We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson San Jose International Arpt
Ranked #17 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 26 September 2011

The hotel building is probably a bit old. It may take some time figuring out all the entrances and turns. However, it's clean and convenient.

The staff was very friendly and professional, especially the front desk.

The rooms are clean. You also get a refrigerator and a microwave. The only issue was TV: you can only watch it from the bed.

Internet is fast and reliable.

Very good sleep quality. The mattress was almost as good as I have at home, which happens very rarely. In addition, it's very quiet. Since I had a jet lag coming from the East Coast, I was able to go to sleep even at 9 p.m.

The gym is better than most hotels: in addition to the usual treadmills, there is a weight lifting machine. The only minor issue is you have to ask for the TV remote at the front desk and bring it back.

Full breakfast. However, the choices: it's pretty much the same omelets and pancakes every day. There were also a few days when they ran out of half of their juices.

Free parking. Can't say there was plenty of it, but I could always find a spot.

The hotel is very close to the airport. I can't say it's a bad neighborhood; it's a residential area with plenty hotels and restaurants around, as well as quick and easy access to highways 101 and 880. However, it definitely smelled like sewer outside, and that is probably the reason why I am not staying there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dw0rk1n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

208 - 212 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2011

I had to make an unexpected stop in San Jose and needed a place to stay. I love places that serve complementary breakfasts, so I walked in and inquired about a room. The front desk staff were friendly and accommodating. They got me a great AAA rate and explained how to get to my room, where everything was, and invited me to take advantage of breakfast- which turned out to be quite nice. There was a nice, clean pool/hot tub. I had forgotten a toothbrush, so one was brought to my room. The room was spacious, clean, and had a seating area- appointed with a microwave, coffee maker and fridge. Free wi-fi. The only negative may be the slightly sketchy neighborhood and although there were many upgrades to the building, the layout is a bit confusing and the exterior needs a fresh coat of paint.

Room Tip: Third floor was quiet. I was right next to the elevator and didn't hear a thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Truckee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Spent 3 nights at the hotel. Staff very helpfull at all times. Room spacious and clean. Bathroom clean. Nice bed size, linen and pillows. Very close to public transportation (LightRail) made renting a car unecessary for me as I could get very easily to anywhere I needed. Only con: someone in the room above walked with high heel during the night which made it difficult to sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zap2675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Stayed 2 nights
Positives:
The only really good thing I can say about this HIE is the beds were up to the amazing standards of all HIE. Best beds ever.
Easy to get to (airport/hwys)
Free Parking
Good TV/Channels
Big rooms
Great Prices
Lots of towels

Some negatives:
cracked shower stall wall,
older hotel
Uncomfortable couch
weak wifi single, (we did had the furthest away room from lobby)
went to the pool, but didn't go in because the water looked like it hadn't been cleaned for days (skin/hair floating = gross)
breakfast egg things were almost uneatable, go with the machine made pancakes
Elevator sometimes would go to the 3rd floor (the button wouldn't work)
No perks given for being a PriorityClubMember

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AiramV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Very low end HI Express. Sparse rooms. Dated. Had to walk outside to gain access to my room. Noisy AC. Found ants in the bathroom

Only good things: close to airport, free parking, rate below $150.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoakie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
3.4 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport
1.3 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Jose Airport
1.7 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Courtyard San Jose Airport
2.9 km away
Best Western Airport Plaza
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn San Jose - Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites by Carlson San Jose International Arpt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites by Carlson San Jose International Arpt

Address: 1350 N 4th St, San Jose, CA 95112-4713 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express San Jose International Arpt)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in San Jose
#7 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: €114 - €283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites by Carlson San Jose International Arpt 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Country Inn & Suites by Carlson San Jose International Airport. We are conveniently located 1.8 miles from the airport with easy access to major highways. Complimentary airport shuttle service available. Here for a convention? The light rail transit system is only two blocks away, which provides easy access to downtown San Jose, the San Jose McEnery Convention Center, and the Santa Clara Convention Center. Our hotel is perfect for the corporate and leisure traveler, offering renovated rooms and exceptional service. Here on business? We are in the heart of Silicon Valley, surrounded by several distinguished companies such as Siemens, Agilent Technologies, and Intel. We are just minutes away from the brand new eBay, Inc. facilities. If you're looking for a getaway, our hotel offers discount tickets to the world famous Winchester Mystery House. We are a short drive away from Paramount's Great America, and located just 30 miles from Santa Cruz Boardwalk and beaches. Whether it's relaxing in our pool and spa, an invigorating work out in our fitness center, winding down with a latest release pay-per-view movie, or working from your room with our high-speed Internet access, you are sure to enjoy your visit to Country Inn & Suites by Carlson San Jose International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Country Inn & Suites by Carlson San Jose International Arpt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Jose International Arpt Hotel San Jose
Holiday Inn San Jose
San Jose Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing