We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,028)
Filter reviews
1,028 results
Traveller rating
583
343
77
15
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
583
343
77
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews best westerns margie's diner hand sanitizer western hotels smoking room great place to stay fair grounds wine tasting motor lodge heated pool clean rooms comfortable stay large room road trip bed was comfortable easy access close to downtown
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 1,028 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2018

We stayed in the whirlpool King suite........which all the amenities were excellent in appearance and condition. The Room was very cosy, spacious, comfortable and clean. Freakin huge Jacuzzi bath tube perfect for two with built-in wall speakers to set the romantic mood. The king bed was a California king. The vanity area was very large with double sink areas. Oh yeah, there is also a separate shower across from the cool swinging double doors in the restroom area. Very quiet atmosphere and perfect cooler summer time weather conditions. The Best Western Black Oak gets a 10 out of 10 rating for overall staff, area, location, conveniences and atmosphere. We had a great stay and great time visiting the coastal area lakes and beaches.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Ronny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBOBW, General Manager at Best Western Plus Black Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

So glad you enjoyed our one of a kind, romantic king spa suite! We hope that you will come back to visit soon to enjoy more of what the area has to offer. Angela McKee, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018

We have stayed at this hotel for the past 4 years every time the fair comes to town. Great location, prices are decent, good facilities, comfy beds! Four girls in the 2 queen room and plenty of space. Love that we can just walk around and lots to see!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Monica L l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBOBW, General Manager at Best Western Plus Black Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Thank you for being repeat guests! We love to see our "regulars" return each year at fair time to enjoy all the fair has to offer. So glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in 2019! Angela McKee, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018

This is a very nice hotel to stay in with everything it has to offer. We stayed here because the hotels at San Luis Obispo were either all full or too much money for a bed.
It has a refrigerator microwave & coffee pot in the room which is very nice to use.
I just wish it had breakfast instead of just a five dollar voucher for the restaurant . We will stay here again probably later in the year.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank travels444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBOBW, General Manager at Best Western Plus Black Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that the breakfast arrangement with the diner did not meet your expectations, but that your stay was to your satisfaction. We do hope to see you again soon. Angela McKee, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018

This is the "best" Best Western that we have visited. We were on an 8 day road trip to Paso Robles and it was our favorite lodging during the entire trip. The front counter staff was extra friendly with easy check in and out. They answered question for us regarding the city. The rooms were quit and all of the small extra's were wonderful. We loved the hanging lighted magnifying mirror and bright bathroom lighting. Extra towels, and large bars of soap along with special shampoos and lotion. Enjoyed the glass coffee mugs instead of paper cups, and the microwave and refrigerator were in a great easy access location instead of hidden low in a cabinet. The housekeeping service was excellent. They all were courteous and cheerful and our rooms were spotless. The breakfast coupons for Margie's Diner was such a refreshing treat. After eight days, we had had enough of the complimentary breakfast scene. The pool area was also very clean and well maintained. We would differently recommend this Best Western and we salute the leadership of this establishment because we could tell the entire staff enjoyed their jobs and liked coming to work.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank Salp7211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

I remember road trips with my family in which we would head across various states and stop at hotels and motels of all sorts. I remember Best Westerns as having the most character, and this is the first one I've been to in well over a decade, as far as I can remember. I am having work done in my home, and wanted to experience an interesting hotel in a nearby town to where I live. Paso Robles is an eclectic place where the sun often shines, and if you can turn away from the 101 interstate corridor, the coastal breezes sweep across acres of grapes and grassy hilltops. Downtown Paso looks like something out of Downtown Disney to me (new storefronts, fancy brick patios, crosswalks, and a picturesque park in the center), but with lots of local business and some neat historic structures to check out as well. Just off the 101, among some food and beverage chains, sits this Best Western low-rise hotel. It feels more like a motel to me, and I was wary to step inside as a hotel snob... but the attention to detail, cleanliness, and thoughtful amenities makes this a wonderful stay. I stepped inside the room to the fresh scent of "hotel clean" .. kind of a combination of new car smell and fresh linen (real fresh linen, not fake fresh linen..) and I note that the room has little drinking glasses and coffee mugs with those "sanitized" bags and plastic seals over them. I didn't think anyone even did that anymore, it's so nice (maybe I'm gullible, but I feel more confident). The coffee machine was spotless. A 32 inch flatscreen TV with one of those sanitized remote controls, beds with decorative duvets and that weird 6 foot by 2 foot cover thing across the bottom (what is that even for?) make it feel cozy and up to date. Among the amenities: 2 bars of soap at the sink, and a bath bar at the (spotless) tub. Lots of perfectly clean towels. Fancy lotion, citrus shampoo and conditioner. Q-tips in a little packet, so I can dry inside my ears after showering. A tiny, personal bottle of hand sanitizer! Who doesn't want another of those for their road trip experience? This is a great idea. I take the ice bucket outside so i can feed my iced coffee habit and get some writing done, and I hear a gurgling fountain just bubbling away by the stairs in the lush plantings. I gaze across the parking lot at the warmly lit pool and realize this is just a nice pleasant place. An experience. There is a diner attached to the hotel building, where I'll try the breakfast tomorrow. But for tonight, this will be a nice rest after a day of exploring and writing. This hotel has a number of different types of rooms: suites, businessy rooms, king rooms, and "standard" rooms. So lots of choices. You're mainly overlooking a parking lot, so it's not terribly picturesque, but as a home base to get rest and sleep after a long day, this is a wonderful place I will definitely see again.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank docworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBOBW, General Manager at Best Western Plus Black Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

WOW. Thank you for the very detailed description of what you saw and felt when coming to our property. I am so glad that we were able to wow you with all the little extras that we feel make a stay here special. We sure hope that you will come see us again, we will be waiting to welcome you back. Angela McKee, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews