We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Southbridge Napa Valley
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
philadelphia, pa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

It was valentines day weekend and a lot of places were sold out or required a two night stay so I picked the Inn at Southbridge. I didn't have very high expectations but it was very nice. Our room was huge and had a fireplace which was a nice tough. The bed was very comfortable. The location is fabulous because you can walk to most of the St. Helena restaurants and it is right across from Gott's Roadside. The breakfast was basic but nice with lots of fresh fruit, yogurt and some pastries. Overall I think it was a great place!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paymoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    43
    23
    8
    1
See reviews for
12
98
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

I spent one night at the hotel on a business trip. One night isn't really enough time to properly judge a place and I don't think this is intended to be a business travelers hotel. But for what its worth my comments are as follows:

The location is convenient, right at one end of the main street and an easy walk to all of the restaurants and bars in town. The location is a bit unusual, as indicated by other reviewers. The location has the benefit of being quiet and the same complex conveniently includes a nice restaurant (Tra Vigne) and a winery worth visiting (Merryvale). However, it almost appears to be a re-purposed office park. Nothing wrong with that, just a bit unusual.

The public spaces are nice if a bit spare, just as you see them on the website.

My room and bathroom were very large and bright, which is a nice change from many places these days. The room definitely had some nice touches: a fireplace, french doors that opened up on to a (small) balcony and huge cathedral ceilings which really provide a nice feeling of space and light.

The bathroom was large, bright and very clean. But somehow it just didn't quite seem in place for an upscale hotel - it felt like a nice guest bathroom at someones house - not really a luxury hotel bathroom.

My bed was very comfortable and I slept well.

The room and all of the hotel that I saw are very clean and well maintained.

The continental breakfast was ok. Not the best and not the worst - just the typical assortment of pastries, cereals, yogurt, etc.

Hotel staff were all very good - friendly and helpful.

I cant say that I came away with a strong feeling for the place but, all in all, it was a pleasant and comfortable stay and a very convenient location.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I was up with some coworkers for our company retreat in October and was not impressed in the slightest. The service was good but the rooms were certainly not up to par with the price. The furnishings were old and tattered, the tv old (not flat panel or flat screen), and the bathrooms were worst of all - a stark white hospital bathroom with one tiny, metal, airplane sink and no counter space. I have stayed at numerous places in Sonoma/Healdsburg area including Sonoma Mission Inn, Healdsburg Hotel, Kenwood Inn - all luxurious with wonderful service. To be honest, I've stayed at Holiday Inns that were more luxurious than The Inn at Southbridge. Had we paid in the $100 range per night then it would have been fine but this was not the type of hotel I expect when I pay over $400/night. Some good points - the service was good and the pool/fitness center excellent. I will say that they were extremely prompt addressing my concerns/complaints and told me that they were currently upgrading many rooms. However, if they are well aware that the rooms need updating/modifications than they shouldn't charge the luxury prices to begin with.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hawkmoon209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

I spent 3 nights at the inn, while my son was recovering from surgery, and was pleasantly surprised by the overall quality of the experience. The regular king size room was huge, and had a cathedral ceiling, which added to the spacious feeling that was unexpected in a standard king room. It was tastefully decorated and immaculately clean. The bed was super comfortable and the quality of the linens was very high. I appreciated the large bottle of complimentary spring water each morning, and the small bedside bottles of water with the turn down service each evening.
The service at this inn was nothing short of amazing. There was nothing the front desk wouldn't do to make your stay more pleasant, and always with a smile. Marcelle helped us with scanning documents, faxing, and even found a charger for our computer! T
They keep menus of the local restaurants on hand to help you decide where to have lunch and dinner. Susan's recommendations were excellent.
Breakfasts were in a small, lovely room and included freshly baked goods from the local bakery. Be sure to try the English muffins, which were actually a cross between a doughnut and a muffin.
The location of this inn is perfect, as it is on Main Street, within a short walking distance of restaurants, boutiques, a pharmacy, nail salon and the spa. No need to drive after having plenty of wine with dinner!
I will definitely return - this place felt like home, after just a few days.

Room Tip: We stayed in Rooms 1,2 which were very convenient. The view was nothing special, but the location wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frf18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

This is a very pleasant place to stay in Napa. Rooms are comfortable with charming features including fireplace, balcony, vaulted ceilings and more. The location is perfect...walking distance to wineries, shops and restaurants in St Helena. Situated right off of Rt 29 and easy access to Silverado Trail. Staff was very attentive. Full service spa and fitness facility including a heated lap pool and superb staff right next door. This is not what I would call a "high end, luxury" hotel. More of a low-key inn with no pretense. We enjoyed our stay and would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bruce g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
1.4 km away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
3.7 km away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
15.0 km away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 km away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#3 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
14.4 km away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
14.2 km away
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#4 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southbridge Napa Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southbridge Napa Valley

Property: Southbridge Napa Valley
Address: 1020 Main St, St. Helena, CA 94574-2011 (Formerly Inn at Southbridge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Helena
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Southbridge Napa Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southbridge Napa Valley is located on Main Street in the historic town of St. Helena in the heart of America's most famous wine growing region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southbridge Napa Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Southbridge Hotel St. Helena
Southbridge Inn
Southbridge Napa Valley St. Helena, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing