We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 - 18:00
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Oakfield Park
from US$15.25
More Info
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveller rating
172
27
11
4
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
172
27
11
4
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train ride walled garden santa experience steam engine santa express choo choo beautiful estate real treasure my mum open to the public upper gardens lovely food lovely place to visit wishing tree lovely walk puppet show meet santa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 224 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2020 via mobile

What an experience!!! Having never been to Oakfield Park before, I was a little apprehensive considering we're in the throws of a pandemic! However my worries soon disappeared. Strict covid guidelines were in place right from entry point e.g. temp checks, face masks, social distancing, cleaning in progress throughout. It really was a magical experience, not just for my granddaughter but for all the family. From Mrs. Clause who was an absolute gem with her two little puppet buddies, the elves who were fabulous, friendly and full of energy, the train ride with all the beautiful lights and lots to see along the way, Santa's grotto was beautiful and kids got to play games with the elves, while maintaining social distancing. I could go on and on really. I look forward to going back next year again but will certainly visit these beautiful grounds throughout the year.
Huge congrats to all involved for putting a wonderful experience together in a year where it would have been easier to keep the doors closed. Oakfield Park is a real treasure.

Date of experience: December 2020
1  Thank RoseMMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dwjf123, Manager at Oakfield Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2020

Thank you so much for your review!
It is so heartwarming to read a review of someone who has really enjoyed themselves and taken such time to detail their experience.
We’re delighted you had a good time and with the feedback in a difficult year.
Again thank you, and Happy Christmas to you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2020

The Santa Express is absolutely fantastic this year (2020). My family and I attend the Santa express every year, and I must say this year was the best to date. All of the staff at Oakfield park have completely outdone themselves. They were exceptional, especially considering the struggles and challenges everyone is facing this year. We arrived two hours before our train was due to depart. We all had our temperature checked before being granted entry to the park, this gave us all peace of mind. We then enjoyed a delicious complementary hot chocolate, followed by an amazing meal in Buffers restaurant. We then went in and met Mrs. Claus, who did some stand up comedy for us and spent quite a while talking to our daughter. She was fabulous and made our little girl feel very special. She then introduced us to her friends Peagreen and Omelette. ( Puppet show). The puppet show was hilarious. I could easily tell that a lot of work has gone into this routine. We then went to the train station to catch our train to Santa's grotto. There we met three of the most joyful/energetic Elves (Choo Choo, Peeps and Hero) who delivered Elf and safety to us before showing us to our carriage and entertained us as we were waiting to depart. The Elves at the grotto kept us very entertained until we met Santa. The elves were extremely interactive while maintaining social distancing regulations. Santa was extremely happy to meet our daughter again and have a talk with her from a safe distance. The photographers then took some amazing professional photos for us which we received in a beautiful Oakfield Park mount. The photographer himself was wonderful and a true asset to the team. We could have spent hours just playing with the Elves on location and there were some excellent games set out at a safe social distance for us to play among our family at the grotto too. It is important to note that the whole event maintained excellent Covid-19 regulations, in such a way that we were able to put it all to the back of our minds and just enjoy the event. We then caught the train back to the train station which was beautiful. The lights were truly spectacular and all of the installations along the way such as Mrs. Claus's washing line, a gingerbread house and Extensive Whoville and Grinch installation were all exceptional and a really nice touch to the already picturesque journey. We took part in the reindeer games to end off our night which were very well laid out and a lot of fun for the whole family. By far the best experience yet at Oakfield Park. Compliments and a huge thank you to Management/head Elves, Mr. and Mrs. Clause, the Elves, Pea Green and Omelette, Buffers Staff and all of the other people involved this year. You have all come together and created a special Christmas experience . You should all be very proud. Thank you. James

Date of experience: December 2020
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dwjf123, Manager at Oakfield Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2020

Thank you so much, James for what is perhaps the most detailed review we have ever received. We really appreciate you taking the time to go through your experience in detail so that others can benefit from what is provided from start to finish during The Santa Express.
It has been a difficult year for us all but we are so happy to hear that the efforts to be able to run the event for this year have been worth it.
Again, thank you and have a fantastic Christmas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2020

The Santa express train isn't bad but is over priced. Been to cheaper Santa trains and they are every bit as good. The elves will single you out if you don't dance or sing then make you do something Infront of the crowd to embarrass you. Don't agree with this as they don't know what illness someone has and the reason why some isn't singing or dancing. I suffer anxiety and went home feeling very upset about the experience. Will not be back.

Date of experience: December 2020
1  Thank Rap3050
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dwjf123, Manager at Oakfield Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2020

Sorry to hear that you had such a disastrous time to award a 1 star review. All others have been 5 star so it’s disappointing for us too, to say the least.
The elves are trained and very adept at getting parents to join in. Children tend to have a great time no matter what and I suppose that’s the primary objective. I hope that your children enjoyed their experience.
Perhaps there were other parts of the event that you enjoyed?
For this to be your first review, you obviously wanted to feed back and thank you for this. I know you won’t be back next year but hopefully you would enjoy a quiet summer visit more suited to the adults.
Have a nice Christmas, from everyone at Oakfield Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2020 via mobile

We brought our 6 and 7 year old to Oakfield park to see santa and it was a fantastic experience for all of us. From the decorations to the energetic elves playing games with the kids to the breathtaking train ride and although we had a social distance visit with santa in a mask it didn't dissapoint. Delicious food from the Buffer restaurant afterwards, takeaway only but outdoor heated area provided with a puppetshow from Mrs Claus. Bitter cold so wrap up well and enjoy.

Date of experience: December 2020
1  Thank PCampDonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dwjf123, Manager at Oakfield Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2020

Thank you so much for your kind and detailed review.
We really appreciate you taking the time and moreover, we are delighted your family had such a great time.
Happy Christmas and hope to see you again in 2021!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2020 via mobile

We loved this place , it is absolutely beautiful !
There's so much to see and lots of walks to enjoy .
You could very easily spend an entire day here and not be at all bored .
Lunch at Buffers was very tasty and much enjoyed , all Covid restrictions were very obviously being adhered to .
We thoroughly enjoyed our entire visit and shall most definitely return .

Date of experience: September 2020
1  Thank 2020vision
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dwjf123, Manager at Oakfield Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2020

Thank you so much for your detailed and accurate review and for the 5 star rating!

We’re delighted you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you again in 2021.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews