We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food, great staff”

Suur Muna - cafe and restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Haanja
Price range: US$5 - US$14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: SUUR MUNA is a country lifestyle coffee shop and restaurant for the whole family.This family owned restaurant is a true gateway to gourmet farm-to-table dining, inspired by seasonal products provided by local suppliers. In the restaurant there are 40 seats on the first floor, big terrace with full sunshine for 50 people. Kids can enjoy playground in the garden and inside of restaurant.
Reviewed 19 August 2020 via mobile

Fantastic food, great staff and fun place.
Definitely stop by if visiting Munamagi mountain or just passing by. Great place to catch breath and relax in summer, but looked like it could also be cool in winter time, when its also open.
Have great choices of local food made from local ingredients. Always a place for a drink/coffee/herb tea and a cake or salad. Funky and hip design with a great atmosphere.
However best to make sure and have enough time for local flavour feast and have some of the main menu - local game, lamb, beef or pike perch. Kids have great choices here and are not forgotten - starting from potato/beef cutlet to pancakes. Make sure to come timely for dinner as the kitchen closes 20:30 but mains might not be available already 20:00 if its busy.
Thanks again to all the staff there- both food and service were fantastic!

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank 777ogre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suurmuna, Owner at Suur Muna - cafe and restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2020

Thank you for such a detailed review! Hope to see you again, soon! :) Thank you for this boost! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2020 via mobile

This place is a top for local food taste. From starter to deserts. Just amazing. Smoked local cheese and meet, fish and wild meat. Disco toilet upstairs Recommend

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank Sergeivorax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2019 via mobile

It is an amazing place. Good local food, cakes to die for. Sometimes in evenings as cinema. In winter time also possible to do husky trips, have to be booked in advance. Over all great place

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank ElinP2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helina V, Owner at Suur Muna - cafe and restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2019

Thank you Elin,
You are always very welcome back :)
Suur Muna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2019

Lots of cool stuff on their menu showing foods from the local area. We had the amazing mushrooms that everyone forages for in summer and also some delicious pulled pork. Friendly service but uncomfortable chairs outside! Worth checking out.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MeMock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2019

This is a hidden gem in southern Estonia. It is located at the base of Suur Munamägi (Egg Mountain) in Voru county. They have seating outside and an upper level. It is a very relaxing atmosphere with truly amazing Estonian food.

The menu is on a large board on the wall. We ordered our food and it was delivered to our table outside. A few of us ordered potatoes, cabbage soup and a herring dish, which was set out on tables as self-serve. I was so surprised at how fantastic the food tasted! I even indulged in a dessert and cappuccino.

When we needed to use the restroom the women directed us upstairs and told us to have fun. We thought that was a very strange thing to say, but thought maybe it's just an Estonian thing. Well, I completely understood when I opened the door. A disco ball started flashing, lighting up the entire room, posters of ABBA plastered on the walls and their music blaring. It was hilarious! I completely understood why the women told us to have fun! There are two restrooms and each has a different theme. I wish I could upload my short video of the disco ball! I believe another review has a photo.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Suur Muna - cafe and restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.