We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty tacos and burritos!”

Los Gallos Taqueria
Ranked #41 of 317 Restaurants in Redwood City
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Reviewed 5 November 2017

Their fish tacos are very good and so are their fish burritos - they are so full and juicy though, that they fall apart! Great chips and salsa bar too! They only take cash though, which is a bummer.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank IlariaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2017

Three people on a business lunch. Beautiful day and ate outdoors. Everyone enjoyed their meal. I had a shrimp Quesadilla that was great. Best one I've had, next to "The South" Restaurant in Denver. Others had Tacos and Tamales. Great too.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

I have been coming to Los Gallos for years. Eating a meal there always makes me feel happy. Who could ask for more?

I almost always eat two chile rellenos, with rice and beans, and corn tortillas. Yum. Generous portion, good price, and well prepared food served quickly. In the local area, the best chile rellenos I have eaten and the quality is consistent the many times I have had them.

They have a very nice salsa bar with: three salsas; a nopalito salad; jalapeno, carrot and onion escabeche; limes and radishes. Knock yourself out on all the warm corn tortilla chips you want.

Tequila bar, too. Also, a patio. It overlooks the parking lot, but is large enough that you are not sitting next to the cars and a pleasant place to sit on a warm evening.

Nice place to order and take home, too.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Falafelsryummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

For the price, this is a great place. Fantastic tasty tacos, huge choice of extras like nopal, radishes, salsas, etc. This is the only place I know that has buche, my favorite taco.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Virgil_Boulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

This is a small local taqueria & Mexican restaurant that became one of our "go to" places for fast, cheap food -- like those nights when you don't feel like cooking and you're too mentally tired to go to a nice restaurant and spend brain cells deciding on menu choices.

Their super burritos are huge monsters. Our favorite dishes there are the carnitas super quesadilla, the carnitas super burrito, and their soft corn tortilla tacos (carnitas, carne asada).

I usually ordered 2 ala cart tacos. Just meat with some meat-specific condiments and no rice or guacamole. They are pretty generous with the meat and since each taco comes with two corn tortillas, you can turn your two tacos into four easier to eat tacos. A really cheap meal, particularly since you get free chips and salsa.

They have a self-serve chips and salsa bar. I really like their hot salsa. It probably comes out of a can rather than being made fresh in the kitchen. Even so, it's really hot and flavorful.

Two cautions:
1. Generally, their food is a bit on the salty side. But since I like salt....
2. This is a cash-only place.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank 389tonyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Los Gallos Taqueria also viewed

 
Redwood City, CA
 
Redwood City, CA
 

Been to Los Gallos Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing