the same staff. Our server remembered exactly how we had asked our drinks to be made and what brand alcohol, how my wife's meal was prepared exactly down to the modified dressings. Every detail was recalled including conversations.

We love Koberl at Blue

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank wcrotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2016

Excellent service. We got the recommendation from the
hotel & they were spot on. Food was wonderful. Service
was perfect

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank rpask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2016

Presents as one of the converted textile mills of 20th century Lowell; elegant brickwork, high ceilings, and quaint bar area beckon the intrepid diner; the carpaccio compares well with any fine Italian restaurant in the OC; the oysters Rockefeller were absolutely average, served on cluttered cobalt blue dish, thanking the chef for being gently ushered into the salamander; the Pinot Noir selection by the glass was artificially limited, truncating the entire dining momentum; the cheese plate did induce a central coast smile; hints of retro charm, relaxing atmosphere, and friendly staff, will prompt a second visit. Next time, hope to catch pay dirt with the fresh local oysters.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BFDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2016 via mobile

The oysters we very good along with the beet and blue cheese salad. My partner had the salmon with vegetable and was very nice. I had the sea scallops and shrimp with a pasta. Don't waste your money on the dish. The pasta was bland and 2 sea scallops and a few Shrimps.

Date of visit: March 2016
1  Thank Joel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Koberl At Blue also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Koberl At Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing