We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Ehler's is the reason we visit Napa every October...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ehlers Estate Winery

Ehlers Estate Winery
Ranked #13 of 115 things to do in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the best off the beaten track visitor experiences in the Napa Valley, Ehlers Estate produces beautifully structured Bordeaux varietals from their estate vineyard located on the renowned loamy bench soils just north of the town of St. Helena. Bold, authentic, terroir-driven wines, 100% of the vineyards are certified organic and biodynamic. Known for their Cabernet Sauvignon "1886" -Winemaker, Kevin Morrisey. Call the winery ahead to reserve your tasting.
Shelby Township
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ehler's is the reason we visit Napa every October...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We fell in love (literally!) October 2010 with this place (and with each other in the Olive Garden!). The entire staff at Ehler's truly go out of their way to educate and please all five senses of their guests, new and returning (like us!). Take in the laid-back, quaint, and rustic surroundings of what they're all about...great wine, knowledgable and friendly staff (Maria, you're the best!) deep-rooted value and commitment to the environment and cardiovascular research.

....in my opinion, Ehler's is what wine country is all about.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    10
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Favorite winery in the valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Ehlers wine is exquisite - that's really all I can say about it. The owner of the B&B we stayed at suggested visiting this winery and I have to say that it is one of the best in Napa. Beautiful tasting room and beyond that extremely rich, bold and overwhelming wine.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank freddy787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“You must visit this winery in Napa Valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

This winery has consistently been our favorite over the years while visiting Napa Valley. It is an organic winery with all the grapes being grown right there at their vineyard. The tasting experience is like no other. You sit down on couches in a conversational setting. They bring the wine to you with an assortment of cheeses to pair with the wine. No fighting for elbow room at a tasting bar! The people are wonderful and the wine is fabulous! You need a reservation but one is not hard to get. You won't want to leave!

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank texasswerve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen, Texas
Level Contributor
123 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great little winery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

We loved this place! They accommodated us even though we didn't have an appointment. They actually produce wine from organic grapes. They are also a non profit and donate to a foundation for heart research, I think. The salesperson also took us into the area of the holding tanks and then to the cask room and educated us about their process. Very good service and needless to say it resulted in us making a purchase of their wine club!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank deenmachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, FL
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“BEST VINEYARD AND WINE TASTING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

I went to Ehlers Winery while driving around Napa Valley area.
Saw the sign and diecided I would check it out. The made us wait about 10minutes until they were finsihed helping soimeone else. The person then came ovefr and offered us bread sticks and cheese. Then he gave us the history of the winery and the wine. I was very intrigued by the heart that is part of the name. It has significant meaaning to them.
After the samplings I bought 2 bottles of wine.
After the purchase they showed us the method for growing planting crops between crops that bring out the flavors of the grapes.

Visited October 2010
Helpful?
Thank compwiz1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ehlers Estate Winery also viewed

St. Helena, Napa Valley
 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Been to Ehlers Estate Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing