We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,129)
Filter reviews
1,129 results
Traveller rating
874
167
49
31
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
874
167
49
31
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine country free shuttle shuttle service napa valley happy hour main building granola quiche hot tub private patio local vineyards every morning grounds are beautiful breakfast was delicious san francisco can't wait to go back fresh fruit
Filter
Updating list...
893 - 898 of 1,129 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2012

This is where you want to stay if you want to do some wonderful wineries in Napa/Sonoma and etc. You can get to just about everywhere from here. I was not initially keen on staying in a "B&B" type of a place. However, I was pleasantly surprised at how amazing this place is.

First of all, make SURE you do the 4:30 wine tasting and appetizers the Inn puts out every day. We had never visited wineries so we wanted to hit one the first day of arrival with only an hour left. We paid a ton of money trying to hit a winery before it closed and could have just stayed right in our own wonderful Inn for free and had just as much fun.

If you are new to wineries, I highly recommend you do the "Inn Wine Excursion" tour they offer right through the Inn. Marty is your tour guide, and we absolutely LOVED it. It was $200 for the two of us, but you get 4-5 wineries, a fabulous lunch and private wine tours. Marty is able to take you where the general public does not go. You will do small wineries and of course larger ones. He tailors it to whatever you want. Plus the lunch is really gourmet and delicious--and he makes it right back at the Inn for you. We had so much fun on it, we booked it for a second day with him. We told him we wanted all different wineries, so that is what he did. Worth every penny and we bought tons of wine. Marty hauls it all back to the Inn and the Inn will conveniently ship it all out at the end of your stay.

The breakfast they put out each day is totally delicious as well. I love that they have a recipe box where you can grab the recipe of something if you really liked it. I am hoping I can duplicate some of the great dips they put out at the "happy hour" each night.

The staff is so friendly and will accommodate your every need. We wanted to do something fun on my birthday, so they planned out a little day trip for us. We went to the Armstrong woods and the Korbel winery and it was perfect.

The Inn also has a great FREE shuttle you definitely want to take advantage of to go out to eat at night. They have a list of all the AMAZING restaurants they go to. The shuttle is there for you and you just call when you want a pick up--so easy. It is a plush vehicle they use too, so don't think you are riding in an uncomfortable truck. One thing I didn't know, is the food out there is another hidden treasure. Ask the locals what they recommend, you will end up somewhere GREAT for sure.

The room we had was really nice and had a giant hot tub in the bathroom which we loved. It was spacious with an extra couch, mini fridge, and a porch with a beautiful view.

We loved this place so much, we will definitely go back. We are so thankful our travel agent sent us here.

It is right in the heart of wine country, is not some rinky dink B&B like you may picture with mom and pop working it, and is definitely a hidden treasure.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SlumberPartyDana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Just beyond Beringer Winery on the way to Calistoga. This gorgeous country villa was warm, cozy and gave the best service we have experienced in Napa Valley. The unpretentious chef Ryan, came through time and again with elegant high quality food offerings. They have a nice new large shut tle that takes you to most surrounding restaurants. We had a room with a view and a fireplace. Rose petals on the bed, wine and brownies waiting when you opened the door. Got even better. Very romantic, try stormy weather. Hot tub is cool deal.

Room tip: rooms with fireplaces, regardless of floor
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigDogCA19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We stayed at the inn in mid-November. Unfortunately it rained the whole stay, because the grounds were beautiful. We were very impressed with the service and the casual atmosphere of the inn. The staff was amazing! We really enjoyed the wine and cheese social Saturday evening and were also happy with the full service breakfast Sunday morning. Yes, our room was a little "dated", but who cares? We went for the ambiance and the seclusion. We will definitely be returning to the Wine country Inn.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We stayed for four nights over Thanksgiving and had a wonderful time. The property is beautiful, nestled literally amongst the vineyards in the countryside. With a heated pool and hot tub, lush landscape and privacy, it is beautiful. Tim, the manager, was amazing. He is very personable and wants everyone to have a great experience at the Inn. We spent a portion of each happy hour chatting with him about restaurants, wineries and many other non-trip related topics. We took his suggestions and they were great. We stayed in a room in the main building. Our room was a really nice size and had a wood burning fireplace with a great patio. The bathroom was very small and the furnishings felt a bit dated, but overall it was highly comfortable. We also had a chance to experience the luxury cottages. Wonderful. Very private, great patios that were literally on top of the vineyard next door, extremely comfortable beds and furniture. We enjoyed The Wine Country Inn experience.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveToTravelFar, Front Office Manager at Wine Country Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

WanderingJoe, great to meet both yourself and K during your visit her over Thanksgiving. I enjoyed our chats at our evening wine social. And yes, for your next visit, we're "on" to visit Jarvis and Anderson Conn Valley (and maybe a wildcard, too -- I'm working on some new "must-see" spots!). Have a great holiday season. Cheers, Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We just completed our 4th stay at The Wine Country Inn, and the experience gets better each time. Since our last stay, they've added a wonderful 8-passenger shuttle van to take guests into and back from St. Helena each evening between 5:00-10:00 PM, so if you haven't had enough wine during the day, you can relax, drink to your heart's content, and let Janelle do the driving and give you the recommended specials at each restaurant (and she's right, as well!).

The rooms are large and comfortable, and some have fireplaces, if you prefer one. During the summer, you may want to use the large pool. There is also a hot tub, I believe, although we've never used it. Breakfasts are wonderful, with a different omelet/frittata/quiche-type dish each morning, along with fresh fruit, granola and cereals, juices, coffee, etc.

Every afternoon, a different winery (usually a small "unknown" producer) comes in to pour complimentary wines, and Chef Bryan has prepared wonderful hors d'oeuvres. This goes on for about 1-1.5 hours, and is always a treat.

The staff is very helpful at all times, and the word "hospitable" certainly applies to this facility. Additionally, we love the location, about 10 minutes north of St. Helena, as it generally has us going in the opposite direction as traffic, heading south in the morning, and north in the afternoon.

If we could add one thing, it would be a TV, even if just in the common area, just so we could keep up with what's going on in the world.

Room tip: When calling for reservations, discuss what you want--they're very helpful in getting you the right room.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews