We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Historic place in Tõrva, with old ruins, caves and ancient wellspring

Especially interesting are the legends and tales about the wellspring near the caves, were ancient... read more

Reviewed 30 August 2017
CyberSurrealist
,
Tallinn, Estonia
Nice break in the drive from Cesis to Tallinn

We stopped off here on our way to Tallinn and it's a great chance to stretch your legs. The caves... read more

Reviewed 10 May 2017
Guernseygirl25
,
Guernsey, CI
via mobile
Read all 15 reviews
  
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
8
5
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
8
5
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2017

Especially interesting are the legends and tales about the wellspring near the caves, were ancient people practised fertility and beauty rituals.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank CyberSurrealist
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 May 2017 via mobile

We stopped off here on our way to Tallinn and it's a great chance to stretch your legs. The caves were once used by noblemen for dinners. Only part of them can be seen now, as the soft sandstone has collapsed, but still a good place for a break.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Guernseygirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

The caves and ruins are nice, and it's a nice place for a short hike. The caves are only about 20 meters deep, but it was enough for the kids who loved to explore them with flashlights.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank apnielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

We stopped by on our way to Pärnu from Tõrva. This place is a little bit mystical. The caves have collapsed, so the question remains, where they could have led centuries ago. Great for a walk in the nature.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Pillmaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 August 2021
Google Translation

Date of experience: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews