We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definately worth the drive”

Schweiger Vineyards
Ranked #21 of 113 things to do in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located 2000 feet above St. Helena, Schweiger Vineyards discovered by those in search of the authentic family winemaking experience. Enjoy incredible views overlooking Napa Valley, savor artisan style wines at this lovely Spring Mountain winery and just relax. Sip wines on the balcony, sit down to a paired tasting or tour the barrel room. Savor the signature Bordeaux-style blend “Dedication”, and the Cabernet Sauvignon along with the Chardonnay and Sauvignon Blanc. Tastings are by appointment.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definately worth the drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

Beautiful tasting room. We missed Fred and Sally but Gretchen Was wonderful. Very friendly and a terrific spirit. We were told to go here by Lisa the Harvest Inn. She was so right!

Helpful?
Thank KarenSibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    8
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Top professionally family-run winery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

I drove up the hill at Spring Mountain road to see if these guys happened to be open and I was in luck - it was their open day. I had the chance to taste their wines - which were really including both the whites and reds and chat to the very knowledgeable staff about the area and wines.

Everyone at the winery was very welcoming and the winery itself was picturesque (on top of the mountain) with steep vineyards and terraces. A must see - but call first - don't leave it to luck like I did.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank g_united
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crownsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Mountain Vineyard with Excellent Wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

We were treated very well at Schweiger. Nice atmosphere with many friendly dogs and puppies running around. The owner was there the day we visited and made us feel right at home. A most excellent tasting experience.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank DesMoines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So beautiful, my fiance chose to propose to me here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

My then boyfriend and I were driving around Napa one day and decided to drive up Spring Mountain. If you have a car while in Napa it's really a beautiful drive to do. While driving, we saw this gorgeous winery that was above the fog so it seemed like it was sitting on a cloud. We must have taken pictures for a good 30 minutes. We obviously decided to book a reservation for a tasting. This is a family run winery, you get to meet the family which makes it a bit more personal :). We did our tasting, and fell in love with more than a few of their wines. They have a wonderful cabernet sauvignon. We even became wine club members. After our tasting we walked through the vineyards where my now fiance proposed! We plan to drink the 2006 Cabernet Sauvignon on our wedding day.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank BabyKatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schweiger V, Public Relations Manager at Schweiger Vineyards, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Wow, what a romantic visit. Thank you for the great photos of the rock and glassware! We look forward to your return anniversary trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simi Valley, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

A great, off the beaten path winery with fantastic wine. The staff is welcoming, knowledgeable and friendly.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Shawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Schweiger Vineyards also viewed

 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Been to Schweiger Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing