We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the Best Hot Springs Anywhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the Best Hot Springs Anywhere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

My wife and I have been here many times. The resort is perfect with hot tubs outside of each room. The restaurant is fantastic and the Spa onsite is fantastic. And the spa has a bunch of private hot tubs up on a hill above the resort. This place has been around since William Randolph Hearst guests used t stop here to soak before heading up to the "ranch". I would recommend this for a romantic getaway, honeymoon or week long stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertgarven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Robert,
Thank you for your wonderful review of our resort and the offerings you and your wife enjoy while you are here for your romantic getaway. We really appreciate your loyalty to Sycamore for so many years. We love welcoming you and your wife to resort and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    923
    670
    350
    199
    108
See reviews for
359
1,497
78
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

5 year ago I was driving away seeking some much needed recreation time - and hot spring water. I've been back at least once a year since. Sycamore springs has changed not at all in that time - the rooms at least. If you enjoy relative quiet (walls are kind of thin - couple with kids next door) a hot tub filled with hot piped mineral water - the real stuff - stinky in an elemental earth way then come here. The restaurants and spa services are overpriced but the place is surrounded by beautiful oaks and there is the Bob Jones bike trail down to Avila beach. I enjoyed paddleboarding, some surfing, bicycling the day up and down the coast. Its California at its simple best. Good restaurants aren't far away and at the end of the day there is the wonderful stinky tub.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hampy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Loyal Guest,
Thank you for sharing your review. We are so happy you discovered our resort over 5 years ago and take full advantage of our mineral spring waters and local area surroundings while you are visiting. We have two different hot springs water available depending on your room preference both full of therapeutic minerals, some with more sulfur smell than others. Our spa and restaurant are quite competitive with our neighbors but as you mentioned, Sycamore is surrounded by over a hundred years of nature that is unique to our resort and offerings. Thank you for sharing your experience, we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Just spent four days at the hot springs...Sycamore Springs...personal hot tube outside the room, yoga twice a day and a wonderful 4 mile easy walk to the ocean front. Yes!!! I love this place.

Room Tip: This is hard cause there are wonderful cottages with fire place and rooms throughout the canyon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2BJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Rejuvenated Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience and choosing Sycamore to get some much deserved rest and relaxation. We appreciated the opportunity to host your 4 day getaway and we are pleased to hear that you took advantage of our offerings. We hope to see you next time you need some more rest and relaxation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

We checked in at Sycamore Springs for our first anniversary at the Springs.

We discovered that the resort mineral springs were not part of the pkg. That was a surprise, as when we called to make the reservation we were told the mineral springs were still accessible to us despite booking a room with a hot tub. What we didn't expect was that the springs that were accessible to us were driving distance away, and the ones at the resort were only available at a charge (and by the hour)! We put on our game faces and went to the nearby springs that were "included". The springs --located at a campground-- were a dive. We had to wade into the springs and sit on the ground of the springs, and there were people sprawled all over the ramp as we walked into the springs. Not the least bit classy. If we had stayed at the campground, we wouldn't have been disappointed...But, we were paying $400 bucks to stay at the resort! At this point it was too late to find another place, what a let down. The lady at the desk offered us another dessert (we'd all ready received a free dessert b/c it was our anniversary). We turned it down.

The room and location were nice, as well as our dinner, but we could've booked a nice room, location and meal elsewhere---we'd booked at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort for the mineral springs.

A genuine disappointment.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nell s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear Nell,
We appreciate your review, it allows me to clarify that all of our rooms have private balcony hot tubs. We also have hillside mineral spring hot tubs that are accessible by guests and open to the public. They are rented by the hour. We give our resort guests a discounted rate of 50% to these hot tubs Monday-Thursday prior to 3pm.We also offer all of our resort guests complimentary access to the Avila Hot Springs down the road. This is a public facility and also have mineral springs available. I am truly sorry for the confusion and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay despite the misunderstanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

We reserved an expensive room with a specific type of tub. We did not get what we reserved, and management refused any compensation. The manager also did not call me back after he promised to do so. Sycamore Hot Springs has a problems with honesty, credibility, and is not a value for the money.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter; reservations are not guaranteed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Dave,

Thank you for your review, I appreciate the opportunity to clarify a few points you have made. First I would like to apology for the confusion. You requested a certain seating style in your hot tub. We accommodated your hot tub preference which was mineral water but the hot tub style in the standard rooms are of a bench style and we are not able to change out the hot tub for a lounge style hot tub as requested. We do have those hot tubs in our larger suites which have larger hot tubs that allow for the lounge style seating. The manager on duty did go over those details with you I am sorry if you were expecting further clarification from another manager at that point as well. We hope this clarifies it a bit further and again we apologize for any inconvenience but we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the location and your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Luis Obispo
9.7 km away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
12.8 km away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
13.0 km away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
0.8 km away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
12.5 km away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Property: Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Address: 1215 Avila Beach Dr, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-8048
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#11 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:3 star — Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort rests atop hot mineral springs and spans more than 100 acres of forest, hills and meadows on the picturesque Central Coast of California. An authentic California resort, the property features hillside mineral springs hot tubs, a beautiful spa, the Gardens of Avila Restaurant, a labyrinth, private balcony hot tubs, meditation gardens, and wide selection of mind-body classes in our Yoga Dome. Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort -located halfway between San Francisco and Los Angeles is just a short walk to the ocean and close to award-winning wineries, golf courses, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach, and San Luis Obispo. Escape to our historic resort voted best Spa and Weekend Getaway on the Central Coast. Experience rustic elegance in a serene and relaxing environment surrounded with the best California has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sycamore Mineral Springs Hotel San Luis Obispo
Sycamore Springs
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Mineral Resort Springs Sycamore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing