We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nowhere near worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southbridge Napa Valley
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nowhere near worth the price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

I was up with some coworkers for our company retreat in October and was not impressed in the slightest. The service was good but the rooms were certainly not up to par with the price. The furnishings were old and tattered, the tv old (not flat panel or flat screen), and the bathrooms were worst of all - a stark white hospital bathroom with one tiny, metal, airplane sink and no counter space. I have stayed at numerous places in Sonoma/Healdsburg area including Sonoma Mission Inn, Healdsburg Hotel, Kenwood Inn - all luxurious with wonderful service. To be honest, I've stayed at Holiday Inns that were more luxurious than The Inn at Southbridge. Had we paid in the $100 range per night then it would have been fine but this was not the type of hotel I expect when I pay over $400/night. Some good points - the service was good and the pool/fitness center excellent. I will say that they were extremely prompt addressing my concerns/complaints and told me that they were currently upgrading many rooms. However, if they are well aware that the rooms need updating/modifications than they shouldn't charge the luxury prices to begin with.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hawkmoon209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    43
    23
    8
    1
See reviews for
12
98
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

I spent 3 nights at the inn, while my son was recovering from surgery, and was pleasantly surprised by the overall quality of the experience. The regular king size room was huge, and had a cathedral ceiling, which added to the spacious feeling that was unexpected in a standard king room. It was tastefully decorated and immaculately clean. The bed was super comfortable and the quality of the linens was very high. I appreciated the large bottle of complimentary spring water each morning, and the small bedside bottles of water with the turn down service each evening.
The service at this inn was nothing short of amazing. There was nothing the front desk wouldn't do to make your stay more pleasant, and always with a smile. Marcelle helped us with scanning documents, faxing, and even found a charger for our computer! T
They keep menus of the local restaurants on hand to help you decide where to have lunch and dinner. Susan's recommendations were excellent.
Breakfasts were in a small, lovely room and included freshly baked goods from the local bakery. Be sure to try the English muffins, which were actually a cross between a doughnut and a muffin.
The location of this inn is perfect, as it is on Main Street, within a short walking distance of restaurants, boutiques, a pharmacy, nail salon and the spa. No need to drive after having plenty of wine with dinner!
I will definitely return - this place felt like home, after just a few days.

Room Tip: We stayed in Rooms 1,2 which were very convenient. The view was nothing special, but the location wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frf18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

This is a very pleasant place to stay in Napa. Rooms are comfortable with charming features including fireplace, balcony, vaulted ceilings and more. The location is perfect...walking distance to wineries, shops and restaurants in St Helena. Situated right off of Rt 29 and easy access to Silverado Trail. Staff was very attentive. Full service spa and fitness facility including a heated lap pool and superb staff right next door. This is not what I would call a "high end, luxury" hotel. More of a low-key inn with no pretense. We enjoyed our stay and would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bruce g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlingame, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Inn At Southbridge and we loved it from the minute we arrived to the minute we left!!! The staff was amazing, the location couldn’t have been more perfect, the rooms were incredible with a huge cozy bed and a romantic fireplace. We loved the balcony that looked onto the beautiful green courtyard. We felt so relaxed our entire stay. The continental breakfast was like no other continental breakfast I've ever had - there was lots of fresh fruit with incredible baked goods. The Inn was very accommodating in every way. We throughly enjoyed the spa and pool which was 10 feet across the courtyard from our hotel. The staff at the spa was amazing and the pool was beautiful! We'll be back in the near future!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

This boutique Hotel is a sister property to Meadowood, without the high price. It is walking distance to one of the best restaurants in the Valley-Tra Vigne. Also, a walk across the plaza to Merryvale Vineyards. With only 24 guestrooms, they are very attentive to your needs. Guestrooms are spacious and most have fireplaces and decks or patios. They include a lovely continental breakfast, newpaper, robes, etc. Great for a romantic getaway, a small corporate retreat or girls week-end, since the spa is next door. A 2 block walk to St. Helena with all it has to offer. Refrigerator, coffee maker, wine (for purchase), snacks, all in room.

Room Tip: Courtyard side guestrooms have a better view and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madeline1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
1.4 km away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
3.7 km away
The Wine Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn
#2 of 9 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
15.0 km away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 km away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#3 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
14.4 km away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
14.2 km away
Vintage Inn
Vintage Inn
#4 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southbridge Napa Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southbridge Napa Valley

Property: Southbridge Napa Valley
Address: 1020 Main St, St. Helena, CA 94574-2011 (Formerly Inn at Southbridge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. Helena
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Southbridge Napa Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southbridge Napa Valley is located on Main Street in the historic town of St. Helena in the heart of America's most famous wine growing region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southbridge Napa Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Southbridge Hotel St. Helena
Southbridge Inn
Southbridge Napa Valley St. Helena, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing