We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Lunch”
Review of Il Fornaio

Il Fornaio
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Fornaio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 2,489 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: San Carlos St.
Transit: City bus stops are located nearby
Description: Il Fornaio means "The Baker" in Italian. This award-winning restaurant offers an authentic and unique dining experience. Specialties include wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; housemade pastas; pizzas from an oak wood burning oven; fresh salads and housemade soups; a wide variety of desserts; and fresh baked bread made daily from scratch. Winner of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence 2013.
Reviewed 28 October 2018

The atmosphere and service were very good and the food ranged from good to very good. Overall an enjoyable family lunch were all seven of us were able to enjoy a good meal after choosing from a variety of dishes.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sam101645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 501 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2018

A group of us travelled to the Central Coast for wine tasting and finished the trip with a visit to I’ll Fornaio. I had a Manhattan to start. Nice pour at a good price. Dinner was the home made raviolis. Very good except they were served a little cold. All told, everyone liked their dinner. My wife is gluten intolerant and was able to get gluten free pasta. The service was very good.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PatD297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

We liked the ambiance when we walked in, but were surprised at the menu. There are very few actual Italian choices. This is more of a steak and seafood place. The sea bass with a mustard sauce was one of the daily specials. It tasted good, but we figured they offered the sauce because the fish was very dry.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank anybody_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018

We were here for dinner, and experienced a classy ambience, delicious food and excellent service. Authentic Italian, and good vegetarian options.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DipuKV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

Dinner and breakfast were excellent. Staff is friendly and attentive. The menu and the food reminds me of my trip to Rome.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Il Fornaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing