We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (310)
Filter reviews
310 results
Traveller rating
111
112
40
26
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
111
112
40
26
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mark twain room gold rush ghost stories queen suite small kitchenette parking pass downtown placerville juice and coffee apple hill hot water continental breakfast free parking within easy walking distance restaurants and bars third floor mini fridge bed was comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 310 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2018

Upon check in we had to interrupt the desk clerk to get his attention. Zero personality and very uninformative. The room was comfortable. They no longer provide an evening wine reception in the lobby nor do they provide a breakfast. The air-conditioning was centrally controlled so we could not make the room cooler. There was a refrigerator in the room and a coffee maker. We were quoted a rate of $130 for the room but before check out my account was charged $185.90. I tried to reach the front desk on the phone and in person and ended up leaving a message about the wrong charge. To this time and date I have not received a call back to correct the wrong billing. Probably won't be back were sorry to say..

Room Tip: We had a back of the hotel corner room with two windows.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

I agree with other reviewers, don’t rent a room overlooking main street, kinda rowdy, but otherwise, a real dose of late 1800s, gold-rush comfort.. absolutely authentic, and how can you go wrong stretching out on the same couches, riding the same elevator, sleeping within the same four walls as Mark Twain, U. S. Grant, Horace Greeley and the dude whose name I can’t remember who supposedly sleep-walked out of a third-floor window (and survived)... loved this place, great hospitality, very reasonable prices, an ideal base to tour the surrounding 48-49er historic sites, beautiful trails, intriguing wineries..local eateries, incidentally, also excellent! Booked for 2 nights originally, extended 2 more and wish I’d had more time to spend here.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018

we were in room 201, sold to us as a "deluxe king" room. it did have a king bed, but was certainly not deluxe. it was clean, but aging. sheets were washed but well past their "use by" date. the air conditioner was great, and needed on a hot Placerville weekend. But we did not expect the bar directly under our room. they were rocking on saturday night. we came back to the hotel tired and ready to sleep. but the yelling the patrons and thumping music kept us up until midnight. not an experience we will repeat.

Room Tip: for sure not 201
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cec49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

I wish we could go back in time...and erase the fiasco that occurred on Friday, June 22, 2018. After booking our stay in April for two nights in June for our white water rafting tour we were excited to be staying at The Historic Cary House again for our second experience with them. Our first visit was wonderful, beautiful, comfortable, as well as in a great proximity to Main Street which had a local farmers market in addition to restaurants and curio shops. We arrived from our flight to Sacramento, waiting for check in time with a side trip to Old Town Sacramento to allow for the cleaning and preparing of our room. Excitement for our weekend get away was at it's peak! Upon check in, we were told that we were only booked for one night, Friday night, and that they did not have a room for us on Saturday night. IMPOSSIBLE! There would be NO WAY that we would ever agreed to book for one night only since our rafting tour started very early in the morning and we would not return until late in the day, way later than normal check out time. Despite our insistence that the error was on the part of Cary House staff we were not assisted in finding an alternative, not offered any conciliatory benefits for our extreme inconvenience. Even after requesting an email confirmation two times over the phone, and never getting one, we were assured that our stay for TWO NIGHTS was confirmed by phone. Low and behold!! We found that our stay on Saturday night was "also" booked by others who "supposedly" made their reservation several weeks before ours. Funny, since we requested a specific room and was told at the time we booked that it was definitely "reserved for us". As it was we had to back track toward Cameron to stay at THE ONLY hotel in the area that still had a room available for two nights, The Quality Inn, which in this case certainly was true. Maybe coincidence, maybe staff error, but THERE IS NO WAY we would have booked a single night at The Cary House when we were needing accomodations for two nights, three days!!! So....it seems the opportunity to expel us from our Saturday night stay was so, so fortunate for The Cary House since the rates for that one single night more than doubled!!! Low and behold! BEERFEST! The whole Main Street, which is where the hotel sits, was closed off for those who like to drink beer and embibe in a party atmosphere! It all made perfect sense now!! Why not blame the traveler who specifically stated they wanted a single room for two nights, when there is more money to be made with hiking the the rates and booting return customers who specifically flew in from a long distance and REQUESTED the same room as previously visited!!! Of course, it all made perfect sense now. The lack of assistance, even after requesting several times to speak with the manager, was unprofessional and discourteous. We were left unsure if we would find other accomodations, and angered that we had called TWICE prior to our arrival to confirm that YES, we were scheduled for two nights, not one, until of course we got there! It's hard not to think our room reservation was not booted due the the increased rates that were asked for with Beerfest happening right outside the front door of The Cary House. Will we ever give another recommendation to stay there? HELL NO! I am more than disappointed by the way our accomodations were handled, or should I say not handled. I would never want any of our family or friends to find themselves in a distant location expecting to stay more than one night only to be told, at the last minute, that there are no rooms available in the area. Expect to pay more at the last minute back towards Sacramento or sleep in your rental car!! Nice!!!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank movaros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018

alot of history in this hotel, a very lovely place, the rooms were antique and modern at the same time,, we loved it!!,
very homey feel to the place, as soon as you walk in the door, it has that old, historic building smell, wich i love,, it is by no means a bad smell,,there is alot of very interesting history to this place. the price was very affordable compared to all hotel rates these days. oldest working elevator west of the missisippi, i have been telling all my friends that if they ever go to Placerville, this is the only place to stay, right in the heart of the main street in historic Placerville. it was very quiet, the bed was very comftorable, with a small kitchenette. i highly reccomend this if you are ever going to spend the night in this town!!

Stayed: July 2018
1  Thank mechmike12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews