We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,040)
Filter reviews
1,040 results
Traveller rating
405
389
150
60
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
405
389
150
60
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the concierge lounge convention center corner room valet parking attending an event would stay here again tech museum front desk staff hotel restaurant business hotel business trip the room was nice conference acadia downtown lobby internet
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 1,040 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Clean rooms, good service. Easy check-in, check-out. I also appreciated their communication regarding confirmations. The sitting area in the lobby could be a little more interesting, but all in all a very nice visit.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SJGMKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, Manager at San Jose Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Dear SJGMKG,

On behalf of our staff, thank you for the kind words! We are pleased to know you had a pleasant time with us. All of us at the San Jose Marriott awaits to host you on your return trip.

Mark Kjeseth
Director of Operations-Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018

Rooms are always clean up to Marriott’s impeccable standards. The location is noisy, music from local bars are extremely loud and from the 4th floor of the hotel all you hear is the pulsing drum and bass which is very annoying. In addition there is traffic noise all night. Pay attention to the garage fees which add $40 per night to your daily room charge if you have a vehicle. Many restaurants within walking distance.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, Director of Operations-Rooms at San Jose Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2018

Dear L M,

Thanks for taking the time to evaluate our hotel. We are truly sorry your stay was not the positive experience you deserve due to the noise from the street, and due to our parking charges. We never want a guest to leave with a negative opinion, and we sincerely apologize we were not able to correct these issues for you. We hope you will consider giving us another chance to provide you with the hospitality and accommodations you deserve every time you choose us.

Mark Kjeseth
Director of Operations-Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

Located downtown on directly on the light rail line, very convenient. Rooms are large with mini fridge and coffee maker. Large bath. Gym is dated but there is artwork up in lobby showing the new gym coming.
Pool is outside of the gym on the 3rd floor and it is a very nice set up with a hot tub as well.

Only reason I could not give 5 stars was the elevator situation was below what you would expect from a hotel of this size. I had many time where wait time for the elevator was over 5 minutes, then it stopped on nearly every floor on the way down when it was already full. Aggravating for the riders on the car and for those on other floors waiting.
A little noisy early evening, but I found out the Green Bay Packers were here for a pre season game, so I think that might explain that. Otherwise I’ll come back.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Randy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, Manager at San Jose Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2018

Dear Randy D,

Than you for sharing the highlights of your stay at the San Jose Marriott. We are glad to know we met most of your expectations and that you had a comfortable time with us. Also, we are always striving for perfection and your remarks will certainly assist us in doing so. We look forward to making your next trip an exceptional one.

Mark Kjeseth
Director of Operations-Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018

We were here attending a large convention in the adjoining Convention Center.
PRO: Rooms were clean and quiet and were refreshed daily.
Comfortable beds.
Free small bottled water (although the tap water was fine).
Refrigerator for storing medications.
Nice pastry and beverage shop between the lobby and Convention Center.
Good restaurants within walking distance.
Good cell phone and internet reception.
CONS: Inadequate storage space for clothing. Really, three small drawers for two people staying a week. This is our only major complaint.
Arcadia restaurant breakfast prices much too high even for a hotel restaurant.
Telephone in our room did not work and so we did not get our wakeup call.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Scanner_Lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, Manager at San Jose Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Dear Scanner_Lewis,

Thank you for the nice review of our hotel, the San Jose Marriott. We are glad we were able to live up to most of your expectations and that you had a pleasant time with us. Also, your feedback is invaluable and gives us the opportunity to address areas where we can improve. We appreciate your observations and hope to see you again so we can create an exceptional impression.

Mark Kjeseth
Director of Operations-Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

GONZALO, He is at the front desk and was a very friendly and a helpful staff employee. This hotel is situated in downtown San Jose close to the convention center, the malls, great restaurants, great location.
TESS, on the other hand, she works on the 26th floor for the gold plus members in the concierge lounge. She was so nice and friendly and you could tell she loves her job. The view from the 26 floor was wonderful I got great pictures of the city of San Jose.

I WOULD go back.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank CindyLou2262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamMarriott, Manager at San Jose Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear CindyLou2262,

We appreciate your fabulous review of the San Jose Marriott. We're absolutely delighted that our associates made you feel welcome and took excellent care of you. Comments such as yours make our day, and we can't wait to share them with the entire team, especially with Gonzalo and Tess. Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us, and we can’t wait to welcome you back.

Mark Kjeseth
Director of Operations-Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews