We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation with lovely view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2017

We had a 2 bedroom suite overlooking the beach. The suits was very well equipped and the decor was lovely. The rooms were immaculate and although we needed to inform the hotel of a couple of minor issues they sent the maintenance team within the hour to fix them, and left a gift of chocolate. The suite was very spacious and had its own balcony with seating. It was a shame that we weren't staying here longer.
One big plus was the free parking on site.

Room Tip: bedrooms are located at the front of the building so there is a bit of noise from people arriving an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K201364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Greetings K201364,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your spacious, well equipped and decorated suite. We are thrilled to hear that our staff was attentive to your requests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for a longer stay.

Warm Regards,
The Dolphin Bay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2017

Stayed at Dolphin Bay Resort and Spa for 2 nights in July. Stopped to break up the drive from Monterey to LA. Overall the resort was beautifully maintained, clean, and the ocean view from the hotel was breathtaking. Nice walkway connecting to other hotels on the same road (similar to Wailea on Maui) with grass for the kids to play in the back of the hotel. Grills available to BBQ with seating. Heated pool was a nice size - open until 10pm (hot tub was a bit small).
Room suites are amazing and one of the best aspects of staying in the hotel. Large living room with gas fireplace and comfortable pull out queen or king size couch. Dining table with seating for 4. Full size kitchen and refrigerator with appliances, cookware, and dishware to prepare meals. Washer/dryer in the room (did several loads of laundry). Bedroom (king bed) and large bathroom.
Dinner at the restaurant was good - excellent wine selection
Walked down to the beach - beautiful! Kids went down during low tide and walked amongst the tide pools - they saw two baby octopus
Went horseback riding on Grover Beach with a company The Big Wakoo - best horseride we went on as a family. Rode on the beach and sandy dune trails and saw a coyote on one of the trails.
Beautiful resort and really excellent service from the valet to the front desk. Everyone was extremely helpful and seemed happy to work at the resort. The service really made our stay excellent. Loved staying at this resort - our stay was too short. We will return

Room Tip: All suites are amazing but I am sure the ocean front view was awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank al0ha808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Greetings Al0ha808,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Dolphin Bay. We are thrilled to hear that you and your family enjoyed the family atmosphere and stunning views our resort offers. We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy not only the amenities Dolphin Bay offers, but the surrounding community as well. We are pleased that you enjoyed a nice meal in our restaurant, Lido.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the resort in the near future.

Warmest regards,

The Dolphin Bay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

From the moment you arrive you'll feel like your enjoying the Cali lifestyle-the staff are excellent and accommodating. The food regardless of the menu (breakfast lunch or dinner) never disappoints. Something for everyone. Rooms were condominium size not hotel sized so are called suites but much larger. Lovely walking strolls with flowers and gorgeous ocean vistas. The around is area is quaint and nostalgic with beach town shops just a short stroll away.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Debra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Dear Debra,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor! We are so happy to hear you felt the food at Lido never disappoints, the staff members were excellent and accommodating and that you appreciated the beautiful grounds and surrounding local area. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to Dolphin Bay in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

The Dolphin Bay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

We just checked out from a 2 night stop off here and All I can say is wow. The room was enormous. View was incredible. The grounds were clean. Our ocean view suite was so amazing we did not want to leave. Thank you for the gorgeous 2 nights in paradise. The restaurant Lido was very good as well. My children were as well impressed with the food. The beach and pool were wonderful and clean. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Complimentary valet was a nice feature too. The fully equipped kitchen in our room allowed us to make some snacks and breakfast one morning. If you have kids, and want some extra space to not feel crammed in a hotel this is the place for you. It's also romantic, quiet and just beautiful. Shopping in downtown San Luis Obispo is close and nice as well.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank AllisonG1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Dear AllisonG1234,

Thank you for your amazing review on Trip Advisor! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your 2 nights in paradise and that you were able to experience everything we have to offer at the resort. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to Dolphin Bay in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

The Dolphin Bay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

Construction workers renovating the room directly above us working until 10PM and woke us up at 5AM again each morning. Lousy night sleep considering we had to drive seven hours upon checkout. We complained to front desk after the first night, the crew seemed a little quieter upstairs the next day, but the construction continued until 10PM and again woke us up at 5AM. Considering I was paying over $700 per night I'm surprised they would put us in a room below the room under renovation project. Beautiful ocean view, very quaint, nice kitchen supplies, but overall value for Dollar was poor.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank imajoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica C, Manager at Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Good Morning Imajoe,

I would first like to thank you for your recent visit and for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I would like to extend my sincerest apologies for any noise disturbances you encountered during your stay. As mentioned in my private email to you, we are not currently renovating any of our suites and certainly would not do so during our busiest month of the year. I would love the opportunity to speak with you via telephone so I can try to gather more information and understand exactly what happened. Regardless of the details, I am so sorry you did not have an exceptional visit at Dolphin Bay.

Thank you in again for your feedback and I sincerely hope to hear back from you soon so I may have the opportunity to make this up to you.

Warmest Regards,

Erica Coppola | Resort Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
3 km away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,507 reviews
4.1 km away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,073 reviews
3.9 km away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 km away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,272 reviews
3.7 km away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#3 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,205 reviews
5.3 km away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#5 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa

Address: 2727 Shell Beach Rd, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-1602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range: €299 - €604 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set along the bluffs above one of the most beautiful coastlines in America, Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa offers exclusive 1 and 2-bedroom suites designed for elegance and comfort. Each suite provides a spacious living and dining room, fully equipped gourmet kitchen, a balcony (or patio), along with all of the finest amenities. Lido Restaurant and Bar features tempting California Coastal cuisine with an emphasis on locally produced food and wines. Treat yourself to a luxurious treatment at The Spa at Dolphin Bay. From the sweeping ocean views to the impeccable service, you will escape the ordinary Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Bay Resort And Spa
Dolphin Bay Hotel Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing