We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (514)
Filter reviews
514 results
Traveller rating
78
184
133
66
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
184
133
66
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outlet mall room was clean walking distance an older hotel pool and hot tub short stay great pool nice stay hot breakfast coffee maker short drive stayed here for one night free breakfast outlets microwave highway cereal
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 514 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2017

I booked on hotels.com when i got to the hotel there was no pier view i went to check in the lady was rude asked for my id and credit card had me sign in and then tells me to come back at 4 pm. I tried to cancel and the lady told me i couldn't. i called hotels.com
and they would not refund me my money either. NOT A GOOD PLACE TO STAY AT ALL... IM reporting them to BBB as well.

Room Tip: you get a view of the dumb full of parked old trailers.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dora E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBQualityInn, Manager at Quality Inn Pismo Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2017

Hello Ms. Elizodondo, Firstly I am very sorry for your dissatisfaction with your stay, it is never our intent for our guests to feel we did not provide a good value.

Firstly, we do not offer an "ocean view" in any advertising, though we do show a picture of pismo beach pier (taken as if one is standing in the water) as an attraction in the same way as a hotel might show a picture of the Washington monument if it is in Washington DC. It is not our intent to convince people we are a beach front hotel.

I also took time to review the notes of your stay. Our check in time was at 3:00 PM though you arrived around 11:00. The front desk worker offered to let you fill out the paperwork and take care of the charges/deposit before checking in so when you came back after 3:00 you could check in more easily, It was not a requirement, it was a courtesy. Shortly afterward you called the front desk agent attempting to cancel your reservation. It was explained that our agreement with Hotels.com is if a guest wishes to cancel their reservation, for any reason, they must give the hotel at least 24 hours notice or be charged for the first night of the stay. This is because while holding the room for you, other people wishing to rent the room were told it was not available.

Again we are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay and hope you will reconsider staying with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Very clean hotel with all the amenities. Easy access on/off highway. Pool and spa were delightful. Breakfast was abundant, hot, and delicious. Breakfast area was kept constantly clean. Internet speed was fast enough to watch movies. Price was very reasonable. Staff were friendly and helpful. Checking in and out was very easy and quick. Hotel located close to drug store, grocery store and many eating places. Pismo Outlet stores were also very close. Easy quick drive to beach, pier, and Monarch Butterfly Grove. Overall I would recommend this as a great place to stay.

Room Tip: The quietest rooms would be at the far end of hotel away from the highway.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SunflowerDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBQualityInn, Manager at Quality Inn Pismo Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2017

Thanks so much for your review! We really appreciate it when guests who have had a great experience offer to tell others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

A good little hotel. If you can ignore the view of the RV Park from your room, and the lack of an elevator/lift, and the breakfast, this is a decent little hotel. Good bed, rooms were small but okay. The heated pool and waterfall pool was a huge bonus. The amount of people trying to have breakfast in the tiny foyer the next morning was enormous. People standing everywhere, 4-5 deep trying to get food, was extremely uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBQualityInn, Manager at Quality Inn Pismo Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2017

Thanks so much for your review, we do apologize for the waiting time for breakfast... though we have 4 waffle makers and our breakfast lady works very hard keeping the buffet line stocked, when we sell out the previous day there can be quite a rush at 8:30 am. We are taking steps to improve this and hope you choose to stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

We spent one night at this completely booked motel while on a road trip in California. It was as expected- a bargain rather than luxury motel. The bed was comfy, the shower was adequate and we were well rested by morning, despite the noises outside.

If you stay there, bring your own soap as the teeny soaps provided were not adequate for two people.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor which made it easier to get luggage from the car into the room.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yoohoo614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBQualityInn, Manager at Quality Inn Pismo Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2017

Thanks for your honest review, we do offer more soap (or any other offered product) if requested at the front desk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

Room is dark and dated, light coming from under the door (great for critters), rooms are very small, clean bedding and soft towels. Couldn't get audio on certain channels and other channels would loose the audio for a few minutes. Front desk could not figure it out. A 20 min walk to the pier which is nice since parking looked like it may be a problem especially on a Saturday. Internet was strong. Believe the floor tiles in bathroom have been replaced but not the carpet which could use it. Being a Saturday there was a lot of families here so very noisy if anyone walking upstairs or just outside. We both woke up with sore backs. Would try another hotel next time

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank elainejenkins0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBQualityInn, Manager at Quality Inn Pismo Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2017

Sorry you did not fully enjoy your stay. Regarding the TV it sounds like it was simply not on channel 3, I am very surprised the front desk staff were not able to fix the problem. Generally for a problem like this they should have offered to move you to a room with a working TV or contacted management to make some other concession. I will discuss this with the front desk staff and will strive to make sure a problem like this is not repeated. Yes, we have recently remodeled 80% of the bathrooms in the hotel including the tiles, fixtures, tubs, wash basins, and lighting. Over the last two days we began replacing all the carpeting in all of the rooms and should have this completed within the next week. I hope you will reconsider staying with us in the future, I would very much like a chance to improve on the three star review, and thank you for letting us know about your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews