We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Shore Cliff Hotel(Pismo Beach)(Great Value!)
US$436
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel(Pismo Beach)(Great Value!)
US$489
US$470
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pismo Lighthouse Suites(Pismo Beach)(Great Value!)
US$575
US$503
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$442
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Pismo Beach(Pismo Beach)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cottage Inn by the Sea(Pismo Beach)(Great Value!)
US$403
US$392
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$314
US$298
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn at the Cove(Pismo Beach)
US$362
Inn at the Cove
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandcastle Hotel on the Beach(Pismo Beach)(Great Value!)
US$394
US$377
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SeaVenture Beach Hotel(Pismo Beach)(Great Value!)
US$583
US$429
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (462)
Filter reviews
462 results
Traveller rating
378
62
14
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
378
62
14
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslido restaurantfull kitchenwasher dryerbedroom ocean front suitefree bikeswalk in closetcentral coastbeautiful resortocean viewpool sideresort feeroom servicetide poolsonsite restaurantthe sofa bedlaundry roomperfect stay
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 462 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2017

Stayed at Dolphin Bay Resort and Spa for 2 nights in July. Stopped to break up the drive from Monterey to LA. Overall the resort was beautifully maintained, clean, and the ocean view from the hotel was breathtaking. Nice walkway connecting to other hotels on the same road (similar to Wailea on Maui) with grass for the kids to play in the back of the hotel. Grills available to BBQ with seating. Heated pool was a nice size - open until 10pm (hot tub was a bit small).
Room suites are amazing and one of the best aspects of staying in the hotel. Large living room with gas fireplace and comfortable pull out queen or king size couch. Dining table with seating for 4. Full size kitchen and refrigerator with appliances, cookware, and dishware to prepare meals. Washer/dryer in the room (did several loads of laundry). Bedroom (king bed) and large bathroom.
Dinner at the restaurant was good - excellent wine selection
Walked down to the beach - beautiful! Kids went down during low tide and walked amongst the tide pools - they saw two baby octopus
Went horseback riding on Grover Beach with a company The Big Wakoo - best horseride we went on as a family. Rode on the beach and sandy dune trails and saw a coyote on one of the trails.
Beautiful resort and really excellent service from the valet to the front desk. Everyone was extremely helpful and seemed happy to work at the resort. The service really made our stay excellent. Loved staying at this resort - our stay was too short. We will return

Room Tip: All suites are amazing but I am sure the ocean front view was awesome
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank al0ha808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Greetings Al0ha808,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Dolphin Bay. We are thrilled to hear that you and your family enjoyed the family atmosphere and stunning views our resort offers. We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy not only the amenities Dolphin Bay offers, but the surrounding community as well. We are pleased that you enjoyed a nice meal in our restaurant, Lido.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the resort in the near future.

Warmest regards,

The Dolphin Bay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

From the moment you arrive you'll feel like your enjoying the Cali lifestyle-the staff are excellent and accommodating. The food regardless of the menu (breakfast lunch or dinner) never disappoints. Something for everyone. Rooms were condominium size not hotel sized so are called suites but much larger. Lovely walking strolls with flowers and gorgeous ocean vistas. The around is area is quaint and nostalgic with beach town shops just a short stroll away.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Debra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Dear Debra,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor! We are so happy to hear you felt the food at Lido never disappoints, the staff members were excellent and accommodating and that you appreciated the beautiful grounds and surrounding local area. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to Dolphin Bay in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

The Dolphin Bay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

We just checked out from a 2 night stop off here and All I can say is wow. The room was enormous. View was incredible. The grounds were clean. Our ocean view suite was so amazing we did not want to leave. Thank you for the gorgeous 2 nights in paradise. The restaurant Lido was very good as well. My children were as well impressed with the food. The beach and pool were wonderful and clean. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Complimentary valet was a nice feature too. The fully equipped kitchen in our room allowed us to make some snacks and breakfast one morning. If you have kids, and want some extra space to not feel crammed in a hotel this is the place for you. It's also romantic, quiet and just beautiful. Shopping in downtown San Luis Obispo is close and nice as well.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank AllisonG1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Dear AllisonG1234,

Thank you for your amazing review on Trip Advisor! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your 2 nights in paradise and that you were able to experience everything we have to offer at the resort. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to Dolphin Bay in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

The Dolphin Bay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

Construction workers renovating the room directly above us working until 10PM and woke us up at 5AM again each morning. Lousy night sleep considering we had to drive seven hours upon checkout. We complained to front desk after the first night, the crew seemed a little quieter upstairs the next day, but the construction continued until 10PM and again woke us up at 5AM. Considering I was paying over $700 per night I'm surprised they would put us in a room below the room under renovation project. Beautiful ocean view, very quaint, nice kitchen supplies, but overall value for Dollar was poor.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank imajoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Good Morning Imajoe,

I would first like to thank you for your recent visit and for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I would like to extend my sincerest apologies for any noise disturbances you encountered during your stay. As mentioned in my private email to you, we are not currently renovating any of our suites and certainly would not do so during our busiest month of the year. I would love the opportunity to speak with you via telephone so I can try to gather more information and understand exactly what happened. Regardless of the details, I am so sorry you did not have an exceptional visit at Dolphin Bay.

Thank you in again for your feedback and I sincerely hope to hear back from you soon so I may have the opportunity to make this up to you.

Warmest Regards,

Erica Coppola | Resort Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

From the day I called the hotel to make a reservation, the staff was welcoming and inviting, as well as professional. We had a two bedroom Penthouse Suite that was over 2000 square feet with excellent accommodations: bed comfortable, top of the line kitchen with eat in area as well as a patio overlooking the beautiful water. The Valet Parking was nice perk and always timely! The bedrooms and den all had great HD TV's and bathrooms tub and shower in one and master had full jacuzzi updated tub for two and beautiful Italian marble shower. I am a big critique, hotel snob as some say, and I was most pleased in every way! The cleaning was impeccable and twice daily. Worth every penny for family, friends, and solo. There were activities, yoga and workout offerings as well as a 50% off wine night at Lido Restaurant but we did not have time to do it all. Heard the spa was great but missed out on that. The workout room was small but definitely acceptable in every way. The pool was gorgeous and inviting! This is a well kept property and my only complaint is that there was a heat wave and no air conditioning but opening the windows sufficed. Lastly, the wedding next door which kept made noise Friday morning as they set up a big tent for the Friday night wedding. Taking it down on Saturday was much more quiet. It was amazing place to stay so much so that I did not want to leave to go out! Coffee provided twice a day and amenities readily available and did I mention the washer and dryer with detergent pods to wash clothes?! LOVED THIS LUXURIOUS HOME AWAY FROM HOME!

Room Tip: Corner suite is where we were with Penthouse (top floor) and water view was to die for!
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ig0ug0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Greetings ig0ug0,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Dolphin Bay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay at the resort, and that the staff was friendly and helpful. We strive to exceed all of our guest’s expectations and I’m happy to hear we did so with you.

We are always thrilled to hear when our valued guests have such a memorable stay. We truly appreciate your feedback, and will make sure to pass along your kind sentiments to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future and hopefully you can experience one of our amazing Spa services.

Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews