We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best part of my stay was leaving!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
Ranked #46 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
63 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“The best part of my stay was leaving!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Imagine checking into a roomthat hadn't been cleaned. Then the next room smells like skunk, has gum under tables and bed and not meticulously cleaned. Add an online reservation system who's reservation number doesn't match the properties system. A waiter who was concerned about us stealing his pen at Bkfst (gave a fake name when asked) and a disappearing iPad from valet that was traced to the bushes. I could go on....

There is no need for a patronizing management reply. We got enough of them this weekend. This place epitomizes lipstick on a pig.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MONYLINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    859
    614
    415
    269
    245
See reviews for
395
1,004
90
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (667)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Went to celebrate our engagement. The staff were extremely friendly. The decor was wonderful.

Overall: just a great hotel.

Room Tip: Book a junior suite - the tubs are nice. Also, definitely go to the restaurant - Circa 59 - the food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suvir_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RivieraPalmSprings, General Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Congratulations on your engagement! Thank you for choosing to spend your celebration with us and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. Please let us know if we can assist with planning your big day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

This resort and spa is very glamerous and accommodating. There is a fabulous boutique in the lobby area. The pool with all the cabanas and outside bar was very impressive. I used the spa and had the best message I've ever had. The rooms are very modern and have a great vibe. I would deffinately recommend the Riviera Resort & Spa to anyone visiting the Palm Springs area. Thanks for making our stay memorable and amazing!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hogbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
271 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

This is a beautiful property, particularly if you liked the 50's/60's. You felt like Sinatra or Hope could be walking through the main lobby at any time. Dean Martin background music was usually playing. All the common areas are fresh and well maintained (all the furniture and fixtures look like the 60's, but they're not that old, lol).

Our room (Mediterranean Junior Suite) was clean and well appointed, but we had similar issues experienced by other reviewers here. Neither lamp on either side of the bed worked, the refrigerator was running but it never got below room temperature, there were no coffee cups, the safe didn't lock, there were no robes in the room, and the large closet had only 4 hangers. On our second day there were no bath towels or mat. All issues were promptly addressed by the staff except the refrigerator (I suspect it had to be replaced and one wasn't available). These weren't major issues, however, for the room rates here, one shouldn't have these kinds of issues/problems. This is the reason I gave them a lower mark for Value and Rooms.

The restaurant Circa 59 has great atmosphere (we dined outside next to one of the fire pits). The food was excellent. We recommend the scallops, short ribs, gnocchi, and the cauliflower appetizer. The manager, Gabriella, could not have been nicer. My wife had breakfast there and said the Mediterranean Omelet was the best she ever had. We also had hors d'oeuvres and drinks at the Side Bar. The food and drinks were excellent. Service was a tad slow (I think they may have been a little understaffed), but the waitresses made up for it with their gracious and friendly attitudes.

My wife used the Spa and was very satisfied with the services, although she thought it was a bit pricey. She recommends Judy.

The execution by housekeeping was a negative. There is definitely room for improvement here. However, the friendliness of all the staff was among the best I have ever experienced. Everyone from the valet to the bellman to reception, concierge, pool and wait staff were all extremely pleasant and helpful when needed.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoSpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RivieraPalmSprings, General Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Thank you for the compliments, details, and feedback you shared in your review of the Riviera. The underlying theme of your review that really stands out is that you acknowledge and appreciate the excellent service our team provided during your stay. Although we fell short is some areas, and I apologize for that, it shows that we made up for it with our hospitality. We look forward to serving you and your family in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

To say that our stay at this hotel was disappointing would be an understatement. The list of service deficiencies explains it best: Arrived at 4:00 p.m. and was told that our room wasn't ready so had to wait....at 4:00 p.m! By the time we could get into our room, we couldn't find a bellman so had to drag our heavy suitcases up the flight of stairs to our second floor suite (no elevators that we could find either). Had booked a Mediterranean Jr. Suite but had a lovely view of... the rear parking area and a few trees - I guess someone has to have the lousy suite at the end of the hall. Once in the room, wanting to order a snack from room service, we realized that the phone was completely dead and non-functioning. Had to call the hotel from my cell to ask for an engineer to fix/replace our phone. Preparing to shower and dress for the birthday party that brought us to Palm Springs, I realized that there were no bath mats at the shower or tub - a treacherous omission with all-marble bathroom floors. Again, I pulled out my cell to call the hotel main number (because the phone hadn't been fixed yet) to ask for bath mats and face towels which were also missing. The vault in the room was also non-functioning so another call was made and service requested. Our kids arrived shortly thereafter and wanted a drink and a snack and waited 50 minutes for a dip to be served at the bar/restaurant...at 5:30 p.m. We finally left for our party at 7:30 with problems resolved but a sour taste lingering from the nuisance of it all. When we went to the lobby to pick up a cab to our party, there was nary a soul in sight - not a single member of hotel personnel in the lobby for nearly 10 minutes. Very weird to be in a flashy, modern hotel lobby with no one seeming to work there. In fairness, I must give credit where it is due: the room was spacious, comfortable and beautifully decorated, the bed wonderful and the shower / bathroom modern, clean and very attractive. That said, I don't think I would return without a major service improvement and a management overhaul. They nailed the hip environment piece but they're way off the mark on service and the guest experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RivieraPalmSprings, General Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Let me first start out by apologizing profusely for the issues you described in your review. It is unfortunate that you left the resort with the impression that you did. I also want to say thank you for including the positive aspects of your stay. We are available, at your convenience, if you wish to discuss your experience with a manager on-property. Please know that your feedback will be shared with our entire management team. Once again, I am sorry for the way your trip turned out and hope that we have a chance to change your impression in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Palm Springs hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
3.2 km away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
2.2 km away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#33 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
2.4 km away
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
#21 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
5.1 km away
The Saguaro Palm Springs
The Saguaro Palm Springs
#32 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
0.2 km away
The Monroe Palm Springs
The Monroe Palm Springs
#47 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Palm Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Palm Springs Resort

Property: Riviera Palm Springs Resort
Address: 1600 North Indian Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92262-4602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#12 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#15 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Riviera Palm Springs Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish and styled, eclectic, cool, bohemian getaway. Inspired by the nonchalant elegance of Slim Aaron’s photographs, The Riviera is free spirited, vibrant, playful and bohemian with a sprinkling of retro nostalgia. The whimsy of Hollywood Regency in the guest rooms merges with the eclectic spirit of the public areas and makes for a perfectly unique resort getaway in Palm Springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Riviera Palm Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Resort And Spa, Palm Springs
Riviera Resort & Spa, Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs
Riviera Hotel Palm Springs
Riviera Resort Palm Springs
Palm Springs Riveria Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing