We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bait and switch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palm Canyon Resort & Spa
Ranked #57 of 75 Hotels in Palm Springs
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We have been an owner of a time-share at this resort for eighteen years, but a little more than ten years ago we moved away from California and have not used this location since. Just recently we were invited to a wedding in Palm Springs and figured that this was a good occasion to revisit the Palm Canyon Resort. With our time-share we qualify for a 2 bed-room suite and we made a reservation over the phone about half a year before our trip, and received a confirmation for a Junior Villa with sufficient space for 4 adults (we were traveling with our two children).

Beware that Junior Villa is clearly a misnomer, since, as we learned upon our arrival, this is the name for an "over-sized closet". The room was smaller than most budget motel rooms in the area (or the US in general) and the interior clearly has not been renovated for the nearly 20 years of the existence of this place. There was a relatively small double bed with a very worn out mattress and an additional sofa sleeper, whose mattress was also hanging through so much that ultimately our older son ended up sleeping on the sofa closed. With our reservation we had also requested a child crib for our two-year old, but when we arrived it was not in the room and despite contacting the front desk was not delivered to us on the evening of our arrival. In the end, since it was rather late when we arrived, we were exhausted and made do without the crib for the first night. Furthermore, when we arrived we were told to park in the basement of our building, but all the parking spaces were taken, so that we ended up parking fairly far away from our room on the street outside the resort.

The next morning we complained, but no other room was offered to us, although eventually at least the crib was delivered. Given the small size of the room the only available space for the crib with the sofa sleeper unfolded, was barely fitting the crib in the hallway in front of the closet. In general with four people in the room it was almost impossible to move around. One more note about the room. It was essentially not possible to look the door effectively from the inside, so that we spent a good time of our stay chasing our two-year old in the outside hallway, since he figured that leaving the room was a highly entertaining game (not so much for us though). Lastly towels and toiletries in the bathroom were just the bare minimum and without regular room service you mate expect to run out of shampoo, etc.

The two somewhat redeeming features is that the location is reasonably central, and the pool is actually nice for the kids (even though it does get rather crowded on the weekend). But the room was so awful that it is highly unlikely that we will ever stay at the Palm Canyon Resort again, in-spite of being a part-time owner. Next time we will probably rather pay for nice lodging somewhere else in Palm Springs and maybe, if our children are still interested, use our access privileges for the pool only.

Room Tip: Stay away from Junior Villas. Despite their pompous name they are the worst rooms the resort has to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AxelinoIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Palm Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

We are always delighted whenever we receive feedback from our valued owners and members. We appreciate your ownership and, more importantly, your loyalty. Determined to make Palm Canyon Resort & Spa a premier vacation destination in Palm Springs, our new management company has already begun making the necessary improvements to provide the affordable luxury you and your family can come to expect. We regret that your accommodation was not what you expected on this recent visit, however; we very confident that you will be pleased with the improvements that have been made if you do decide give us another chance and stay with us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (725)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

314 - 318 of 725 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

We picked this hotel for three reasons: Pool for the kids, location (close to indian canyons with view) and price. We have been really pleased with the hotel. The pool was great for the kids, they really enjoyed the slides and for the parents peace of mind there is a lifeguard on site. The pool was cleaned but it is very crowded. The hotel room met our expectations: it was CLEAN even though it is outdated, the beds were comfortable. The staff was outstanding. Every morning we left at 8am and go hike until 2pm, used the pool until 5pm and go out for dinner. It is not a hotel I would suggest you to pick if you want to stay there all day as a couple for romantic retreat. It is very crowded, the room are very noisy (can hear people walk above) but it is a great hotel for the price if you want to do what what we did and use it for the basics. I would recommend the hotel more for families.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

once we opened the room a over powering of urine hit us. We opened the doors windows to try to air it out. No such luck, They said they were all booked up and there was no other room to go to. Could hardly sleep that first night.We sprayed the room hoping it would help, now that would have been a good commercial for Fa Breeze. We were right over the garage in and out so every time a car went through the grills for water drainage would rattle. The best thing about the place was the pool and Carlos who works at Splash He really made our trip much better.

Room Tip: Stay away from the garage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chevelleman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Palm Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. The conditions of your room were agreeably unacceptable and certainly uncommon of our resort. Your concerns were forwarded to the Housekeeping Manager to assure this room is brought to the standard our guests expect and deserve. We apologize for any inconvenience your room may have caused you during your recent stay.
This being said, we are thrilled to read you enjoyed our family fun pools. These pools feature exciting waterslides and lovely landscaping. We have forwarded your compliment about Carlos to his manager, and we are sure he will be very appreciative. When choosing to visit the area again, we hope you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back for a much more pleasant stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Not a good place if you want peace and quiet. Had a one bedroom suite on the main floor without realizing that families with children running and stomping all over the floor day and night was the norm.

Had the sheets changed one time in 17 days and only after complaining to the Manager of Housekeeping. Seemed that the cleaning staff liked the people only staying a few days to a week and therefore not having to clean in between changes.

Had to put up with the usual pyramid scheme (U know, the one where they con you in with a $75 Visa card only to pressure you into spending thousands to buy into their time share).

The suites do not have Wi-Fi and the resort has an agreement with At&T to provide that service for a cost. Note that At&T charged ~$30 dollars a week PER COMPUTER and it was "slower than molasses in January". Note that its pretty bad when you have to take your computer to McDonalds or Starbucks to download information because its faster.
However, the Resort is a good place for children as they can play at the pool all day.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LarrieH2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Palm Canyon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

It is very disappointing to learn that your experience was anything less than exceptional. We take much pride in the preparation and maintenance of our guest rooms and sincerely apologize for the housekeeping shortcomings you experienced. This omission will be addressed with our housekeeping teams to improve in our consistency in these areas. There is no shortage of reasons why our resort is great for families however, horseplay, running and other such disruptive behaviors are not allowed before or after quiet hours to promote equal enjoyment of the facilities. We hope that you notified the front desk of your concerns regarding your neighbors and their adherence to quiet hours. We also strive to provide the most professional and excellent service we are known for, and we are very sorry if you did not receive this type of service from our 3rd party internet provider. Please know that these shortfalls are not reflective of our resort-wide standards and goals, and it is quite regrettable that you had to endure such circumstances. We will address this with our third party provider respectively. We appreciate that you took the time to visit our resort and are confident you will have a better guest experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

My husband and I have owned a time share here for over 20 years. We do love to stay here when in town and have brought family and friends many times. We had the two bedroom, two bath suite by the pool this time. The rooms are large and spacious including the bathrooms (plenty of storage), and it has a smaller but fully stocked and adequate kitchen. The issue is the place definitely needs updating. The furniture, and carpet are out of date and worn out. The shower was awkward to operate. Our room was not thoroughly cleaned. The carpet had fresh burns, the room smelled like smoke in a non-smoking room. Why housekeeping didn't address this before we entered the room was frustrating for us. The refrigerator had two dozen eggs in the drawer and the furniture was dirty, including the glass tables and the chairs. The front desk sent someone immediately to clean the carpet, and the staff responded quickly and offered a new room. But because there was 5 of us, we stayed because we were not going to be in the room that much. We were there for the Indian Wells Tennis tournament. Also the pool area is strict, not allowing food, drink or water at all. And although the food is very good at the bar, the drinks not so much and are expensive. The pool and the towels were very nice, with a fun slide and a life guard on duty. The grounds are immaculate, beautiful and clean. The rooms are quiet and the air conditioning works very well. Last word, in past stays our rooms were clean and comfortable with no problems.

Room Tip: Not all the two bedroom suites have two bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leslie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
4.8 km away
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
#26 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,630 reviews
2.3 km away
Best Western Inn at Palm Springs
Best Western Inn at Palm Springs
#41 of 75 in Palm Springs
799 reviews
2.1 km away
Caliente Tropics Resort
Caliente Tropics Resort
#46 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
The Saguaro Palm Springs
The Saguaro Palm Springs
#36 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,149 reviews
7.2 km away
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
#44 of 75 in Palm Springs
2,616 reviews
4.6 km away
Palm Mountain Resort & Spa
Palm Mountain Resort & Spa
#39 of 75 in Palm Springs
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Canyon Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Canyon Resort & Spa

Address: 2800 S Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-9337
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: €76 - €268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palm Canyon Resort & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palm Canyon Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Canyon Hotel Palm Springs
Palm Canyon Resort And Spa
Palm Canyon Resort Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing