We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful boutique hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colony Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Colony Palms Hotel
Ranked #28 of 70 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City
Level Contributor
378 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Beautiful boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

I stayed with my mother and 2 kids for one night. The decoration of the hotel is great, rooms are beautiful, the pool area is very nice. My only complaint is that breakfast is served in very small plates so food does not fit in!
Mountain views from the patio are great.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viajeramx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    173
    77
    32
    32
See reviews for
81
422
52
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Smithfield, VA
Level Contributor
109 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

The Colony Palms gets a lot of media coverage in glossy travel mags, but after spending three nights there, we left a little disappointed. The Purple Palms restaurant has great food and service, so that's a big plus, but we were disappointed with the lodging piece. The first night I had to wear my Bose noise-reducing earphones due to the traffic noise from North Indian Canyon Drive (sirens and boom-box cars) and our night-owl neighbors chatting out in their courtyard late at night in the middle of December (the third night they were frolicking in the jetted tub). Reviewers who described the "serenity" there must have been lodged in the back of the property. We were in one of the "casitas," which actually are duplexes, not a stand-alone facility. The casitas are rather snug, with cold concrete floors (December) and no slippers; there is a well-stocked bar where the coffee maker should be sitting, so if you want your early-morning java fix, you have to get dressed (or grab a robe) and walk over to the bar. The bed was great, as previous reviewers have noted, but the flat-screen TV was on the small side, also as previously noted. Bottom line: After all the media hype, you will need to manage your expectations to truly enjoy a stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on back side of property to avoid street noise. Casitas were small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 73Duck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

This was our first trip to Palm Springs so I wasn't quite sure what to expect. I know how rowdy some of the hotels in the area can be, and this wasn't it, thank goodness. The property was beautiful, lots of lush foliage and rooms that feel tucked away. Tons of old charm and sweet details - rocking chairs, cabanas, and free morning coffee by the pool. The service was wonderful. We had booked a king size room, but wound up in a room with two queens. One quick call down to the front desk and they upgraded us to their junior suite, which had a fireplace and a really amazing claw foot bathtub. We had dinner in their restaurant, Purple Palm, which was great. The server was wonderful & the cocktails were even better! The front desk didn't bat an eye when we asked for a very late check out the next day. I would love to come back when we are able to spend more time and take advantage of that pool!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theoneinpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

Our experience was nothing less than perfect. We arrived and immediately received a warm welcome from the front desk. We gave the clerk our name and she advised us that our room had been upgraded. She went on to describe the private setting with patio jacuzzi tub, we were totally surprised. The room was as described, clean, nice sized and well stocked with any kind of adult beverage you could possibly want. The patio was very private and the tub was amazing. The grounds are beautiful and well manicured with relaxing/calming music playing in the pool and surrounding areas. We used their spa service, and definitely recommend it. Hats off to the spa staff, they promptly introduced themselves to us and made us feel comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend here.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

I just got back from a mini vacation in Palm Springs. We travel frequently with hotel stays being a monthly requirement for both work and pleasure and stay in some pretty over the top places so we are used to fine accomodations. We decided to try the Colony Palms and we were not dissapointed. Free valet parking with really friendly and helpful front desk staff. The smells......oh my goodness, it was beautiful everywhere! We were in Casita 1, it was charming and roomy. Lots of light from the large sliding doors that open to a great private lounge area with 2 person jetted tub. The bathroon was nicely appointed and had a large shower and the C.O. Bigelow products smelled divine! Very nice stocked in room service items and the bed was very comfortable. Nice quality pillows and bedding. The whole feel of this small hotel is homey, we were made to feel like family and it was very nice. The pool area was spacious, has an old Hollywood style and is set amoung a simply stunning courtyard garden. Flowers all around with fruit trees and cool Buddha statues. We had a spa day, 50 minute massages that were wonderful. As for The Purple Palm restaurant, we ate there 4 times. Breakfast was lovely and they had in house made pear jam and tangerine jam! We indulged in lovely wine and I had the same thing both night, Jidori Chicken. It was sooooo good. Wait staff everytime was incredible, we really had an excellent dining experience. I really can not say enough about how much I loved it and I am already planning another trip down. The location is great, a short block and you are in the main shopping and dining area. Thank you to every single person on the staff who made out stay so delightful!

Room Tip: The casitas are great, we stayed in Casita 1 and it was nice and quite. I noticed some back to the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeverHomeAnymore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.5 km away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
3.4 km away
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
#14 of 70 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.1 km away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#11 of 70 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
1.0 km away
The Willows
The Willows
#18 of 70 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
5.7 km away
Parker Palm Springs
Parker Palm Springs
#22 of 70 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Palms Hotel

Property: Colony Palms Hotel
Address: 572 N Indian Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92262-6030 (Formerly the Palms at Palms Springs)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#8 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#10 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
#13 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Colony Palms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated Luxury Experience in the heart of Palm SpringsDowntown Palm SpringsSituated in Downtown Palm Springs and the Uptown Design District, this romantic hotel is close the Palm Springs Art Museum, Palm Springs Convention Center and the downtown shopping and restaraunt area.Restaurant and SpaThe hotel's restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Voted by Condé Nast Traveler as on the top new restaurants in the world, this popular restaurant features upscale Mediterranean cuisine.Luxury In-Room amenitiesHD LCD televisions include premium cable/satellite channels. Guestrooms also feature beds with pillowtop mattresses, premium down bedding, signature C.O. Bigelow amenities, full minibar with top shelf liquor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Colony Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Palms Resort
Colony Palms Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing