We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Il Forno Classico

Il Forno Classico
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Description: We specialize in fresh made Italian style dishes; Hand Tossed Pizzas, freshly sautéed pasta, fresh seafood-like salmon, halibut, scallops, and shrimp and fresh Angus beef.There is an exhibitionary kitchen in the main dining room, a full bar, a wine shop and private room as well as two outdoor patios.The wine list is a five time Wine Spectator Award Winning List. We feature over fifty wines by the glass; our specialty is west coast Cabernet sauvignon with over 200 selections. All wine is available to purchase to go at standard retail or less. In the restaurant the most it would cost is $14 over retail. The wine shop also doubles as a private dining room that can accommodate up to 30 sit down or 40 as a cocktail party.Two outdoor patios are in front of the restaurant for those who enjoy people watching.
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

I read the reviews before I went to the restaurant and the reviews were pretty accurate. I sat at the bar and Sean was my server. He was very professional, the food was fantastic and the prices were reasonable for a place of this caliber. I ordered gelato for dessert and it was very good as well. The wine selection was excellent and I wasn’t disappointed in any part of my meal

Thank JosephDonahue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott L, Owner at Il Forno Classico, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Hello Joseph,
Thank you so much for your review of your experience. I am sure Sean will be very to to read it. We are really glad you enjoyed your experience and look forward to your return. Take care, Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2018

Don't let the shopping mall location fool you-- this is a wonderful Italian restaurant, decked out in festive accents (including large, colorful flags and photos from Sienna). The menu offered many delectable dishes, from pastas to fish, meat, and salads. I always judge Italian by their bread, and we weren't disappointed. And it came with a rich olive oil/balsamic mixture. They offer generous portions from side salads to entrees. My partner ordered a mussel heavy seafood pasta dish and I opted for a skirt steak salad, teeming with small onion rings and gorgonzola. In a word: Delicious! I was impressed with their cocktails and wine list, which included affordable reds (we had a very nice Stonestreet cab). Definitely worth visiting if you're in the area.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stephenrwolcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott L, Owner at Il Forno Classico, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Hello Stephen,
I really enjoyed reading your review of your experience recently. I appreciate all the detail you put in to it. Hopefully next time your in town you will remember to visit. Take care, Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

My wife and I dined here for dinner on 7/8/2018. The menu has many items to choose from, and their wine list has a nice selection as well. Service was good, although there was some wait time between our salads and entrees.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DennisAtkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott L, Owner at Il Forno Classico, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Hello Dennis,
Thank you for your kind review of our restaurant and wine program. We feature close to 600 different wines and 60 by the glass. Thanks for letting us know about the wait. Always good to get feedback. Hopefully you'll be back soon. Take care, Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Very professional and polite service. I was there for a private gathering. The service was buffet style with mostly appetizers.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott L, Owner at Il Forno Classico, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Hi Carole,
I am so glad you enjoyed our private room in the wine shop. It's a great location for private events. We are glad you enjoyed the food and service as well. I hope your group will think of us for future events. Thanks for the review. Take care, Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

We were in the area for a national rowing event, and went based on the reviews. We were disappointed. The bread WAS very tasty, but we have access to excellent artisan breads from our local bakery. While the restaurant was packed and very noisy, the service was great. The food was expensive and the portions were huge. We found the quality of the food to be “ok”, but not exceptional. But, given the quantities, we did end up with leftovers (for dinner) the following night. We all thought they tasted better reheated.

Thank surness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott L, Owner at Il Forno Classico, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Hello Surness,
Thank you for your feedback from your experience recently. I am sorry you didn't feel that we lived up to our reputation. I assure you we use the highest quality ingredients, but the execution could have been off just a bit when we were so busy. I am really glad you were happy with the service when we were so busy. We are used to being busy but rarely some dish will get through that needed another minute or went a minute too long or something to that effect. I do apologize again and wish you and your team the best. Take care, Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Forno Classico also viewed

 
Rancho Cordova, CA
 
Rancho Cordova, CA
 

Been to Il Forno Classico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing