We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ordered take out...via DoorDash delivery ”
Review of Il Fornaio

Il Fornaio
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Fornaio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 2,215 Restaurants in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 4th Street
Transit: Regional Transit stops one block over on 4th and L Street. Amtrack stops three blocks over on 4th and I Street.
Description: Il Fornaio means "the Baker" in Italian. Located in downtown Sacramento, this award-winning restaurant offers an authentic and unique Italian dining experience and a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence 2007 wine list. Enjoy wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; house made and imported pastas; pizzas from an oak wood burning oven; fresh salads and house made soups; antipasti and a wide variety of desserts made daily from scratch.
Reviewed 24 November 2017 via mobile

Food was good but I guess I was somewhat disappointed in the portion.

The food was luke warm once received from DoorDash.

Next time I’ll eat on site.

Thank Teena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Hi Teena , thanks for the feedback. Door Dash allows their customers to order a smaller portion called "Primi", we are correcting this. It is a pasta portion meant to be an appetizer, and will fit in a tea cup. We would love to have you in the restaurant so you can enjoy our dining room and menu choices as they were meant to be. Please contact me at pdiegelman@ilfo.com, I would like to make this up to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

A large group of us tried ail Fornaio again after a year’s hiatus. Last visit we gave a rating of 3 due to slow service and raw chicken in a pasta dish. This year all the food was prepared perfectly. The only drawback was slow service; almost 3 hours for dinner on a weeknight. However the manager proactively took it upon himself and apologized for how slow things were and provided free desserts and port all around. That was greatly appreciated by all and the entire group decided it was a very good evening. So Il Fornaio advances to a rating of 4. BTW park in the Wells Fargo building and take advantage of the validated parking at Il Fornaio for free parking. Now recommended. Cheers.

Thank WineEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Thanks for the upgrade, we appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

My wife and I selected Il Fornaio while driving up from San Diego, where we'd spent almost a week visiting with family. We wanted a quiet place where, over a glass of wine, pasta, and a salad, we could share the conversations we'd had and places we'd seen. We found Il Fornaio on Trip Advisor, and called in our reservation only a few hours before we arrived at our AirBnB accommodation in Sacramento. At 7 pm, Il Fornaio was not busy; we were shown to a table next to a wall, which had been our only specific request, since we sometimes have trouble hearing each other in a crowded room.
Somehow, everything we ate that night was the best. That was due in no small part to Zachary, our waiter, showing such courtesy and attention, and pronouncing in what seemed like Italy-born Italian the menu items we were considering. Three kinds of bread (remember, "fornaio" means "baker", so the bread is the restaurant) were served with a smooth combination of oil and vinegar.The Capellini al Pomodoro (tomato pasta) and Insalata di Bietole (beet salad) were -- pardon what seems hyperbole -- exquisite. Zachary recommended that for dessert we order the panna cotta espreso, which was not on the menu; it was, OK, simply the best panna cotta I've ever had, with a very light espresso flavoring, presented with a flourish of whipped cream dotted with raspberry jam.
Parking was not a problem at all. The restaurant comped our parking in the gated parking lot of the Wells Fargo Building, which is also on the ground floor.
Take some time to enjoy the decorations, window frames, floors, furniture -- someone put a lot of thought and artistic expression into its design.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Thanks for the great review John, I will make sure Zack sees it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

We had dinner on a Monday night. Be sure you ask to be seated on the Patio - we had them move us from inside and were so happy we did. It is a great atmosphere to enjoy the wonderful food. We passed on the tasting menu and ordered from the main. The pace was perfect and service excellent (Thanks Zachary!). If you're in/near downtown Sacramento, make this a stop.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marc s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Thanks for the kind words Marc!!
We appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

Nice ambiance, nice to have a sort of prix fixe with three courses. Had the polenta, don't remember my second course, and the pork chop and it was all very delicious. Also ordered the flight of wine that was suggested to accompany each course. While not included, we did share the suggested dessert of tart with rum ice cream and it was amazing. I was with a couple of friends so it made the whole experience that much better. The wine choices were delicious and dinner was very well done.

Thank rmdy_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Thanks for the kind words, we appreciate them!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Fornaio also viewed

 

Been to Il Fornaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing