We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful boutique hotel”
Review of Colony Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colony Palms Hotel
Ranked #27 of 74 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2011

I stayed with my mother and 2 kids for one night. The decoration of the hotel is great, rooms are beautiful, the pool area is very nice. My only complaint is that breakfast is served in very small plates so food does not fit in!
Mountain views from the patio are great.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank viajeramx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (789)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

462 - 466 of 789 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2011

The Colony Palms gets a lot of media coverage in glossy travel mags, but after spending three nights there, we left a little disappointed. The Purple Palms restaurant has great food and service, so that's a big plus, but we were disappointed with the lodging piece. The first night I had to wear my Bose noise-reducing earphones due to the traffic noise from North Indian Canyon Drive (sirens and boom-box cars) and our night-owl neighbors chatting out in their courtyard late at night in the middle of December (the third night they were frolicking in the jetted tub). Reviewers who described the "serenity" there must have been lodged in the back of the property. We were in one of the "casitas," which actually are duplexes, not a stand-alone facility. The casitas are rather snug, with cold concrete floors (December) and no slippers; there is a well-stocked bar where the coffee maker should be sitting, so if you want your early-morning java fix, you have to get dressed (or grab a robe) and walk over to the bar. The bed was great, as previous reviewers have noted, but the flat-screen TV was on the small side, also as previously noted. Bottom line: After all the media hype, you will need to manage your expectations to truly enjoy a stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on back side of property to avoid street noise. Casitas were small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 73Duck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

This was our first trip to Palm Springs so I wasn't quite sure what to expect. I know how rowdy some of the hotels in the area can be, and this wasn't it, thank goodness. The property was beautiful, lots of lush foliage and rooms that feel tucked away. Tons of old charm and sweet details - rocking chairs, cabanas, and free morning coffee by the pool. The service was wonderful. We had booked a king size room, but wound up in a room with two queens. One quick call down to the front desk and they upgraded us to their junior suite, which had a fireplace and a really amazing claw foot bathtub. We had dinner in their restaurant, Purple Palm, which was great. The server was wonderful & the cocktails were even better! The front desk didn't bat an eye when we asked for a very late check out the next day. I would love to come back when we are able to spend more time and take advantage of that pool!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theoneinpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Our experience was nothing less than perfect. We arrived and immediately received a warm welcome from the front desk. We gave the clerk our name and she advised us that our room had been upgraded. She went on to describe the private setting with patio jacuzzi tub, we were totally surprised. The room was as described, clean, nice sized and well stocked with any kind of adult beverage you could possibly want. The patio was very private and the tub was amazing. The grounds are beautiful and well manicured with relaxing/calming music playing in the pool and surrounding areas. We used their spa service, and definitely recommend it. Hats off to the spa staff, they promptly introduced themselves to us and made us feel comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

I just got back from a mini vacation in Palm Springs. We travel frequently with hotel stays being a monthly requirement for both work and pleasure and stay in some pretty over the top places so we are used to fine accomodations. We decided to try the Colony Palms and we were not dissapointed. Free valet parking with really friendly and helpful front desk staff. The smells......oh my goodness, it was beautiful everywhere! We were in Casita 1, it was charming and roomy. Lots of light from the large sliding doors that open to a great private lounge area with 2 person jetted tub. The bathroon was nicely appointed and had a large shower and the C.O. Bigelow products smelled divine! Very nice stocked in room service items and the bed was very comfortable. Nice quality pillows and bedding. The whole feel of this small hotel is homey, we were made to feel like family and it was very nice. The pool area was spacious, has an old Hollywood style and is set amoung a simply stunning courtyard garden. Flowers all around with fruit trees and cool Buddha statues. We had a spa day, 50 minute massages that were wonderful. As for The Purple Palm restaurant, we ate there 4 times. Breakfast was lovely and they had in house made pear jam and tangerine jam! We indulged in lovely wine and I had the same thing both night, Jidori Chicken. It was sooooo good. Wait staff everytime was incredible, we really had an excellent dining experience. I really can not say enough about how much I loved it and I am already planning another trip down. The location is great, a short block and you are in the main shopping and dining area. Thank you to every single person on the staff who made out stay so delightful!

Room Tip: The casitas are great, we stayed in Casita 1 and it was nice and quite. I noticed some back to the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeverHomeAnymore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.6 km away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
3.5 km away
Sparrows Lodge
Sparrows Lodge
#13 of 74 in Palm Springs
295 reviews
1.4 km away
La Serena Villas
La Serena Villas
#10 of 74 in Palm Springs
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
#20 of 74 in Palm Springs
179 reviews
0.7 km away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#8 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,287 reviews
2.0 km away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#9 of 74 in Palm Springs
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Palms Hotel

Address: 572 N Indian Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-6030 (Formerly the Palms at Palms Springs)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#8 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#9 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
#13 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: €201 - €593 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colony Palms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1936 by reputed Purple Gang Mobster Al Wertheimer, the Colony Palms Hotel was once a saloon, speakeasy and gambling house that later became a playground for Hollywood ICONS including Humphrey Bogart, Marilyn Monroe, Clark Gable, Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin & Rita Hayworth. Colony Palms Hotel has maintained its nobility as a stunning four-star boutique hotel spread out over a three acre property. The rooms promise subtle sophistication with brilliantly colored mosaic tiles and fabrics, rich woods, and suzani headboards. Many have fireplaces and claw-foot bathtubs. Mature gardens throughout the property provide privacy, and intimate outdoor spaces, and the rooms open to the a central courtyard with pool. The hotel’s restaurant, the Purple Palm boasts exquisite cuisine and a stunning view of both the pool and San Jacinto Mountains. The newly redesigned Spa offers a serene atmosphere and top of the line treatments. Colony Palms Hotel also plays host to a variety of stunning weddings and events, with the option of utilizing a newly refreshed private event space or a full property buyout for a truly intimate celebration. Colony Palms Hotel is a mix of modern luxuries with a dash of romance and tranquil getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colony Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Palms Resort
Colony Palms Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing