We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (290)
Filter reviews
290 results
Traveller rating
71
72
75
40
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
72
75
40
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful golf course san diego spa tennis wedding
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 290 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

The kindest thing that I can tell you about the rooms at Morgan run is that The club/hotel is said in a very beautiful area of San Diego.

I would give this no stars if it were possible.

The entire facility should be bulldozed down or millions of dollars should be put in to upgrade it.

The room I stayed in was dirty, The walls were dirty, the carpet was filthy and in need of replacement pulling away from the walls as well at the thresholds into the bathroom.

The entire room smells like musty mold.

Apparently new furniture has been placed in these rooms. The furniture is the lowest possible end of hotel furniture that can be purchased and does not excuse the condition of these rooms or the room that I was in.

Very very dated AC unit that is stuck in the wall is not sealed correctly and there is openings from the AC unit to the outside again disgusting.

The tiny overwrapped bar of hand soap that I couldn’t get open because it is sealed like something you would buy at a big box store is ridiculous. could you possibly find anything any cheaper or more difficult open?

This property has always had an issue about spending money and to ask people to come in and stay or to have anybody stay is amazing to me.

Fixing common areas, having a beautiful golf course and in a beautiful location does not make for a comfortable stay. They should be ashamed of themselves.

Spend the money, fix it up and make it at least equal to a lower level chain motel.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank triptakerSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

Our stay was 2 nights. Golf course is solid, appears to have been remodeled in the last few years. Bunkers were deepened. The rooms were solid, but unspectacular. A good value for the area. Fitness center is excellent.

Room tip: Face the golf course if possible.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank markhV2949OV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

Background: 3 day, 2 night stay as part of a large group golf outing.
Review: Morgan Run is rather difficult to rate with a single number, but the average of my five numbers is a little less than three. Here goes:
5: Staff - Across the board, the staff were friendly, accommodating, and knowledgeable, even when they did not know what they were doing (see billing below), they were super people.
4.5: Food - Loved the food at grill and at our group's buffet. Kudos to kitchen staff.
4: Golf Course: A what-you-see-is-what-you-get course. Not gimmicky (I favor those courses); A fair tract, with well placed bunkers and good greens. Few memorable holes, but no gawd-awful ones. Three nines - I liked North best, I think. Golf staff all helpful.
3: Room: An '80's style room with wifi and a Keurig. Shower: OK; Bed: Fair; Pillows: Good; TV: The dreaded long delay when seeking new channel; AC: Noisy, noisy, noisy; Tech Friendly Rating is 2/5 - Need more and better placed outlets; Wifi average; security below average.
2: Signage: From finding Hole #2 on East (?) to the distant cart barn to finding rooms anywhere, Morgan Run needs to spend a few pennies on decent, accurate, attractive signage for guests.
1.5: Noise: Everything here is noisy - 'nuff said. Oops. Loved breathing the morning air on the course at 5:30 am - serene and beautiful.
1: Early Sunday grill closed: Early Sunday tee time. Grill closed. Nothing to eat before play. Inexcusable. Staff smiled and shrugged.
0: Billing: I was here as part of a group - set rate, paid in advance. Baloney. They billed me for an extra night room, taxes galore, separate rounds of golf, and nothing added up to the group rate. The overcharge was at least $200, but the desk clerks were clueless about how to correct things. Supposedly, after ten-fifteen minutes of us all reviewing the bill item by contentious item, they said they could not do the bill with me standing there, and that they would email the corrected bill. I had to leave, so I agreed. Still waiting...... Expecting the worst, hoping for fairness and accuracy.

Another resort that is fine, but could be much, much better if management a) sweated the details b) saw the bigger picture as much as the hourly staff seem to.

Room tip: 1) Ask for room with a view of golf course. Many, many rooms face parking lots. 2) Check your bill daily!
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Glenn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

I do not have anything to recommend on Morgan Run unless one is there to play golf. I was mainly there to stay away from hotels near freeways and downtown area. Once in the hotel room, I hear various noises. From my room, I could hear the conversations from rooms next door, from hallway, loud conversations from the outdoor patio and guests from upstairs room keep stamping on the floor, toilet flushing sounded like water fall. It sounds like there is virtually no insulation between the rooms and floors. The room interior is mixed. Bathroom looks renovated but the grouts were cracked and dirty. The A/C unit is the wall type which is loud.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 912dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

Nice room. No fridge or microwave in room. Limited soap. Frontdesk staff gave no information regarding the locations of anything...pool...restaurant. Older rooms but comfortable bed. Lighting poor. Parking great.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Cotagirl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews