We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Insider Tasting”

Joseph Phelps Vineyards
Ranked #9 of 116 things to do in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Santa Rosa, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Insider Tasting”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I received the barrel room treatment, ended with the Backus

Helpful?
Thank GretchenK_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    36
    19
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and great wine”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

They have their own lovely valley. Arrange tasting and/ or picnic ahead of time.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank canuck22SanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
“Amazing views, great personnel, excellent wines!”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Although I have been here before and am in the restaurant business, we were treated very well, again. This it was a group of 8 instead of 2. We were fortunate enough to get a private tasting and it was great. Claude was a great host and taught me a few more things about wines! Nicole, our POC, set us up nicely! If all the wineries and hotels were this accommadting, I'd come back every year! My group was thorough impress with the whole experience! Thank you Joseph Phelps!

Helpful?
Thank Tram B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning view”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

This winery is amazing. The views from the porch are incredible and the wine is equally stunning, albeit pricey. We have been here a couple times, and have yet to find a place with such an amazing view that isn't completely overcrowded. Phelps typically requires a reservation which seems to make the whole tasting much more relaxed as there are not nearly so many people around. If you are a member of their wine club, the tastings are free, otherwise they are in the $40ish range I believe, but you do get to taste wine ranging from $30 a bottle up to their $250 bottle.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank NBere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Would have expected More”
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We of course enjoyed the wine at Joseph Phelps but this is not a review of the wine but rather a review of the visit to the Winery.

We found the staff and the way things are set up to be very stuffy and "Stuck up". Having toured hundreds of Winaries around the United States and Europe this is one of the places I would prefer to not see again.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Young2by2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Joseph Phelps Vineyards also viewed

St. Helena, Napa Valley
 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Been to Joseph Phelps Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing