We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet friendly. Good location. Very average hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Capistrano Inn
Reviewed 26 October 2011

The location of this place is great. It's easy to find, right off the freeway. It's about a mile away from the San Juan Capistrano Mission and the Los Rios district (the oldest neighborhood in California). It's very close restaurants and a small park/equestrian center. The hotel is also dog friendly (without an additional fee)!

Everything else is average. The rooms are basic, plain and clean. The connecting rooms worked out well for our group of friends. Checking in and out was easy, but we didn't interact with the staff in between.

It was $108 total for a Saturday night in October.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imanahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Capistrano Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

298 - 302 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2011

My wife and I stayed here to attend a concert at the Coachhouse. The toilet barely flushed and the shower tub drain would back up after a short shower. The balcony sliding glass door curtain was tattered as was the shower curtain. $130.00 for these poor conditions was excessive! I would describe the place as a glorified Motel 6!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gant k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert G, General Manager at Best Western Capistrano Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to our establishment. We are under new management as of November 2011. We appreciate hearing your thoughts and your suggestions. With respect to any inconvenience you may have encountered our sincere apologizes. This will assist us when evaluating our guest’s needs and expectations. I hope you will come back and give us another chance to provide you with outstanding service in the future.

Sincerely,

Robert Grether
General Manager
949-493-5661 Ext.450

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I recently stayed here for a friends wedding. Normally check in at most hotels is at 3pm, but they let me in at Noon. That was nice.

The room was clean and had basic amenities. It was near the freeway which is convenient, but I didn't hear any road noise. It was quiet. Overall a decent place to stay if you're trying to save a buck.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank garek007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I stayed while attending a family wedding. some of the rooms were quite nice. Not the one I had - it was shabby, needed a good cleaning and updating

Room Tip: we asked for connecting rooms but they gave us a key to a room that was occupied (and we saw more th...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank leslie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert G, General Manager at Best Western Capistrano Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Best Western Capistrano Inn. I am disappointed we failed to give you the fine accommodations and consideration we strive for with all our guests – the type of service in which we pride ourselves. Please know that your comments have been reviewed in detail and steps are being taken to ensure these types of issues are handled on a preventive basis. We are currently under new management as of November 2011. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us the next time you are in town. I can assure we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one.

Sincerely,

Robert Grether
General Manager
949-493-5661 Ext.450

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

There's nothing extraordinary about the BW-SJC. The rooms are passable, a tad dark, with the plus of having small balconies on the rooms as well. However, be advised that the hotel is near the highway, so the road noise may want you to keep your balcony door closed at night.

The grounds are nondescript--a pool and hot tub dominate the central area, surrounded by parking spaces--of which there were too few the Labor Day weekend we spent there. In front there is an empty lot, the remants, perhaps, of a building in front of it which no longer stands. Hardly scenic.

The rooms are generally quiet and dark. Even with the a/c running, we had no problems sleeping.

The staff was, at best, cordial but also inconsistent. Told that they were open 24 hours, we stopped by one night around 9PM to ask about taking the train (which runs nearby) for the next day's activities. The lobby was closed and locked, with a "no vacancy" sign posted on the door. I tried ringing the doorbell, but no one answered. I called the front desk before the morning I was checking out-, as I had an early morning flight the next day and would be wanting my receipt around 4AM. Again, I was told the office was staffed 24 hours. When I pointed out that earlier experience, the person said, "well, we *usually* are open 24 hours." Ahem. That morning, the lobby again was locked, but someone was sleeping (!) on the couch near the front desk. When I awoke him, he said to just leave the key in the room. I informed him I had not yet received a receipt and he obliged by unlocking the door and printing my receipt--which was wrong. Ugh!

A few other things...it was disturbing to see an occasional ant crawling across the room. Additionally, they do not serve a continental breakfast, so if you were assuming that to be the case, be forewarned. They do, however, offer a complimentary shuttle service (which, again, allegedly runs 24 hours) to nearby locations within SJC.

Room Tip: Get a second floor room so your balcony is above the grounds, not right on it.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MongoSchwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert G, General Manager at Best Western Capistrano Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Best Western Capistrano Inn. I am disappointed we failed to give you the fine accommodations and consideration we strive for with all our guests – the type of service in which we pride ourselves. Please know that your comments have been reviewed in detail and steps are being taken to ensure these types of issues are handled on a preventive basis. We are currently under new management as of November 2011. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us the next time you are in town. I can assure we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one.

Sincerely,

Robert Grether
General Manager
949-493-5661

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan Capistrano
5.0 km away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
4.8 km away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
3.7 km away
Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano
Residence Inn Dana Point San Jua...
#2 of 3 in San Juan Capistrano
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#8 of 12 in Dana Point
339 reviews
200.1 km away
The Beachfront Inn & Suites at Dana Point
8.1 km away
Best Western Plus Casablanca Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Capistrano Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Capistrano Inn

Address: 27174 Ortega Hwy, San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675-2702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > San Juan Capistrano
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Juan Capistrano
Price Range: €107 - €201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Capistrano Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn- The Swallows Resting Place. Discover why the city of San Juan Capistrano is a must see travel destination when you stay at this property located just two blocks from historical Mission San Juan Capistrano®. With easy access to the 5 freeway and our Central location between Los Angeles and San Diego the BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn makes it easy to enjoy the area's many attractions. We believe location matters a lot. Located just Four miles from beautiful Orange County beaches and near Top attractions such as Knott's Berry Farm®, Soak City® Water Park, Disneyland®, California Adventure® and SeaWorld® this property offers the location at an affordable rate. Mission San Juan Capistrano® various events bring guests to our hotel year-round. However, our hospitality, spacious cool rooms and Best Western amenities are what make guests feel at home. This hotel boasts the friendliest service in town, and we're committed to making you feel welcomed and comfortable. Business guests of the BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn will also appreciate this hotel's close proximity to area businesses including Costco® Wholesale, Wal-Mart®, Quest Diagnostics®, Mission Viejo Hospital, The Shops at Mission Viejo® and many more. Book your BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn room today! Enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Capistrano Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Capistrano Hotel San Juan Capistrano
Best Western San Juan Capistrano
San Juan Capistrano Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing