We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Point Reyes Vineyard Inn(Point Reyes Station)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
37
17
8
7
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
17
8
7
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold houseattic suitehot tubthe ownerfruitlate in the eveningtomales baybring your ownnegative reviewsnational seashorebeautiful viewdonadonnainvernesssettingmainstreamprivacy
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We discovered Abalone Inn about 8 years ago. Since then we've been there at least once a year and sometimes more. Donna is wonderful, our rooms have always been comfortable, breakfast has always been healthful and flavorful, the hot tub exquisite, and our overall experience has kept us going back. In fact, my wife and I will be there again this month (August 2011). We enjoy meeting others, not the sterility of a hotel, but the true comfort of a home. In fact, we have a several friends who have us remove our shoes when we enter their homes. Donna is not doing anything weird, unless you call being friendly weird, as some people apparently do.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

It's ok if you like to stay overnight in wonderful Point Reyes National Park. Inside is a little less elegant and comfortable than you'd expect from outside appearance and professionally made leaflet you find at the visitor centers.
But have a look yourself, take a tour of the room before you book, and judge for yourself whether you can get along with it. :)
PS: all the funny details from the other reviews are true :D

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tr4ve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stopped on impulse as we planned to go to the light house the next day.
Donna offered us the attic room which was fabulous and just right for the two parents and two older children.
We only had one night there but , swould have loved to stay longer. The hot tub was the best experience .
Donna was welcoming and kind and I loved the eclectic mix of books and magazines that we could look at.
Yes, there are a few instructions in the place but there has to be as it is an old house with its quirks . I was more than happy to take my shoes off at the door etc. It made perfect sense.[wooden floors etc]
I would recommend this place as a great place to stay. If you want modern , sanitised accomodation then stay in a modern hotel/motel.
T

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dinah5690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Reserving was easy, Donna was friendly and helpful and generous with her time in helping us plan our activities (biking, dining, and a farmer's market trip). She even shared some organic plums with us which grow all over the grounds. The room was clean, cozy, quiet, and way more charming than your average 4 star hotel. The house is rustic and beautiful and surrounded with daisies, and there's a well-stocked library with board games, DVDs, & all the tea and sherry you can drink. Abalone Inn has the feel of a well-kept posada (Latin American guesthouse) or an eco-lodge off the beaten track. We'll go back to point reyes just to stay here again, and we'll send our friends too!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HLHOakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We were happy to find a room last minute at the unique Abalone Inn to stay with our new baby - we liked it so much we stayed a second night. Donna is warm and conscientious, and we really enjoyed the fact that it is an eco-establishment, and were happy to be told to turn the hot tub off when we were done. The hot tub is huge and clean - a real plus. We were not looking for fancy - if you are, this is not your spot. Daisey's filled the driveway, deer walked nearby, and fresh plums were in abundance in the lush garden outside. We didn't mind putting our toilet paper in a bag - what's the big deal?? The breakfast was fine - warm, english muffin, yogurt, mixed fruit, juice, tea and coffee. Donna cleaned our room between nights, and as someone who hates bugs and spiders, I didn't see any in our room. It definitely has a funky charm, but does not deserve the mean-spirited reviews it received here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank astarrfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews