We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They were very helpful”
Review of Abalone Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Point Reyes Station
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Abalone Inn
Reviewed 27 December 2011

I had driven up from Monterey and out to the point when I realized I needed more time in the area. They were recommended as "maybe" dog friendly and after quizzing me about my sweet ten year old dog had me come over to see the room, which was a converted back sun room.

Donna invited me in for a little shared dinner as I was the only guest and we had a nice chat about the property. She showed me through the entire house and if I hadn't had a dog, I would have chosen the front room (northeast corner) which looks over the march (and the road).

The back room on the main floor is on the southeast corner where there is an organic garden.

Access to the hot tub was a nice treat on such a cold night in the winter - it happened to be the solstice!

It is an old house, which lends it that kind of charm.

Wifi, kitchenette, tub, comfortable bed, view of the stars through the back window panes and a comfy chair from which to work online!

In the morning I took a nice walk on a recommended trail (it was frosty!).

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andreeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2011

We discovered Abalone Inn about 8 years ago. Since then we've been there at least once a year and sometimes more. Donna is wonderful, our rooms have always been comfortable, breakfast has always been healthful and flavorful, the hot tub exquisite, and our overall experience has kept us going back. In fact, my wife and I will be there again this month (August 2011). We enjoy meeting others, not the sterility of a hotel, but the true comfort of a home. In fact, we have a several friends who have us remove our shoes when we enter their homes. Donna is not doing anything weird, unless you call being friendly weird, as some people apparently do.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

It's ok if you like to stay overnight in wonderful Point Reyes National Park. Inside is a little less elegant and comfortable than you'd expect from outside appearance and professionally made leaflet you find at the visitor centers.
But have a look yourself, take a tour of the room before you book, and judge for yourself whether you can get along with it. :)
PS: all the funny details from the other reviews are true :D

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tr4ve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stopped on impulse as we planned to go to the light house the next day.
Donna offered us the attic room which was fabulous and just right for the two parents and two older children.
We only had one night there but , swould have loved to stay longer. The hot tub was the best experience .
Donna was welcoming and kind and I loved the eclectic mix of books and magazines that we could look at.
Yes, there are a few instructions in the place but there has to be as it is an old house with its quirks . I was more than happy to take my shoes off at the door etc. It made perfect sense.[wooden floors etc]
I would recommend this place as a great place to stay. If you want modern , sanitised accomodation then stay in a modern hotel/motel.
T

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dinah5690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Reserving was easy, Donna was friendly and helpful and generous with her time in helping us plan our activities (biking, dining, and a farmer's market trip). She even shared some organic plums with us which grow all over the grounds. The room was clean, cozy, quiet, and way more charming than your average 4 star hotel. The house is rustic and beautiful and surrounded with daisies, and there's a well-stocked library with board games, DVDs, & all the tea and sherry you can drink. Abalone Inn has the feel of a well-kept posada (Latin American guesthouse) or an eco-lodge off the beaten track. We'll go back to point reyes just to stay here again, and we'll send our friends too!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HLHOakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Reyes Station
4.7 km away
The Lodge at Point Reyes
2.5 km away
Point Reyes Vineyard Inn
Point Reyes Vineyard Inn
#5 of 15 in Point Reyes Station
19 reviews
4.4 km away
Point Reyes Hostel
Point Reyes Hostel
#1 of 1 in Point Reyes National Seashore
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abalone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abalone Inn

Address: 12355 Sir Francis Drake Blvd, Point Reyes Station, CA 94956
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Point Reyes Station
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Point Reyes Station
Price Range: €93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between San Francisco and the Wine Country on a hillside overlooking Point Reyes Wetlands, pastures, and Black Mountain, the Abalone Inn welcomes you with hospitality and old-fashioned ambiance. The restored Victorian has three unique guestrooms and a congenial atmosphere. A perfect retreat for outdoor enthusiasts and those who appreciate efforts toward living in a more eco-friendly manner. In partnership with the Point Reyes National Seashore, the Inn's proprietors are the coordinators of Sustainable West Marin and are working toward a simpler, greener lifestyle. We are conveniently located in the village of Inverness Park, half a block from dining, groceries and picnic supplies. Minutes from the redwoods and beaches of the Point Reyes National Seashore and just two miles from Park Headquarters. Abundant outdoor activities await you: beach walks, kayaking, bicycling, hiking, birding, and horseback riding. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing