We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,018)
Filter reviews
1,018 results
Traveller rating
576
341
77
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
576
341
77
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbest westernsmargie's dinerhand sanitizerwestern hotelssmoking roomgreat place to staymotor lodgeceiling fanwine tastingfair groundsnice poolclean roomslarge roombed was comfortablebottled waterroad tripeasy access
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,018 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Older style hotel, but clean and comfortable. Many folks seemed to be pass through traffic. All staff we spoke to were great and the price was right. We had an end room that had 2 queen beds and a couch. The hotel has ample parking, a pool and weight room and is close to several places to eat and a short car ride to the hub of the city. This hotel does not have a free breakfast however you do get a $5 coupon for the restaurant adjacent to the hotel, which has good diner type food. Wifi was decent. I would stay here again on my way through or if doing some wine tasting in the area.

Room Tip: Some of the end rooms appear bigger and have beds plus a couch
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank S_Robbie014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBOBW, General Manager at Best Western Plus Black Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

So glad you enjoyed your stay. For 57 years young, we strive hard to keep things as fresh as possible with all of the amenities and guest room items in working order. We hope that you will return soon. Angela McKee, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

We stayed in the whirlpool King suite........which all the amenities were excellent in appearance and condition. The Room was very cosy, spacious, comfortable and clean. Freakin huge Jacuzzi bath tube perfect for two with built-in wall speakers to set the romantic mood. The king bed was a California king. The vanity area was very large with double sink areas. Oh yeah, there is also a separate shower across from the cool swinging double doors in the restroom area. Very quiet atmosphere and perfect cooler summer time weather conditions. The Best Western Black Oak gets a 10 out of 10 rating for overall staff, area, location, conveniences and atmosphere. We had a great stay and great time visiting the coastal area lakes and beaches.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Ronny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBOBW, General Manager at Best Western Plus Black Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

So glad you enjoyed our one of a kind, romantic king spa suite! We hope that you will come back to visit soon to enjoy more of what the area has to offer. Angela McKee, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018

We have stayed at this hotel for the past 4 years every time the fair comes to town. Great location, prices are decent, good facilities, comfy beds! Four girls in the 2 queen room and plenty of space. Love that we can just walk around and lots to see!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Monica L l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBOBW, General Manager at Best Western Plus Black Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Thank you for being repeat guests! We love to see our "regulars" return each year at fair time to enjoy all the fair has to offer. So glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in 2019! Angela McKee, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018

This is a very nice hotel to stay in with everything it has to offer. We stayed here because the hotels at San Luis Obispo were either all full or too much money for a bed.
It has a refrigerator microwave & coffee pot in the room which is very nice to use.
I just wish it had breakfast instead of just a five dollar voucher for the restaurant . We will stay here again probably later in the year.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank travels444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBOBW, General Manager at Best Western Plus Black Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that the breakfast arrangement with the diner did not meet your expectations, but that your stay was to your satisfaction. We do hope to see you again soon. Angela McKee, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018

This is the "best" Best Western that we have visited. We were on an 8 day road trip to Paso Robles and it was our favorite lodging during the entire trip. The front counter staff was extra friendly with easy check in and out. They answered question for us regarding the city. The rooms were quit and all of the small extra's were wonderful. We loved the hanging lighted magnifying mirror and bright bathroom lighting. Extra towels, and large bars of soap along with special shampoos and lotion. Enjoyed the glass coffee mugs instead of paper cups, and the microwave and refrigerator were in a great easy access location instead of hidden low in a cabinet. The housekeeping service was excellent. They all were courteous and cheerful and our rooms were spotless. The breakfast coupons for Margie's Diner was such a refreshing treat. After eight days, we had had enough of the complimentary breakfast scene. The pool area was also very clean and well maintained. We would differently recommend this Best Western and we salute the leadership of this establishment because we could tell the entire staff enjoyed their jobs and liked coming to work.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank Salp7211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews