We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Historic Cary House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Placerville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2017

We stayed at the Historic Cary House Hotel for two nights and really enjoyed our stay. We loved the history of the hotel, fun elevator and location right on main street. It is in close proximity to coffee shops, restaurants, bars and fun shops. The town was festively decorated for Halloween and we even were able to take a free stagecoach ride that was put on by local volunteers dressed up in traditional garb. We would love to come back again in the future to further explore the town and it's nearby breweries and wineries. We will definitely plan to stay at the Cary House again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2017

I was a quite harsh in the original comment. It is a quaint, charming old hotel. Not up to date with all the amenities of today. A 'caged' elevator! A comfortable, but not elegant room. The one big flaw for us was the lack of hot water. (No shower!) They did refund one night's room charge due to the water. Located in downtown Placerville. The staff was very accommodating and pleasant. Would stay there again for the atmosphere.

Room Tip: We had a 4th floor room. The elevator was a kick!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RAY A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

Staff was fantastic!! Front desk is friendly and very helpful. Location is PERFECT!! Walk out the front door and you have restaurants, shopping and bars....I love this place!! Love the juice and coffee available in the morning for free.(lobby). Price is very good. Could use a little updating (dresser the TV was on/carpet) I would (and will) return to The Cary House every time I come to Placerville. Thank you for a great stay!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Balcony over looking Main Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sandhaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

This hotel has an incredible history! The elevator is 100 years old and the rooms are all named after people who stayed at the hotel long ago. We stayed in the Mark Twain room. It had a lovely, antique desk and an old typewriter to illustrate the famous writer's influence. It was a corner room so we had a window on two sides. The bed was comfortable and bathroom was adequate. The staff was very welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

My wife and I recently stayed at the Cary House Hotel. We were so impressed, we've already made reservations for our next stay — Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. The staff was warm, welcoming and accommodating. Fortunately they were prepared for an early checkin. We got settled in early and began our Placerville adventure.

My wife is VERY picky about beds. Our bed was so comfortable, I had to coax her out of it so that we could get on with our travels.

For anyone who has followed my posts, you know that I've stayed in old historic hotels all over the US, Europe, the Caribbean, and many other areas of the world. This hotel is old and historic. With that history comes some creaks and things like, it can sometimes take the hot water a bit to get to the room ... small price to pay for the warmth, charm, and sense of place!

There's a shared balcony that faces Placerville's quaint downtown. In addition, there's a little outdoor atrium hideaway near the coffee room. It's perfect for enjoying that morning cup of joe, while perusing the guides to local highlights.

The hotel is central to everything in town, and outside of town, like access to Apple Hill, a plethora of fabulous wineries (I'm a Certified Sommelier) and other Gold Country delights.

Oh yes, bonus ... this old gem of gracious hospitality comes with ghosts! What more could anyone ask of an historic lodge!?

Room Tip: I like the interior rooms away from street noise. My wife likes the balcony — that's for our nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placerville
3.7 km away
Best Western Plus Placerville Inn
3.8 km away
Mother Lode Motel
Mother Lode Motel
#4 of 5 in Placerville
78 reviews
20.2 km away
The Historic American River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Folsom
16.5 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Cameron Park
86 reviews
11.9 km away
Eden Vale Inn
Eden Vale Inn
#1 of 7 in Placerville
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Cary House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Cary House Hotel

Address: 300 Main St, Placerville, CA 95667-5606
Region: United States > California > Placerville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Placerville
Price Range: €77 - €150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Cary House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Historic Cary House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lexington Historic Cary Hotel
Lexington Historic Cary Placerville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing