We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding”
Review of Pinecrest Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pinecrest Chalet
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pinecrest
Reviewed 5 September 2017

My daughter rented the whole place for a wedding (actually guests payed for their lodging which worked fine). There was a small glitch in the reservations, but otherwise it was a perfect venue for an absolutely beautiful wedding outdoors in the tall pines in the small amphitheater. Reception and dancing under the stars. Check out the HUGE log table that seats a million. Topped off with a fire. The venue was perfect and the staff was excellent.

They are in the process of renovating the cabins so there is quite a bit of difference between those that have been renovated and those that are next. We stayed in the latter. It was fine, but in need of work (we expected rustic, however that rug is past its prime). Renovated cabins were very nice. Since we had the whole place we were able to see both renovated and not.

Room Tip: Renovated, if you have a choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank renbody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2017

My wife and I have been visiting here for the past few years for weekend getaways and it has always been amazing. Just up the road from the Lair of the Bear, and sponsored by the Cal Alumni Association, this place is amazing. It's a quick 3 minute drive to the lake and is such a perfect place to stay. Each cabin has it's own fridge, microwave, TV, and comes with a french press and Peet's coffee (perfect for those of us coming from the Bay Area). Some of the cabins also have a full kitchen including a stove. We had our wedding here on August 19th and it was absolutely gorgeous. The tall trees and the private location was ideal. We rented out all the cabins for our guests and they loved it. It's always so clean and the staff is so helpful. They were on it with every small task we asked them to do. I appreciated their help and enthusiasm so much. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to get away for the weekend, who is maybe sick of Tahoe and actually looking for a more private, mountain escape or for someone looking for a rustic wedding setting.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

We stayed in the RV area with electric only hookups. They do have a few full hookups, but those fill up fast. The Pinecrest RV dump site is only a mile or two down the road if you need it ($6). There is one public bathroom/shower on site that is for one person at a time.
The RV sites have a concrete pad to park, table and fire pit at each site. Large trees provide plenty of shade and the sites are a good size. If you have a large RV 30 ft or more, make sure you pick your site wisely. Some sites are tricky to back in. There are water spigots here and there on the property, near the chalets and full hookup sites. We had to connect 3 hoses together to fill our tank because we forgot to fill before we got there. I would suggest bringing a generator for backup. If we used our air conditioner it would pop the circuit. They are working on the electric problem with PG&E and hope to have it fixed by next year.
The only negative on the trip was the pool was closed 3 days while they tried to fix a problem with the pump.
The management is very friendly and helpful.
We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank tishbits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

This place was in the mountains and if you are into basic camping and roughing it, it is fine. However, if you are in an R.V.., it isn't so nice. It was expensive and when we got to our site, it was electricity only. No water, no sewer hookups. Plus, they didn't not have your regular bath and shower houses. Was not what I had in mind. The price was 66.00 for a night, and that is all you got. Do not recommend this place if you are wanting anything besides a place to sleep in the woods.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank pam r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017 via mobile

My son and I spent a lovely night at Pinecrest Chalet. The location is absolutely perfect. After driving the 3 hours from San Jose - we checked in. The cabin was clean and spacious. The bed was comfy and the heater worked really well!
Before the reception office closed at 5pm, we borrowed some movies for the evening and took advantage of the hot chocolate (with big marshmallows) and tea that were available.
For dinner we drove to Cold Springs (less than 10 minute drive) although our cabin (k) had a stove and everything you need to cook there.
In the morning we drove the 10 or so minutes to Dodge Ridge Resort for a day of snowboarding.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinecrest
38.6 km away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
36.4 km away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
31 km away
Mountain Retreat Resort, a VRI resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.4 km away
Aladdin Inn
Aladdin Inn
#3 of 8 in Sonora
172 reviews
21.9 km away
Long Barn Lodge
Long Barn Lodge
#1 of 1 in Long Barn
78 reviews
29.1 km away
Tamarack Lodge At Bear Valley
Tamarack Lodge At Bear Valley
#1 of 2 in Bear Valley
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinecrest Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinecrest Chalet

Address: 500 Dodge Ridge Rd, Pinecrest, CA 95364
Region: United States > California > Pinecrest
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pinecrest
Price Range: €85 - €222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinecrest Chalet offers a variety of units that can accommodate families and groups of different sizes. From our single room cottages that sleep two to four people, to our more spacious cabins and townhouses with two to four bedrooms, kitchens and living room areas, your mountain getaway can be modest or more deluxe. All units have wi-fi access, coffee service, and seasonal access to the swimming pool, sports courts and amphitheater. It's 1 mile to Pinecrest Lake, the closest lodging to Dodge Ridge Ski Resort, and is a gateway to high Sierra fun. We are delighted to introduce Ken Hutz as the Chalet's new Director. These are exciting days in Pinecrest and we look forward to having you join us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pinecrest Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinecrest Chalet Hotel Pinecrest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing