We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time!”

Wine Wrangler - Day Tours
Ranked #1 of 151 Food & Drink in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: After residing in Paso Robles for a decade, Coy and Sarah Barnes turned their passion for wine, entertaining, and the rural countryside into a thriving little tour company called “The Wine Wrangler”. The Wine Wrangler was created on August 3, 2004 as Paso Robles’ first, authentic wine tour company. Within a year the couple wanted to create an opportunity for everyone to enjoy the Paso Robles wine tasting experience throughout the year, in the comfort of their own homes. They created the first and only wine club featuring Paso Robles wines and took their family business to whole new level. Coy, an educator and winemaker, grows his own zinfandel, cabernet sauvignon, and syrah on the family’s property in Paso Robles. When he’s not escorting visitors through the wine country, he’ll be rustling up wines from some of his favorite Paso Robles wineries and sharing them with the world through his Paso Robles Wine Club. Our greatest pleasure is to help people from out of the area to discover the diversity and finesse of Paso Robles wines. Coy & Sarah Barnes
Dayton, Nevada
1 review
“Great time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

This was our second trip with the Wine Wrangler. Both trips were relaxed and fun. We will recommend to others and may be back for more. There are many wineries in the area.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Reedr34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    28
    5
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic way to see Paso Robles and wine taste!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

GREAT tour provided by Zabrina!! We were picked up for the day and hit five different wineries. Wild Horse, Hidden Oak, Pomar Junction, Veris, and Rotta. What we liked was how Zabrina brought us round, had a delicious lunch packed, and also how she was social with us as well. She knows her stuff! Highly recommended.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank COGlobeTrotter35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehachapi, California
1 review
“Girls Gone "WINE" weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

Tony, our driver, was VERY kind and gave us lots of new information we had not yet learned. He accomodated our requests and made sure all of our wine purchases were labled with our names!! (Good idea after our 2nd winery!!!!!). We had so much fun and Tony was a part of it! We will for sure use Wine Wrangler again!!!!!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank DarlaMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great guide, good wine, took us to some quaint places that we otherwise would not have found, fun group”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

We got paired with 3 other couples all same age group which was great! We made it to 3 wineries ot of a possible 5 because we were allowed to take our time and go by the groups pace not a preset schedule which worked great. I'd highly recommend!

Helpful?
Thank Stefan01981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisconsin
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Hearst Castle Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Found these tours on the internet and they were wonderful. Our guide was Rick and as it turned out we were the only two people on the tours.

Thisis an all day tour and we had a wonderful time. We followed highway 1 and rode through some of the small beach communities and saw stupendous views of the ocean on the way to the castle. Rick knew a lot about the small communities and it was interesting to hear about how each was different.

When we got to the castle, we spent the first hour in a movie about the castle and then went to see the castle itself. Rick was very good at making sure we knew where we were going and met us after the movie to ensure we got to the right place for the tour.

Once in line, we read that there are 160 steps to climb before getting to the castle. Since I had my elderly mom with me, I knew she could not go it. We talked to one of the employees and he suggested the "non accessable" tour which means you go up to the castle in a small bus, then tour the grounds by golf cart. This sounded great, but they only take 4 people per tour time and ours was full. The next available tour that could accomodate us was in the early afternoon. I called Rick up (he had left us by this time) and he came back quickly. I explained the situation and he walked us over to the ticket counter and talked to the woman there. Since we were the only two people on the tour with him, we were able to change out morning tickets for afternoon tickets where we could get the special tour.

Rick was gracious about the change in plans and took us back out to the main highway and we explored more of highway 1. He made us feel like this was no big deal and that he enjoyed the opportunity to see some things he usually did not see.

Lunch was provided and it was plentiful and delicious. After lunch we headed back and took the tour. As I mentioned you go up in a small bus, then transfer to a golf cart and you have your own personal guide. Our guide was wonderful and knew a lot about the castle. She took us into some spaces not normally seen by the larger groups and I certainly felt like we saw everything there was to see.

If you take the initial tour of the castle, be aware of the steps and their is a lot of walking up and down small hills. We were lucky to be able to change our plans for the day but if there had been others with us, that may not have been possible.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank wistraveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wine Wrangler - Day Tours also viewed

Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Wine Wrangler - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing