We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 - 18:00
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Oakfield Park
from US$15.29
More Info
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveller rating
172
27
11
4
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
172
27
11
4
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train ride walled garden santa experience steam engine santa express choo choo beautiful estate real treasure my mum open to the public upper gardens lovely food lovely place to visit wishing tree lovely walk puppet show meet santa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 224 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2019 via mobile

My partner and I chose a showery day in August to visit Oakfield Park but found plenty of little places to shelter from the rain.
The sculptures dotted around the grounds add to the beauty of the gardens.
Although we had visited a few years ago it was lovely to see new areas of interest - including the tearoom/cafeteria which is very well themed.
The staff we met were really friendly and we spent a lovely few hours exploring the upper and lower gardens.
We shall definitely return.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank ValerieC113
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dwjf123, Manager at Oakfield Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2019

Hi Valerie
Thank you for your lovely, and detailed review.
We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and look forward to having you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2019

This place is absolutely stunning. The grounds are beautiful and so well kept. My son enjoyed the little train and the park area. Unfortunately we had poor service in the cafe and ended up having to leave earlier than planned to get food elsewhere. I hope they iron out these issues in future as its such a shame.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Emma40s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dwjf123, Manager at Oakfield Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2019

Thank you for your review, Emma
Ok delighted that you enjoyed your visit and really appreciate the description of the park and how well it is maintained.
I’m disappointed that you weren’t 100% satisfied in the cafe and apologise for that. Most people are glowing about it. I hope you will return again and give it a try and trust you will enjoy it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2019

Visited Oakfield Park on a busy Saturday afternoon and really enjoyed it. Entrance is € 14 each and and extra €5. We had no idea that the grounds and gardens were so extensive and well maintained. We visited Buffers Bistro and enjoyed a nice coffee and muffin while waiting for the wee train around the garden. It was a very busy Saturday and service was slow but the girls were run off their feet.Over 10 euro for 2 which is a bit pricey but what a location ! The next train ride was due at 4.00 and there was a queue of people with small restless children but the train didn't leave until nearly 4.10 which was an unnecessary delay as the train was there and the driver was just standing around. A great place for a family day out.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank holidayseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dwjf123, Manager at Oakfield Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2019

Thanks for the review. We appreciate the feedback and we’re delighted that you enjoyed your visit. Not sure why the train left ten minutes late but will look into it. Entrance is only €9 with a €5 train ride bringing the total up to €14.
Again, many thanks for the feedback and 5 stars.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2019 via mobile

We visited fairly randomly, hoping for a nice garden to look round, as we are garden buffs, but this is a truly stunning garden! Can’t believe it’s not more widely known. It was very quiet.

Beautiful sweeping vistas and sculptures, wild flower meadows, lakes, and an incredible series of flowery walled garden rooms. Highlights for me were the two wildflower meadows, the beautiful lake by the house, and the aspen tree circle right at the far end of the estate. And the ‘fairy tree’ covered in cute kiddie wishes. And an amazing heritage tree- a very old sweet chestnut. In fact I loved all of it!

There’s a little train you can ride round in, a playground and a very nice new restaurant- food looked fantastic.

Date of experience: July 2019
2  Thank Sueberoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dwjf123, Manager at Oakfield Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2019

Thank you for the kind review. We are known as the secret jewel in the heart of Donegal and this is something that is slowly changing!
We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and appreciated some of the horticultural features around the grounds. Hope to see you again soon when you can try the food too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2019

We went on the way home from a holiday with our 2year old in Donegal. It was great! Great train ride for 15 minutes, great restaurant with really friendly staff and good food for kids, great kids park with a train for children to climb on. It all just felt really well maintained and we had a great time even in the rain.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Zoe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dwjf123, Manager at Oakfield Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2019

Thank you for the 5 star review.
We really appreciate it and although it was raining on your visit it’s great to hear that weather wasn’t an obstacle. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews