We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely apartments with great views of the water”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We booked a family holiday and booked into their ocean view 2 bedroom apartment. Owing to it being previously a condo, the apartment had all the facilities of being at home, and having a washing machine was a definite plus as we were on a 3 week driving in holiday with 2 kids. The rooms were clean and the apartment was roomy with a comfortable sitting area and dining area for everyone to spread out into.

The kitchen was equipped with pots and pans etc so you could make meals instead of dining out. And staff at the hotel were very kind to provide anything else you could need if not already provided at the apartment.

The TVs had a much more extensive cable channels than what you'd find in a larger hotel so that was great too.

The hotel pool is not big so we worried that it may be overrun but when we were there it appears many people opted to go on day trips so it was pretty quite for our family to use. But if suddenly more people decided to stay it could have been too small and unpleasant to use.

Now the negatives: the structure of the apartments do not offer anything in the way of sound insulaiton between floors. We were on the second floor and the small kids upstairs were constantly running back and forth and we heard it all! Not very relaxing when you are in an otherwise peaceful environment. Nothing the hotel can do about either but a shame as their should be better sound proofing between floors.

Also, there is no air conditioning in any of the rooms! They have ceiling fans around the apartment but this we felt was not enough and we were generally hot when we were staying there. It appears they had originally had A/C when it was a condo but all of it was taken out when it converted to a hotel, I presume for cost reasons. Still you'd expect A/C now a days.

The parking next to the hotel was valet (free) but we felt there were never enough staff to fetch your car quickly. Sometimes, the reception desk personnel stepped in get the car, but given its not a huge property they should have gotten this part better. You could self park but that is a bit away from hotel lobby so with lots of luggage and kids, its not really convenient.

Overall we liked the area, albeit almost too quiet and the hotel was nice and staff tried to assist but overall it missed on many things important to us.

Room Tip: If booking apartments, ask for top floor to avoid noise from above
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Muri F,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled to hear you felt our facilities were much like being at home, and found our suites to be clean and comfortable. We strive to exceed all of our guests expectations and we are pleased to hear we did so with you.

With regards to the lack of Air Conditioning, our resort was built 10 years ago without ever having this amenity. Due to our close proximity to the ocean and the cool coastal breeze the ocean provides, our units generally stay cool with the use of the ceiling fans. We sincerely apologize for any discomfort your family experienced during your stay.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your overall stay and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
There are newer reviews for Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

The price tag is high for this property so my expectations were as well. We had a bit of an issue at check-in but the manager took care of everything quickly and the property meet all of my high expectations. Extremely clean and comfortable and roomy with excellent service and a beautiful location. Awesome vacation!!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Patty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Greetings Patty K,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on Trip Advisor. We strive to exceed all of our guest’s expectations, so we are thrilled to hear we did so with you. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our excellent service, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort to provide another exceptional experience.

Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

We had a 2 bedroom suite overlooking the beach. The suits was very well equipped and the decor was lovely. The rooms were immaculate and although we needed to inform the hotel of a couple of minor issues they sent the maintenance team within the hour to fix them, and left a gift of chocolate. The suite was very spacious and had its own balcony with seating. It was a shame that we weren't staying here longer.
One big plus was the free parking on site.

Room Tip: bedrooms are located at the front of the building so there is a bit of noise from people arriving an...
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K201364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Greetings K201364,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your spacious, well equipped and decorated suite. We are thrilled to hear that our staff was attentive to your requests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for a longer stay.

Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

Stayed at Dolphin Bay Resort and Spa for 2 nights in July. Stopped to break up the drive from Monterey to LA. Overall the resort was beautifully maintained, clean, and the ocean view from the hotel was breathtaking. Nice walkway connecting to other hotels on the same road (similar to Wailea on Maui) with grass for the kids to play in the back of the hotel. Grills available to BBQ with seating. Heated pool was a nice size - open until 10pm (hot tub was a bit small).
Room suites are amazing and one of the best aspects of staying in the hotel. Large living room with gas fireplace and comfortable pull out queen or king size couch. Dining table with seating for 4. Full size kitchen and refrigerator with appliances, cookware, and dishware to prepare meals. Washer/dryer in the room (did several loads of laundry). Bedroom (king bed) and large bathroom.
Dinner at the restaurant was good - excellent wine selection
Walked down to the beach - beautiful! Kids went down during low tide and walked amongst the tide pools - they saw two baby octopus
Went horseback riding on Grover Beach with a company The Big Wakoo - best horseride we went on as a family. Rode on the beach and sandy dune trails and saw a coyote on one of the trails.
Beautiful resort and really excellent service from the valet to the front desk. Everyone was extremely helpful and seemed happy to work at the resort. The service really made our stay excellent. Loved staying at this resort - our stay was too short. We will return

Room Tip: All suites are amazing but I am sure the ocean front view was awesome
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank al0ha808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Greetings Al0ha808,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Dolphin Bay. We are thrilled to hear that you and your family enjoyed the family atmosphere and stunning views our resort offers. We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy not only the amenities Dolphin Bay offers, but the surrounding community as well. We are pleased that you enjoyed a nice meal in our restaurant, Lido.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the resort in the near future.

Warmest regards,

The Dolphin Bay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

From the moment you arrive you'll feel like your enjoying the Cali lifestyle-the staff are excellent and accommodating. The food regardless of the menu (breakfast lunch or dinner) never disappoints. Something for everyone. Rooms were condominium size not hotel sized so are called suites but much larger. Lovely walking strolls with flowers and gorgeous ocean vistas. The around is area is quaint and nostalgic with beach town shops just a short stroll away.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Debra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Dear Debra,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor! We are so happy to hear you felt the food at Lido never disappoints, the staff members were excellent and accommodating and that you appreciated the beautiful grounds and surrounding local area. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to Dolphin Bay in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

The Dolphin Bay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
3.0 km away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,443 reviews
4.1 km away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,011 reviews
3.9 km away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#5 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,049 reviews
4.0 km away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,237 reviews
0.2 km away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa

Address: 2727 Shell Beach Rd, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-1602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range: €333 - €647 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set along the bluffs above one of the most beautiful coastlines in America, Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa offers exclusive 1 and 2-bedroom suites designed for elegance and comfort. Each suite provides a spacious living and dining room, fully equipped gourmet kitchen, a balcony (or patio), along with all of the finest amenities. Lido Restaurant and Bar features tempting California Coastal cuisine with an emphasis on locally produced food and wines. Treat yourself to a luxurious treatment at The Spa at Dolphin Bay. From the sweeping ocean views to the impeccable service, you will escape the ordinary Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Bay Resort And Spa
Dolphin Bay Hotel Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing