We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Girl's Getaway Weekend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Apple Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apple Farm Inn
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Girl's Getaway Weekend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

My husband and I have spent many anniversaries, birthdays and weekend getaways at the Apple Farm in the last 20+ years, but this time I took my girlfriend for a getaway weekend to enjoy the wineries and coastal beach cities near SLO. She's more of a modern 'sofitel' type, but was pleasantly surprised by the updated rooms, decor, and amenities. The bed linens were sumptuous and neither one of us wanted to get out of bed in the morning! I booked a 2-queen room on the 3rd floor with a window bench view of the Water Grist Mill...beautiful! She really enjoyed the wine hour and the freshly baked cookies each evening, which is our favorite part of staying at the Apple Farm! We both enjoyed an Apple Shea Butter massage in the morning before heading out for the day...ahh! I only wish they could accomodate 2 people in their massage room. I ordered up 2 box lunches (highly recommend!) to take with us while we explored the wineries of Paso and Templeton before heading out to the coast for the day. In the evening, we headed to the Thursday night Farmer's Market and walked Higuera Street, buying Santa Maria Tri Tip and local produce from the vendors. The following day, we headed to Hearst Castle and again enjoyed the beach cities. That evening, we went and bought some sub sandwiches and munchies, and headed out to the Sunset Drive-In for a movie. The bakery at the Apple Farm restaurant is exceptional, and you MUST take home something sweet after your stay! Country-style comfort food is the standard fare, always tasty and plentiful. Try their baked Apple Dumpling and order it when you first arrive for your meal - you won't be disappointed! The gift shop has a large variety of unique items and is exceptionally beautiful at Christmas! The entire grounds at the Apple Farm are whimsical and have a french country flare. Make sure to stop in and see the Grist Mill and gift shop. If you enjoy a scheduled vacation, try one of their winery package stays. You'll have an itinerary showcasing many of the wonderful spots in the area, and they always take you on a beautiful drive that's as memorable as the Apple Farm itself! Definitely a great Girlfriend's Getaway spot and highly recommended by these two best friends!

Room Tip: If you like old-fashioned, country-style kitsch, choose an original room in the Inn. For more moder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tlcbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Apple Farm! We are thrilled to hear that you had a great girl's getaway weekend! It sounds like you both had fun exploring San Luis Obispo and the surrounding areas. The location of our Inn is great for getting out and checking out local attractions. I am happy that you took advantage of our box lunches. They are perfect for a day of wine tasting and beach going. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Apple Farm again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    755
    391
    113
    49
    27
See reviews for
332
662
45
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Verne, California
Level Contributor
191 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We have stayed at the Apple Farm several times. LOVE the gift shop, LOVE the restuarant, like the hotel. I can take the frills and OTT country, and the rooms we have stayed in have been nicely kept up. I would just say overall seems a little pricey for SLO.
One complaint - when we checked in (about 5) the very nice desk clerk said "Cookies are put out at 7, get here quickly, they run out fast." If you are offering "complimentary cookies", shouldn't you have enough to go around? I mean like for all night long? That was disappointing. (we never got a cookie)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susanbunny_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am thrilled to hear you love our restaurant and gift shop! They are a favorite of many of our guests.The cookies are also a favorite. We offer them every evening at 7pm in our lobby. We bake them fresh daily and we base the amount on how many people are staying with us for the night. Sometimes people take a few to many and we end up running out. When this is the case guests are more than welcome to ask the front desk for cookie vouchers which can be used in the bakery. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Apple Farm again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We booked sight unseen through an auction site and were pleasantly surprised with Apple Farm. The gentleman at the front desk asked if we would prefer one king bed, and when we said yes, he put us in a beautiful room with a fireplace, sitting area and 4-poster bed. It was much more than we expected for a one night, "just passing through" stay. The room was tastefully decorated, bathroom was updated and quite large, and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Apple Farm. It is wonderful to hear that you were pleasantly surprised with your stay! I am glad our front desk was able to find a room that you both enjoyed. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Apple Farm again soon whether it is for a quick trip or an extended vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehachapi, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Because of the staff I am giving this inn the 4 stars, otherwise it would only get 3.The rooms were clean but in need of serious renovations! New furniture and tv's would be a plus. While some like the country decor, it is just a little OTT for my taste. The staff is extremely courteous, friendly and helpful and they went above and beyond to make sure our stay was pleasant. Beautiful surroundings, awesome cookies, lovely wine reception as well. Good value for short stay. We did eat at the restaurant, dinner & breakfast. Again the staff did not disappoint. Food was good just not exceptional.Gift shop was really nice and we did purchase some of their baked goods and jam (yummy!). Maybe the rooms that have been updated would have been a better choice. I would not pass this up if you are in the area but you just might want to see the rooms before you decide to stay.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first before you check in and you might want to choose another or upgrade to a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoppingqueen429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thank you for reviewing our property. I am very happy to hear that our staff made your stay so enjoyable! We work very hard to provide excellent service to anyone who comes to the Apple Farm. The traditional decor of some of our rooms is not for everyone. I hope you have the chance to come back and experience our renovated rooms. We have kept the same feel with a more contemporary style. Thank you for your feedback it helps us to continuously improve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Had arranged to stay at one of the cottages but were graciously transferred to the main hotel due to irrigation issues earlier in the day. The room was clean and newly updated. Martinelli apple cider and chocolate awaited us and was a lovely touch. At 7pm, in the main reception area are complimentary cookies fresh out of the oven. Various selections like chocolate chip with cranberries or an English toffee. The cookie size is generous and delicious. Get there quick as samples go fast.

The location is central and would be a great place to stay a few nights as your main location and explore the out-lying areas of wineries and other local interests. Sadly, we only stayed one night. The price was very reasonable for such a lovely room.

There is a hot tub and heated outdoor pool that was clean and enjoyable. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! I am glad you were able to try our cookies. They are a favorite of many of our guests. We hope you will have the chance to come back and stay with us for more than one night. We have multiple packages that include touring and tasting throughout this area. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Apple Farm again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.1 km away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.5 km away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
3.4 km away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
4.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
5.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Farm Inn

Property: Apple Farm Inn
Address: 2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2695
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Farm Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple Farm Inn is located near downtown San Luis Obispo and very close to Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. All the rooms have fireplaces and complimentary wireless internet access. The property has a heated swimming pool, an on-site spa, a restaurant featuring comfort cuisine and an elaborate gift shop. It is centrally located for exploring the Central Coast with wineries and beaches no more than 10-15 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apple Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Farm Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel Apple Farm
Apple Farm Inn Luis Obispo San

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing