We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from Tripadvisor:Temporarily closed
Open today: 00:00 - 18:00
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Oakfield Park
from US$12.69
More Info
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveller rating
169
27
10
4
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
169
27
10
4
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train ride walled garden santa experience steam engine santa express choo choo beautiful estate real treasure my mum open to the public upper gardens lovely food puppet show meet santa santa's grotto maze picnic
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 218 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2020 via mobile

We went to Buffers last night for their Special Valentines Dinner. The food was exceptional. So lovely to have local produce prepared and served in a way that enhanced its flavour and goodness. The staff were friendly and helpful. All in all a nice relaxed evening with just the right amount of time between courses. Thank you Joseph and team. It was a really lovely evening. The best meal we have had in a long time. We look forward to more of these nights in the future

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank Sylvia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dwjf123, General Manager at Oakfield Park, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2020

Thank you for your kind review, Sylvia.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your evening and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
We really appreciate the feedback and hope to run many more evenings in Buffers this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2019 via mobile

Excellent. Well laid out, things to do for kids. Friendly elves. The train ride and Santa visit was the highlight. Good quality presents. Light displays are very good. Kids (and adults) loved it.

Date of experience: December 2019
1  Thank dusty69205
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dwjf123, Manager at Oakfield Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2020

Thanks so much for the 5 star review.
We really appreciate the kind feedback and we’re delighted you had a great time. Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2019

Pros: The view is fantastic, the massive props make for gorgeous family photos and the train is fabulous! The elves employed here made this what it is. They were committed to a full performance the entire time and were so enthusiastic. We had a lovely time on the train and the lovely display at the end is great too with the little train going around. Mrs clause is also in a gazebo at the end presenting the kids with their elf school certificates, which was beautiful and made for great photos. The grounds and the staff are fantastic. Such an atmosphere and the tiny little train station is a cracker. A beautiful place and a lovely day out all in all. We got stuck behind a tractor and were late and the staff couldnt do enough to help us. Reception and train staff were so kind and so patient with the kids. So convincing as real elves.

Cons: Santa didnt smile in our photo and he was looking over to one side, for the second year in a row. It ruined the photo he looked a tad bored. The photographer was a tad stand offish and didnt interact with the kids at all. There is no actual elf school which we found misleading. We got a tiny paper cup of hot chocolate from a mobile coffee van at the end, out of 3 hot water canisters which were lukewarm. I asked for extra hot and she said yes and then had the brass neck to turn and use the same canister in front of us. She then half filled them all which quite a few of the adults next to us complained about and she became a tad defensive. My husband finished his in 2 mouthfuls. For €95 for 5 of us that's a bit much. I'd spend that kind of budget on a visit to somewhere you can have a sit down hot drink in a mug in the heat next time and perhaps a santa with glasses or a real beard or something like that. Small things make all the difference.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Emma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dwjf123, Manager at Oakfield Park, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2019

Hi Emma
Sorry that everything wasn’t to your satisfaction. Thank you for what is mostly positive feedback and for bringing our attention to a few things.
We just have to say that there is a full challenge with 8 challenges to become and elf and graduate with a gown with Mrs Claus.
You are also very welcome to get a hot drink in a mug in the restaurant which is open throughout the event.
Sorry that Santa wasn’t looking for the photo - the photographers should have taken another photograph and this is something that we will look into.
Anyway, thanks for the 3 stars for the positive elements in the first paragraph.
Happy Christmas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2019

Myself and my youngest daughter visited oakfield today for the santa express train and all though I have been there before with our oulder kids today was even better..... it seems like they have really got everything right..... to start of with I made a mistake booking our tickets and phoned them up 4 days before going and without any problems I was able to change them.... once we landed the staff was welcoming and very helpful..... the train ride was brilliant..the grounds are spectacular and very much dedicated to make it for the kids.... we meet Santa and received a lovely gift which my daughter loved.... there is a photographer ther to give you the choice if you would like a photo with santa in a cardboard frame.... the return back on the train is longer and very enjoyable... once u get back there is loads to do.... buffers is a lovely restaurant which we had hot chocolate and cake... which for the two of us was only €10.50 well worth it.... plus there was a tent with render games another tent which I can't remember the name off.... which had face painting.. card making and art work plus a sweetie shop..... all this is free... (apart from the sweets) which I thought was brilliant because you didn't feel as if every corner you turned someone was trying to get money out of you....whill we were there i noticed I had lost my phone so started retracing our tracks and got speeking to a young girl in the restaurant who had served us either.... chantelle was her name this young lady went out of her way to help and used her own phone to track down mine...... even to the point that after we had left the restaurant telling her I had lost my phone she followed us to help..... it just goes to show how good the staff is to make you feel welcome...... this place is a must if you have kids and want a lovely day out..... well done oakfield and staff..... as we were leaving there was 3 coach's landed.... the place was so busy it had such a Christmas buzz about it..... on the way home my 7yr old asked can we go back next year.... yes we will.... you can spend hrs here and give yourself loads of time before and after train ride..... once again well done oakfield.....

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank RoyS371
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dwjf123, Manager at Oakfield Park, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2019

Thank you so much for your kind and detailed review of The Santa Express. We’re delighted you had such a great time (and that you got your phone back!) - will pass on your comments to Chantel in Buffers.
There is a great buzz throughout the event and thank you for being part of that, making it fully booked out.
We really appreciate the positive comments.
Happy Christmas from everyone at Oakfield Park!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2019 via mobile

We send back again last night to this Santa express we had a real great time with kids we went to Rath wood last year which was very good too and have to say the Oakfield park is best Santa experience

Kids want to go back again I think that’s says it all ,we spent nearly 4 hours there so enjoyable

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Cavanmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dwjf123, Manager at Oakfield Park, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2019

Thanks for the kind review - I’m assuming after a trip from Cavan?
We really appreciate your comments and particularly the bit about The Santa Express being the best. Delighted the kids enjoyed it and want to come back as that’s what it’s all about.
Many thanks again and Happy Christmas to you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews