We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay in the Napa Valley”
Review of Inn St Helena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn St Helena
Ranked #2 of 12 St. Helena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Location was ideal and within walking distance of everything in town. The owner and staff were very friendly and helpful in restaurant and vineyard recommendations. We could not have been happier and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattschiusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 191 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2010

Just spent three fantastic days and two nights in Napa Valley, all made possible by the great folks who run the Ambrose Bierce House B&B in St. Helena. First they were thoughtful enough to call us before we even arrived in Napa Valley to see how they could help. They suggested so great spots to stop for lunch and to see on our way up. Once we got there, they took the time to listen to our interests and not only made great suggestions, but went out of our way to make the necessary arrangements making the entire trip in Napa effortless. The rooms in the inn were charming, comfortable and clean. The afternoon wine and cheese was a joy, and the breakfasts were the highlight of it all.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cswift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

Carlos is an excellent host of the Ambrose Bierce Inn and the breakfasts that he serves are of the best quality. The room was comfortable, clean and quiet. I am a sucker for the Victorian style from a century ago so I was delighted with the ambiance of this well maintained old home.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terry_weathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

We have stayed several times at the Ambrose Bierce House - and will be back again in the future. In the past we had always stayed in the Edweard Muybridge room - considered it "our room" and found it cozy and welcoming. Though the room is the smallest in the Inn, the parlor provided the extra space for sitting around, reading or playing a game that we needed, and it suited our budget. On our most recent trip we splurged a little and stayed in the Ambrose Bierce Suite. We loved having the extra space - our own little sitting room, and with the cool, rainy weather, we really enjoyed the fireplace! From the first time we met him, Carlos has seemed more like an old friend than an Innkeeper. He makes a wonderful breakfast, and is fun to catch up with during "happy hour" over wine and cheese. He is always full of wonderful suggestions for places to visit - whether a favorite winery, restaurant for dinner, or a special activity and is happy to make any reservations or arrangements for us if needed. The Inn is right on Main Street, just a couple of blocks from the center of downtown St. Helena. There are so many wonderful restaurants, a great local coffee shop, great old theater - everything to make you feel right at home. It is our escape from the real world - the perfect place to relax and re-energize.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winecountryfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2010

Took the wife as a birthday surprise to this Bed and Breakfast in the heart of Napa wine country and walking distance from many boutique-type shops. Extremely helpful staff that provided outstanding restaurant and wine tasting pointers. The staff also coordinated multiple dinner reservations that got us into the restaurants we wanted. The breakfasts both mornings were fantastic as well. We will definitately go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loadnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Helena hotels
2.1 km away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
3 km away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
0.8 km away
Southbridge Napa Valley
Southbridge Napa Valley
#6 of 9 in St. Helena
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Las Alcobas, Napa Valley
Las Alcobas, Napa Valley
#4 of 9 in St. Helena
63 reviews
0.2 km away
Wydown Hotel
Wydown Hotel
#5 of 9 in St. Helena
128 reviews
3.9 km away
Shady Oaks Country Inn
Shady Oaks Country Inn
#6 of 12 in St. Helena
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn St Helena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn St Helena

Address: 1515 Main St, St. Helena, CA 94574-1851 (Formerly Ambrose Bierce House)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in St. Helena
Price Range: €168 - €303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn St Helena 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Napa Valley bed and breakfast! We invite you to experience the romantic charm and "warm and enthusiastic hospitality" of our 1872 Victorian bed and breakfast inn. This California bed and breakfast is in a perfect location... right in the center of the finest wineries of Napa Valley. You can walk to fine and casual dining, historic Beringer Vineyards... and unique shopping in beautiful and quaint downtown St. Helena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Inn St Helena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrose Bierce House Hotel St. Helena
Inn St Helena St. Helena, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing