We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply dreary. You can do better.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oak Motel Palo Alto
Ranked #26 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Sacramento
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply dreary. You can do better.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2010

I guess this would be serviceable for many people (and it was judging from the number of cars in the parking lot). However, you can find something much better for about $10 more anywhere along El Camino. I asked for non-smoking and got the "maybe if we spray enough air freshener around it will mask the smell" room.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debatemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    8
    6
    8
    10
See reviews for
3
6
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
164 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 585 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2009

This quaint motel is on a busy street near many other hotels and restaurants, very convenient. The persons who took our reservation over the phone and helped us at the front desk when we checked in & out was very kind and professional. We did not get to use the pool as we stayed such a short amount of time. The room was clean, you should being your own shampoo, conditioner, soap and hair dryer. The room did have a mini fridge and mini coffee maker.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palenakamikale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
197 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2009

I have noticed the Oak Motel in Palo Alto for years since I live in the area. It has always looked tiny and clean from the front. When my boyfriend and I stayed there while he was visiting the Bay Area, I booked a room since it was affordable. The room was very clean and it was nice to have the bathroom all in one room rather than having the sink outside of the bathroom like many other hotels. The keys were an interesting aspect considering it wasn't a key or a card, it was a magnet key (?). If you didn't close the door all the way, the door would sound an alarm to let you know that the door isn't shut all the way. It was also nice to have a small fridge and microwave. The only thing was that there was not a "Do Not Disturb" sign available in our room, so I had asked the house keeper if they had a sign, they were kind of enough to hunt one down for us. No disturbance although the walls were somewhat thin, I could hear the housekeepers cleaning in the bathroom in the next room to ours, but overall, the stay was excellent. We also enjoyed walking to Rasputin (a music store about four blocks away from the motel).

  • Liked — The cleanliness
  • Disliked — the thin walls
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pixiedreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salinas, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2008

Because my husband had several tests and surgeries at Stanford, we've used the Oak Motel more than six times between November 2007 and February 2008, and each time it was consistently clean and affordable. The first night we stayed in Palo Alto was at the Palo Alto Lodge - HORRIBLE!! Then we found the Oak Motel and decided it was perfect for proximity to the hospital and for cleanliness. It has never let us down. Don't expect luxury, but it provides a good place to rest from the stress of the hospital.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MCP22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2008

I was attending a workshop at a hotel across the street, but it was very expensive. Through hotels.com I found the Oak Motel Palo Alto and realized it would be a great location for attending the workshop. I was a little wary that Trip Advisor had no reviews for it, but Expedia had reviews. It wasn't a bargain, but it was a good price for the location. The room was large as was the bathroom. It was also very clean and had a microwave and a refrigerator which were very convenient. The room also had an A/C which I could see as being a plus in the summer heat. It is a small motel, but everything seemed to be well maintained, including the small pool. The door key was interesting and I've included a picture. It is similar to the key used on Segway machines. Having the typical motel layout, the one big window was in the front and had the walkway in front of it. So with the shades open there is no privacy as anybody walking by could look it. This was a little annoying, but most motel's I've seen have this layout. In the bathroom there were a few small soap bars and shampoo packets and several towels. Again this was pretty standard for a motel, but house keeping did replace them each morning. The breakfast of course was very basic but for the price I would have been surprised if there were more than cereal, bagels, and commercial/industrial pastries. Basically this is a nice clean motel which is a great place to stay if the location suits your needs. If it weren't for the great location I wouldn't have necessarily have choosen this motel, but if it is a good location for you, I would recommend it.

  • Liked — CLEAN room and great location, also FREE WiFi was nice!
  • Disliked — Very basic an no privacy unless the window shades are closed.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Al-Burj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palo Alto
0.2 km away
Americas Best Value Inn - Palo Alto
2.1 km away
Stanford Motor Inn
Stanford Motor Inn
#19 of 27 in Palo Alto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.3 km away
Courtyard Palo Alto Los Altos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Travelodge Palo Alto Silicon Valley
1.6 km away
Mountain View Inn
Mountain View Inn
#10 of 18 in Mountain View
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.1 km away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Motel Palo Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Motel Palo Alto

Property: Oak Motel Palo Alto
Address: 4279 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306-4400
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Oak Motel Palo Alto 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oak Motel Palo Alto in CA offers newly remodeled guestrooms, continental breakfast, and a variety of amenities for a great price to ensure you will enjoy a perfect night's sleep! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oak Motel Palo Alto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oak Motel Palo Alto Hotel Palo Alto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing