We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Cliffs Resort(Pismo Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spyglass Inn(Pismo Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shell Beach Inn(Shell Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn at the Cove(Pismo Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pismo Lighthouse Suites(Pismo Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cottage Inn by the Sea(Pismo Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avila Village Inn(Avila Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (444)
Filter reviews
444 results
Traveller rating
366
58
13
7
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
366
58
13
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslido restaurantfull kitchenwasher dryerbedroom condofree bikeswalk in closetcentral coastbeautiful resortocean viewresort feetide poolsthe sofa bedlaundry roomonsite restaurantperfect staylong weekendheated pool
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 444 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights with my family on our California Road trip and really enjoyed it. After a long drive from Yosemite we were ready for a bit of rest and relaxation and Dolphin Bay was he perfect stop.
The staff at the front desk were very friendly and welcoming - thanks to Carol, Cindy and Melissa for your help. The car valet guys were also brilliant.
We chose a 2 bed 2 bath oceanfront suite which was spacious and well equipped. We were in room 414 on the second floor - lovely sea views and set away from the pool and restaurant so it was nice and quiet. After 10 days on the road it was great to spread out in the lounge and watch movies on the big tv. Kitchen was good too - everything you could need. Also a washing machine which was a godsend! We were left a couple of washing capsules and other cleaning essentials which was a nice touch. There is a deli/store 5 mins walk where we shopped for breakfast provisions and snacks.

The reason I'm not giving 5 stars is that the decor in our suite and the common areas is slightly dated. Also we asked for a twin room for our children (13 and 16) and got a double. Apparently twin beds were not available so our son had to sleep on the sofa bed in the lounge which was not ideal.

The pool is fine - attractive, clean and perfect temperature. Lots of towels and fresh water to drink by the pool. There is a server to bring drinks and snacks if you need them. However No lifeguard or pool attendant to help us with beds though, so had to find our own beds and move them around. THe website describes it as an Infinity Pool - which it isn't but perhaps Infinity pool means something different in US?

We dined at Lido, the hotel restaurant, in our first night which was good. Friendly servers and quick service. I had salmon which was delicious.

Thanks again for a great stay!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Greetings Kate M,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor with regards to your recent stay at Dolphin Bay. We are pleased to hear that are staff was warm, friendly and accommodating. We are thrilled to hear that you and your family were able to enjoy all of the amenities on property. We sincerely appreciate your patronage, and look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the resort in the near future.

Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

After my room was not ready for a period of time, management made good.

Some of the services could use stronger training. Service at the pool and in the restaurant are slow and certainly could be improved.

Room Tip: Great Ocean Views
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Dear Bob S,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Dolphin Bay! Although it sounds like your stay started off rocky I'm happy to hear management jumped in and handled the situation in a timely manner.
Thank you for your feedback with regards to the service you received poolside and in our restaurant. I use all feedback as training opportunities and can assure you this will be passed along to the appropriate department managers.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.

Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We booked a family holiday and booked into their ocean view 2 bedroom apartment. Owing to it being previously a condo, the apartment had all the facilities of being at home, and having a washing machine was a definite plus as we were on a 3 week driving in holiday with 2 kids. The rooms were clean and the apartment was roomy with a comfortable sitting area and dining area for everyone to spread out into.

The kitchen was equipped with pots and pans etc so you could make meals instead of dining out. And staff at the hotel were very kind to provide anything else you could need if not already provided at the apartment.

The TVs had a much more extensive cable channels than what you'd find in a larger hotel so that was great too.

The hotel pool is not big so we worried that it may be overrun but when we were there it appears many people opted to go on day trips so it was pretty quite for our family to use. But if suddenly more people decided to stay it could have been too small and unpleasant to use.

Now the negatives: the structure of the apartments do not offer anything in the way of sound insulaiton between floors. We were on the second floor and the small kids upstairs were constantly running back and forth and we heard it all! Not very relaxing when you are in an otherwise peaceful environment. Nothing the hotel can do about either but a shame as their should be better sound proofing between floors.

Also, there is no air conditioning in any of the rooms! They have ceiling fans around the apartment but this we felt was not enough and we were generally hot when we were staying there. It appears they had originally had A/C when it was a condo but all of it was taken out when it converted to a hotel, I presume for cost reasons. Still you'd expect A/C now a days.

The parking next to the hotel was valet (free) but we felt there were never enough staff to fetch your car quickly. Sometimes, the reception desk personnel stepped in get the car, but given its not a huge property they should have gotten this part better. You could self park but that is a bit away from hotel lobby so with lots of luggage and kids, its not really convenient.

Overall we liked the area, albeit almost too quiet and the hotel was nice and staff tried to assist but overall it missed on many things important to us.

Room Tip: If booking apartments, ask for top floor to avoid noise from above
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Dear Muri F,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled to hear you felt our facilities were much like being at home, and found our suites to be clean and comfortable. We strive to exceed all of our guests expectations and we are pleased to hear we did so with you.

With regards to the lack of Air Conditioning, our resort was built 10 years ago without ever having this amenity. Due to our close proximity to the ocean and the cool coastal breeze the ocean provides, our units generally stay cool with the use of the ceiling fans. We sincerely apologize for any discomfort your family experienced during your stay.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your overall stay and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

The price tag is high for this property so my expectations were as well. We had a bit of an issue at check-in but the manager took care of everything quickly and the property meet all of my high expectations. Extremely clean and comfortable and roomy with excellent service and a beautiful location. Awesome vacation!!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Patty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Greetings Patty K,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on Trip Advisor. We strive to exceed all of our guest’s expectations, so we are thrilled to hear we did so with you. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our excellent service, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort to provide another exceptional experience.

Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

We had a 2 bedroom suite overlooking the beach. The suits was very well equipped and the decor was lovely. The rooms were immaculate and although we needed to inform the hotel of a couple of minor issues they sent the maintenance team within the hour to fix them, and left a gift of chocolate. The suite was very spacious and had its own balcony with seating. It was a shame that we weren't staying here longer.
One big plus was the free parking on site.

Room Tip: bedrooms are located at the front of the building so there is a bit of noise from people arriving and leaving but not too bad.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K201364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Greetings K201364,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your spacious, well equipped and decorated suite. We are thrilled to hear that our staff was attentive to your requests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for a longer stay.

Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews